List Mgmt. 2025 List Management II 📃

You have called players like Cowan, Kemp, Pittonet and Cottrell back-up quality which seems harsh given what they have shown at AFL level.

Kemp bled goals as a defender and instigated panic. A bit because he played so much undersized (great decision making Hamill). He has moved forward with only WCE formline to go on.

Cowan the hardest done by.

Cottrells is simply a runner who excels with two goals a game when we win games by a landslide. There is only a few games where he produces against the flow of the game...

Pittonet i stand by as a backup ruck. He lives off his taps to advantage stat right.It is the only thing that is an asset but it hides another truth...he doesnt win many taps so his percent to advantage is inflated high. What is high and league leading is him giving away free kicks in the opposition forward line resulting in scores. He would be ranked one in the league by averages.

There is fluffy analysis and then there is the Dunstall style analysis. Everyone gets to pick their poison when you want your team to win a flag. I'm more in the critical eye Dunstall corner which is hard to take for a lot of the devout supporter types.

Wouldn't mgovern be a free agent?
Nope. He was traded to Carlton in 2018, this is only his 7th season with the club. He has only played 97 games for the club. So if we trade him, he's going to be another player stuck in the 90s for us who has a son.

probably VFL like Buku and Petrecelle, but like young and Pitto will mostly likely be offered a first team level contract.
No I literally mean a VFL contract with an eye to be an emergency for the list. Same for Petrucelle.

List Overview. This is a harsh view i guess. Carroll may now be a first team player in some supporters eyes but up against Wilmot type half backs who can defend and attack vs Carroll (attack only), he is a back up at top 6 level. A first choice at a bottom 6 club maybe.

Carlton going nowhere in 2026 and stockpiling squad players at best.

First Team Quality for 2026
Cripps
Weitering
Saad
Haynes
Mckay
Hollands (Wing only)
Walsh
Cerra
Hewett
Motlop
Williams
Curnow
Jagga on pedigree only but im worried

Backup Level/Squad Players
Cowan
Boyd
Carroll
Evans
Pitto
HoF
HoK
Camporeale x2
Lord (simply due to over abundance ofi nside mids in a fast moving game dominated by turnover goals (Lord vs Cripps))
Charlson
Cottrell
Kemp (failed dfender...untried up forward
Moir (jury out until see more. comes across fluky)
Wilson
Flynn
Young
Buku/Chesser/Reidy

Delist/Trade
Fogarty
Durdin
Binns

God Knows what they are but Conditional players - don't want really
Acres
Mcgovern

Retire due to reset
Newman
Thank dog you're not our list manager really. You'd flog off good players to bring in third tier players and call them good.

Carroll has played a handful of games this year, and from where he came from and where he's ended up, he's a first team member any day of the week.
Cowan is first team quality. He comes into the side, and he instantly adds some serious grunt to the defence.
HoF is first team quality. In the 6 games he played before his knee, he was the reason we weren't upset that Jack was going. He was going to make Jack the backup defender.
Evans is first team quality. His last month is an indicator of what we can expect next year.
Lord is first team quality. He allows Cripps to go to the forwardline or the bench and there is no loss of contested ball.
Moir is first team quality. As someone who is still in the infancy of his career. He's shown he can spend time in the middle or up forward and make us much better.
Cottrell is first team quality. We have seriously missed Cotts run between the arcs playing the link player. You put him in the side, and our transition game steps up with the best.

And you want to retire Newman? Really?

That's honestly a pathetic effort really.

Comedy Central Lol GIF

What did Mike Tyson say to Chris Hemsworth after they finished a gym session?

'You'll be Thor in the morning'...

Conflicting information regarding ison some people don't have him in there top 40 then you hear reports he could be a early 2nd rounder, don't think we are going to have a problem with Gresham he looks like a late 3rd rounder
Gresham, and Clarke, are good chances to get picked up as rookies. Gresham might get a third round bid because he seems to be a bit of a ball magnet and has an eye for the goals. But Mingara is definitely going to make the rookie draft. He has talent, but he is raw AF.

Then there is our other F/S who is possibly in contention this year. Darcy Hogg. The second half of his year showed he has a load of talent and he has developed nicely through the VFL system. I reckon our other three father/son candidates might end up on our VFL list for next year.

List Overview. This is a harsh view i guess. Carroll may now be a first team player in some supporters eyes but up against Wilmot type half backs who can defend and attack vs Carroll (attack only), he is a back up at top 6 level. A first choice at a bottom 6 club maybe.

Carlton going nowhere in 2026 and stockpiling squad players at best.

First Team Quality for 2026
Cripps
Weitering
Saad
Haynes
Mckay
Hollands (Wing only)
Walsh
Cerra
Hewett
Motlop
Williams
Curnow
Jagga on pedigree only but im worried

Backup Level/Squad Players
Cowan
Boyd
Carroll
Evans
Pitto
HoF
HoK
Camporeale x2
Lord (simply due to over abundance ofi nside mids in a fast moving game dominated by turnover goals (Lord vs Cripps))
Charlson
Cottrell
Kemp (failed dfender...untried up forward
Moir (jury out until see more. comes across fluky)
Wilson
Flynn
Young
Buku/Chesser/Reidy

Delist/Trade
Fogarty
Durdin
Binns

God Knows what they are but Conditional players - don't want really
Acres
Mcgovern

Retire due to reset
Newman
No offense... But like are u smoking crack or something? How in God's name have you condemned that many players to back up level 😂

Not to mention an absolutely woeful small forward in Motlop is apparently better than Cottrell, Kemp, Pittonet, Boyd etc despite all showing bucket loads more than he ever has.

No offense taken. and you guys have Carlton on your side as they are keeping these guys and playing them first team. A great coaching group for you guys as they believe and keep the same players in the team. Obv i think this coaching group is dreadful.

I personally think Kennedy, JSoS and Martin have the right mental personalities of success and the Mcgoverns, Kemps, Youngs, Boyds are soft and weak as butter at AFL level footy.

View attachment 2415316 I wonder if they're going to release a DVD box set of their 2025 draft/free agency period? Or they have to wait til SOS officially wins trade week?

And we thought Dodoro would be missed.

I do think it’s wild that SOS seems to have bid against himself for his own son if the $900K pa is true.

I suspect Charleson will get a new contract. As will Motts. Out of the remainder, Monahan is an Irish cat B, so he should be safe. I reckon Young and White will get a 12 month extension. And that leaves Gov… who I suspect will be trade bait. If Wet Toast is interested in Lij, I wonder if we’d be bundling Lij and Gov together to get the Wet Toast second.
Lij and Guv for Ryan and Chesser.

Easy.

Lord is first team quality. He allows Cripps to go to the forwardline or the bench and there is no loss of contested ball.
There's almost no body of evidence to support this view.

His limited success at the stoppage kicked in as a replacement for Cerra.
Evans is first team quality. His last month is an indicator of what we can expect next year.
We hope, but need to be realistic about his impact being late season when games slow down.
Cottrell is first team quality. We have seriously missed Cotts run between the arcs playing the link player. You put him in the side, and our transition game steps up with the best.
While he finally improved his field kicking, his injury history is not great, and I question his value in defensive read and transition despite putting the kilometres in.

Hopefully the club have identified how to help with that in terms of training loads and squad and role rotation in the tougher runs of games that now crop up in the fixture.

But I thought that Jack really really really really really really wanted to play with his great mate Dan Houston?
LMAO.
Thanks Steve!
He was all set to sign with Collingwood until SOS told to Jack, “Sign with St Kilda and I will regale you with tales of my playing career.”

Jack couldn’t resist the opportunity to listen to the same stories he’s heard since he was 2 years old.

No offense taken. and you guys have Carlton on your side as they are keeping these guys and playing them first team. A great coaching group for you guys as they believe and keep the same players in the team. Obv i think this coaching group is dreadful.

I personally think Kennedy, JSoS and Martin have the right mental personalities of success and the Mcgoverns, Kemps, Youngs, Boyds are soft and weak as butter at AFL level footy.

What have Kemp and Boyd done to be considered “soft and weak as butter” in your opinion?

Fly? You mean the happy go-lucky coach of "everyone's second favourite team"...?

Collingwood wouldn't make my top 2 teams if they were the only team in the league...