List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

Truth hurts.

It's a shit comment mate. Reflect and learn from it.

Is Sam best 22? No. Did he come out of retirement to play a role for us when we needed him to? Absolutely. He played a part in us making top 4 and had absolutely nothing left in the tank by the end of the year. What more did you want from him?

I was very surprised to see Dev walking to the MCG on his own on Saturday. Felt quite sad for him.
It’s possible it was by choice. He may have just come from a coffee catchup with Bevo. He was in the rooms after the match.

Unfortunately it didn’t work out at the Lions for Dev, but his career is not over. It’s now to him and his management to make the right decision, and for Dev to prove himself on a list that has a possible place for him in the seniors.
He still has all the attributes that made the Lions trade up to draft him in the first place, with 4 years in the best AFL system in the country (and a bit of IP!).

I was very surprised to see Dev walking to the MCG on his own on Saturday. Felt quite sad for him.
I reckon the only thing worse than not being good at sport when it is something you love is not being quite good enough but so tantalizingly close. I think Dev is a walk up start for WCE though. I hope he does well there if that is where he decides to play.

Other teams’ fans are very slowly waking up to where the west coast assistance pick is actually going to end up.

high roller laughing GIF

I agree and on the bolded, the West Coast fans on Dev's D&T thread that are of the view that Dev wouldn't make their best 22 are seriously deluded.
Currently they have one of the worst lists in modern history. A guy that was good enough to play an a Grand Final a couple of years ago and play his role well enough is easily good enough.

Anyone know if Linc signed earlier on when he gave up making it back this year?

Only reason I ask is because I saw him in that final round game against the Hawks after the game seemingly heading home, and he wasn’t in the team polo or anything. I then couldn’t see him in the group photo they took after the game on Saturday with the whole squad there out on the ground.

Did one party have a change of heart there and we’ve decided to part ways?

Anyone know if Linc signed earlier on when he gave up making it back this year?

Only reason I ask is because I saw him in that final round game against the Hawks after the game seemingly heading home, and he wasn’t in the team polo or anything. I then couldn’t see him in the group photo they took after the game on Saturday with the whole squad there out on the ground.

Did one party have a change of heart there and we’ve decided to part ways?
99% sure he extended earlier in the year.

Dev walked past us outside Flinders Street station when we were down there, I can not recall which day it was, the whole 5 days is a bit of a blur now.

Also saw Matho and Robbo at the Fan Zone following the parade, Matho waved hello, Robbo just kept on walking.

This might look like a fire sale but…

Starcevich, Robertson, Tunstill, Torrent, Craven, (all WA boys) + 18 to WCE for picks 15 + 20 + Future pick 1.

Ah Chee + pick 20 to Adelaide for Future picks 1 and 2 (2026).

And if he does go for the big bucks, Bailey to Essendon for pick 4 + Future pick 1 (2026) + Future pick 2 (2027).

Brisbane gain future picks to chase big names at the end of next year to cover any ageing retirements after the three peat.

Starcevich, Robertson, Tunstill, Torrent, Craven, (all WA boys) + 18 to WCE for picks 15 + 20 + Future pick 1.

And if he does go for the big bucks, Bailey to Essendon for pick 4 + Future pick 1 (2026) + Future pick 2 (2027).

Brisbane gain future picks to chase big names at the end of next year to cover any ageing retirements after the three peat.
there is zero chance west coast ever agree to that

It's Tuesday night, you can't be drinking that heavily right now surely. Ffs

I agree and on the bolded, the West Coast fans on Dev's D&T thread that are of the view that Dev wouldn't make their best 22 are seriously deluded.
Maybe the problem is West Coast don’t have the ability to develop players. To see what is possible from players who couldn’t consistently crack the Brisbane seniors, they need only look across the Nullabor to Ben Keayes and Mitch Hinge.

Below list from our Roster Watch thread.

2025:
Darcy Craven (R)
James Tunstill
Callum Ah Chee
Conor McKenna (R)
Deven Robertson
Brandon Ryan
Brandon Starcevich
Lincoln McCarthy
Darragh Joyce (R)
Luke Beecken (R)
Sam Day

Coming in is Draper, Allen and possibly Budarick or another player.
Then say 3 from the National Draft/Rookie/Preseason one being Annable.

Out: likely Ah-Chee, Starcevich. Possibly McInerney if he retires. Day, Ryan, Craven.
Anyone else in the above group that other clubs want. Picks back not much. Tunstill, Dev and McKenna may have some interest

I think Beecken, Joyce, McCarthy stay. Once again, other clubs may be interested
Cap space with absolutely no idea on wages.
Draper: Ah-Chee & Starcevich.
Allen: Four/five from the above list out. Also bringing in say three on low set draft wages.

Budarick/ Another player: We should have enough cap space. If its tight they just delist player/players until it's okay

The continuing cycle of supporters of clubs at the bottom of the ladder over valuing draft picks and under valuing experienced / developed players never gets old.

What the point of heaps of great draft picks if you continually fluff them and / or can't develop the player to their full potential anyways?....

Oh, no, this year / draft will be different....... We'll nail it.

Some big selection calls to be made in 2026, I'm assuming Oscar Allen, Sam Draper and Daniel Annabel in and Callum Ah Chee, Brandon Starcevich and a few other fringe players to be outs.

Tall KPD- Harris Andrews, Jack Payne, Darragh Joyce.
Tall/medium Def- Darcy Gardiner, Ryan Lester, Tom Doedee, Luke Lloyd.
Small/Med Def- Dayne Zorko, Darcy Wilmot, Keidean Coleman, Noah Answerth, Luke Beecken, Shadeau Brain.

Rucks- Darcy Fort, Oscar McInerney, Sam Draper, Henry Smith.
Balanced mids- Lachie Neale, Josh Dunkley, Hugh McCluggage, Will Ashcroft, Levi Ashcroft, Daniel Annabel.
Wing/mid- Bruce Reville, Sam Marshall, Jarrod Berry.

Fwd/mids- Zac Bailey, Cam Rayner
KPF- Eric Hipwood, Oscar Allen, Logan Morris, Ty Gallop.
Small fwds- Linc McCarthy, Charlie Cameron, Kai Lohmann, Will McLachlan.

Back/fwd/wing- Jaspa Fletcher, Conor McKenna.
Back/fwd/ruck- Zane Zakostelsky.

Really think Jaspa could be an elite balanced mid but how do we get him in there.

I actually like that Starce hypothetical, it’s provocative. Can you post it on the draft & trade Starvevich thread: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/brandon-starcevich.1391872/page-51#post-89807175

I think it will generate some interesting discussion and I wish to discuss it with my WCE colleagues further.

I think we will struggle to keep Bailey. Just because we have a heap of players we need to retain (many of whom are currently underpaid) and the cap space will need to be managed very carefully.

The salary cap is about $18m and we will have to pay Will Ashcroft at the end of next year, and players like Wilmot, Morris and Levi will be in line for raises after that. Bailey might be a luxury we can’t afford

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion