List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion

We have more levers to pull now. For example we could get Annable this year, draft the bare minimum - offload the 2026 picks to 2027 if we feel the top academy prospects are just mids.

We can space out our next big draft intake and line it up to a 2-3 year window when we feel there'll be a good draft. In the mean time invest in the ones already in books and see if we can compete at the pointy end.

Still getting around to rewatch the Futures game but Murray looks like one of the midfield types we are missing currently - that faster, game breaking type mid and he is in first round consideration for a few draft watchers in 26; Owen is also in 26 and some watchers have him as high as pick 7.

I think we may need more midfielders in 26 as we will likely lose Robertson and Tunstill this year as well as Neale and Bailey possibly on the move at the end of 26. Having another couple of quality mids that will start on Rookie salaries (to help smooth that curve as well) could be very valuable.

Given Academies are still accessible by 27 there should be some other KPP in that draft from the academy.

We have more levers to pull now. For example we could get Annable this year, draft the bare minimum - offload the 2026 picks to 2027 if we feel the top academy prospects are just mids.

We can space out our next big draft intake and line it up to a 2-3 year window when we feel there'll be a good draft. In the mean time invest in the ones already in books and see if we can compete at the pointy end.
Keep in mind 2027 draft picks will be hugely devalued assuming Tassie do come in 2028. They’re getting 1,3,5,7,8,11,13 and first selection in each subsequent round.
Year 2 additional pick 5,9 and first selection in each subsequent round.
Year 3 additional pick 5,9.

Plus massive additional benefits.

It’s a good time to be at the top of the ladder, but there will be plenty of big money offers flying around as clubs lose players to big sign-on’s to Tassie.

One word. Gunston.

Gunston coming in or out? Watching Gunston this year, my thought has been that our list management team were astute to sign him given he what he showed he could produce this year, and it was a shame he wasn't in the right head space at Brisbane.

If the words were instead "Brandon Ryan" then I agree it was a bit of a whiff by our list management team.

Tasmania won't even get a team, so i'm not worried. I feel for our tassie fans, but i can't see it happening.
I thought it’s the dumbest thing the AFL has done in years. I get Tassie is a footy hotspot and has passionate footy lovers but who the **** wants to live in Hobart full time with stacks of cash you can’t spend cus there is literally nothing to do outside wilderness walks. I think it will have a hard time attracting and maintaining good players.

I get the country lads might enjoy it but give me Brisbane over Hobart any day of the week.

If you’re poor it’s probably a different story.

Not to mention it’s not really growing the game and the money could be better spent elsewhere in that regard.

I’d hate to lose Bailey because we are over paying Draper. Would rather keep Oscar and Fort and money for Bailey than spend it on Draper.
This is the crux of the issue isn’t it? We’re going to lose real heart and soul players like Ah Chee and Starcevich (and possibly Bailey next year) to
leave salary cap space to pay overs for 2 injury prone players from other clubs on big $$$ (so that other clubs get adequate compensation picks)

And we’ve already been burnt by doing that with Doedee who is eating up generous cap space and hasn’t played for 2 years and has 2 more years left

This is the crux of the issue isn’t it? We’re going to lose real heart and soul players like Ah Chee and Starcevich (and possibly Bailey next year) to
leave salary cap space to pay overs for 2 injury prone players from other clubs on big $$$ (so that other clubs get adequate compensation picks)

And we’ve already been burnt by doing that with Doedee who is eating up generous cap space and hasn’t played for 2 years and has 2 more years left

Let's hope our list manager knows what hes doing

A lot of the money these guys are on is through games played. If they aren't playing games, they aren't getting paid what their contact is rumoured to be worth.

I have no doubt the known injury prone guys are getting paid nowhere near their full contract amount. That being said, most of Doodee's money would be off the books by now.

If Draper or Allen don't hit the field, 100% won't be getting paid what we think they are.

I get both sides.
My understanding however, is that the coaches and football manager identify potential positional 'holes' in the list.
They've identify full forward as a no brainer due to Joe's departure. And ruck due to the age and health of our ruckman.
The recruiters' job is to then go and find the best available players to fill those roles.

Drafting them is not an option because of how many years they take to develop given the team's now smack bang in the premiership window. So you have to trade and pay market rates for proven mature players.

Obviously Doedee hasn't worked out and is looking increasingly unlikely. But our recruiters are some of the best in the business, hence the playing list is so freaking good right now.
The club will have done its due diligence on any player they are looking to recruit.

It's always risk reward, but given their track record over many years, they obviously know what they're doing. More so than any of us supporters. In them we (have to) trust.

Is it just my Lions bias or are the Lions able to manage departures (players and staff) with incredible class compared to some other clubs?
I think it's more the fact we haven't had disgruntled/ dickhead players and the ones that have left have left for greater opportunity....dayne beams on the other hand...

Phhht, he let Keaysey go. Imagine how many of those we would have had if Keaysey was in the team.
As Jack Dyer used to say, he's a good ordinary player.

(Unromantic view: Really can't hit a target by foot consistently, would struggle like Dev to be in our team IMO)

I think it's more the fact we haven't had disgruntled/ dickhead players and the ones that have left have left for greater opportunity....dayne beams on the other hand...
Beams "I love everyone" and then skips off. He was mourning his father but things haven't gone to well for him after leaving the Lions though. Be interesting to see how he would have played under Fagan.

lol, Ah Chee is only going to chase the $$$$ at Adelaide. We are losing him because he wants to go. It was his choice to leave. The club would have been nuts if they paid him what Adelaide was offering him. If they did that, then I guarantee you we wouldn't be able to afford Bailey etc. Him leaving is a good thing. For him in particular, as he can finish his career with lots of money and two flags, and for us in that we save money. He has served his purpose for us, and served it well. It's good that he is going to look after his future.

Exit meetings must be starting to happen soon. Twomey just said Cal will request a trade in 24-48 hours
Suppose anyone retiring this year will be announced before the Club Champion night tomorrow so they can talk about it there.

Beams "I love everyone" and then skips off. He was mourning his father but things haven't gone to well for him after leaving the Lions though. Be interesting to see how he would have played under Fagan.
Beams was all "I love you boys", but never "I love this club". Important distinction. Him bailing on us when he did was the quintessential blessing in disguise.

He did for two years in 2017 and 2018 when we won 5 games each years. Captain in Fages first year 17 and then joint with Zorko in 18.
Wow, he really didn't make an impact on me! I think Mr Ripper summed it up perfectly.

Were Lions, Suns and Giants given this leg up

www.sen.com.au

The Tasmanian footballers eligible for father-son selections

Tasmania have been given the rights to a number of father-sons.
www.sen.com.au

Retired club-tied 100-game Tasmanians​

• Nick Riewoldt – St Kilda
  • Jack Riewoldt - Richmond
  • Brad Green - Melbourne
  • Russell Robertson – Melbourne
  • Brodie Holland – Collingwood
  • Brady Rawlings – North Melbourne
  • Grant Birchall – Hawthorn
  • Colin Garland – Melbourne
  • Mitch Robinson – Carlton & Brisbane
  • Tom Bellchambers – Essendon
  • Liam Jones – Western Bulldogs
  • Ben Brown – North Melbourne

Non-club-tied 100-game Tasmanians​

• Maverick Weller – Gold Coast (32), St Kilda (89) & Richmond (2)
  • Josh Green – Brisbane (81) & Essendon (24)

Active 100-game Tasmanians​

• Jeremy Howe - Collingwood & Melbourne
  • Brody Mihocek – Collingwood
  • Robbie Fox – Sydney
  • Jimmy Webster – St Kilda
  • Toby Nankervis – Richmond
  • Alex Pearce – Fremantle
  • Jake Kolodjashnij – Geelong

Potential 100-game Tasmanians​

• Chayce Jones – Adelaide (97 games)
  • Sam Banks – Richmond (43 games)
  • Lachie Cowan – Carlton (38 games)
  • Seth Campbell – Richmond (43 games)
  • Ryley Sanders – Western Bulldogs (35 games)
  • Colby McKercher – North Melbourne (39 games)

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion