List Mgmt. 2025 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Now while we're here, do we think it's a coincidence that Serong and Simpkin just followed each other on instagram or do you think we're sending our recruiter to do some recruiting?
Well we do need a spud to replace JOM...

View attachment 2429807

Seems too much for someone concussion prone?

Have to trade for him too
It is too much, that means since he’s out of contract and WC won the spoon, Brisbane will just take what is offered. Most likely their third rounder.

Unless they threaten to not sign Oscar Allen, but I assume that gets done first anyway.

WC will still manage to get bent over somehow with all the leverage.

Freo has said it's first is on thr table and North don't have a pick at all in the first round, if North will pay some of his salary and we get a B grade player to make the team better immediately it could win us moments.

I'd like to see him play like Brayshaw
So, a ball butcher who can tackle? :)

I think everyone knows my view on Logue 😒
hans richter art GIF by hoppip

Rather trade voss than amiss.
You must have missed the entire season of footy then.

I think there’s a lot of footy fans that really struggle to take seriously any player that comes from rookie lists or supplementary selections to carve out a strong AFL career. Especially compared to a high draft pick of the same age.

There is still plenty of people that think Jai Newcombe for example is just a temu Matt Rowell or Caleb Serong. Even though he’s Mr September so far in this finals series.
“Ah he was only a mid season rookie pick. Wouldnt go top 10 in a redraft of 2019 national draft.” 😳
Meanwhile Newcombe is too busy breaking all sorts of records with his finals performances so far.

For what reasons?

Voss has catapulted himself ahead of Amiss IMO. There’s not a single feature where I’d have Amiss ahead of Voss.

Kicking at goal would be single feature where amiss is better than voss.

I believe their isn't much difference between them with Voss having the better 25 season. But what tips it for me who i rather keep than trade is Amiss is from wa and signed thru to 2029 while Voss is only signed for 26 and their is a chance he leaves for east coast I don't have the same worry with Amiss.

The only thing that stops me short of saying Voss over Amiss is that he hasn’t replicated this season yet. Too many times players have good seasons when they’re fighting for their career and then revert back to normal afterwards.

Amiss did last year what Voss did this year and many saw it as a failure of a season mind you

Simpkin would be a great get. Hard runner, good clearance player who could lead the 2nd rotation through the middle, improves our kicking as can hit targets inside f50, good tackler, solid mark overhead and great 1on1 which would make him a wing option also. Not to mention you are getting a leader and a guy who works hard in the gym which we really need. When he was a fulltime mid in 21/22 he racked them up and hit the scoreboard.
He would also give us an insight into how other teams combat our midfield. Where they see our weaknesses. The North midfield beat ours on our home deck this year. being pushed out of that group doesn't mean he wouldn't get a start in ours.

Id be comfortable with handing over 11 for Simpkin and 20. Prefer to get it done with just our 2nd rounder though which equates to more points anyway. Make it happen Wallsy!

Trading out the guy who has kicked more career goals and is younger and playing the sacrificial role allowing the new guy on the block to flourish might backfire so spectacularly.
they are almost the exact same age (one month apart) but amiss has played 71 games and Voss has played 27.

This sacrificial role narrative is flawed I reckon.

The problem for Jye is that he doesn’t get his hands on the ball enough so his chances to impact the game are lesser than Voss. He probably needs to be at Gunston levels of accuracy to justify the comparison with Voss in 2025 and he’s not.

An interesting question is - if Sturt was fit in 2025 and had been in similar form as he was in the back half of 2024, would he have taken Amiss place in the side this year? Think there’s a strong case that he would have.

Another issue for us is the finals so far aren’t really supporting the idea that you can carry 2 rucks and 3 tall forwards in high pressure finals games.its all about the small forwards. Can see this being a big talking point in 2026 for us.

For what reasons?

Voss has catapulted himself ahead of Amiss IMO. There’s not a single feature where I’d have Amiss ahead of Voss.
Amiss is better on his left!

Seriously though, why is this even a conversation? Amiss is an exciting forward prospect who will keep developing and cannot be traded out.

For amiss to have the season he did, being under 100 games, carrying an injury.. geez there’s some hard markers out there.

He put on a stack of muscle, which would have reduced his running capacity as well. (And burst speed).

A good off season to let his body catch up to the changes, new S&C to fix the niggles. He’ll kick 50 next year.

they are almost the exact same age (one month apart) but amiss has played 71 games and Voss has played 27.

The problem for Jye is that he doesn’t get his hands on the ball enough so his chances to impact the game are lesser than Voss. He probably needs to be at Gunston levels of accuracy to justify the comparison with Voss in 2025 and he’s not.

An interesting question is - if Sturt was fit in 2025 and had been in similar form as he was in the back half of 2024, would he have taken Amiss place in the side this year? Think there’s a strong case that he would have.

Another issue for us is the finals so far aren’t really supporting the idea that you can carry 2 rucks and 3 tall forwards in high pressure finals games.its all about the small forwards. Can see this being a big talking point in 2026 for us.
Amiss in over Sturt isn’t even a question. Amiss has never had a season where he has kicked less goals than Sturts personal best season. And Sturt really offers very little without the ball too in terms of pressure and tackles.

Not sure how we’ve reached the point that a 22yo who has kicked 32+ in every season he’s played gets kicked out of the team by a 26 year old who has never played more than half a season.

Sturts “form” at the back half of last season was 10 goals from 6 games. Amiss is getting crucified for that exact statline in his last 6 games

There's every chance Amiss explodes next year. You don't offload this type of player ever. This reminds me of when we offloaded Medhurst after one poor, injury interrupted season and then he went to the pies and kicked 50 odd.
Get Simpkin and then handcuff Dudley to him for the whole Xmas break and pre-season. Give Stephenson a train on opportunity. He can kick snags from 60 and has tricks. I also think Bolton comes back in ripping shape next year. He would be disappointed with his year and definitely looked a bit out of shape. Forward line sorted. Talls and smalls capable of kicking a score anywhere, anytime!

People talk about Simpkin as a poor kick. But look at what he has to kick to at north. Often stagnant, second rate forwards who can’t win a contest.

Look at how good he looked in that all stars game when playing with quality.

Freo's tall forwards are all very mobile, as is one of the ruckmen - that's why Amiss was starting up on the wing on occasion this year.

I think the structure of the forward line, dragging a defender away and opening leading lanes is the product of the roles and the guy kicking the goal is just the one in the role at the end.

Jye and Patrick averaged the same number of marks inside fifty, the same number of contested marks, Jye slightly more likely to mark on a lead that Voss - both have room to improve their contested marking numbers.

Voss bolstered his impact by having the highest average ground ball gets for a tall forward for Freo - of which Jye was a way down from last year and the year before - you'll remember those spillage collects and snaps for goal that disappeared from Jye's game this year as we suddenly had players who would crumb and snap (Bolton and Reid).

It's role. That's why his management asked about role.