List Mgmt. 2025 List Management

• Thread starter Thread starter Lach72

Would we have any interest in Kamdyn McIntosh as a delisted pick up for some veteran depth for a few years? Originally from Peel.

I know he has some deficiencies but doesn't seem to have lost his pace and durability playing almost every game for past four years. I always thought he looked pretty good whenever I saw him play and would just be some good insurance.
Retired. I see no value add in trying to bring him out of retirement. Was ok in 2025 but as the year wore on you could see that he had reached the end. Turns 32 in March and not in the age profile we would be looking for. We are also making minimal changes really.

Judd McVee (replacing Will Brodie list Spot), a mature age ruckman as a rookie (to replace Reidy), Josh Draper upgraded, Toby Whan plus two national draftees (to replace Fyfe, Walters, Aish and Delean). Freo like to leave one spot for SSP rookie and then possibly two catB rookies (out of Basil Hart, Ryda Luke or Tom Phillips).

Don’t see a list spot myself.

That trade almost weighs McVee as a net negative, especially with how the draft class has been spoken about. Chuck in our F2 and maybe you got something there. But even then, with how this class has been spoken it'd take a brave list manager to trade in (and at pick 11 too).

I’ll leave that to you guys and the Dees to sort out but historically they love trading their F1 and you guys could use one for Robinson. Could be tidy to tie it in with a McVee deal.

Cooper hasn't found his position yet. He's in development, and time in the backline is really useful for that.

But surely he is the best candidate to understudy the injury prone Switkowski.

I'd love to see the pair of them scything around the forward half of the ground.
Simpson's future definitely lies in the midfield but there's a big bridge to get there before that happens. That bridge can only get crossed at Freo if we can pump 50-100 games into him. The half-forward experiment failed, the only position that fits his development is half-back. With the addition of McVee it will be difficult to guarantee him a spot despite what people say.

So the Langdon trade was:

Melbourne got: Ed Langdon, Pick 26 and Pick 60+ (went unused)

For

Fremantle got: Pick 22, Pick 38 (future 2nd), Pick 79 (which appears to have come into 61 after academy bids)

So basically a 4 pick upgrade and a pick in the mid 30s.

Wasn't there a conversation on one of those footy shows (might've been on the couch) about every recent premier being in the top bracket for goals from turnover/counter attack from defence?

We've now got Clark, McVee and possibly Simpson moving the ball from half back, time for JLo to release the shackles and get us scoring like we should be

Hasn't Banners even got a Brownlow vote playing as a forward for Freo?
The 1 game in his career he got a Brownlow vote he started forward then played predominantly a mixture of wing and half back.

Back when Banners showed excellent form as a wingman for about 6 games last year.

Fred certainly has his measure for corralling. Simpson might put in some effort and contest though. Bit hard to tell yet after half a dozen games.
I was at the 2024 Tigers game at the G where Simpson was playing as a half forward, they soon worked out he was the weakest link defensively and came out via his opponent nearly every time.
Granted that will be two years of development Prior when we line up in 2026 but saying he is better than Frederick is just not true.

Brisbane just won with two rather immobile rucks who would both be in the bottom ten of rucks running around, one of whom was playing inside 50 along with the two young keys.

They still had three talls up front.

IMO Brisbane largely won that game based on extreme midfield depth. And small and medium forwards working up and back and powerful backs holding things together

Next year they are adding Hipwood back in, Allan in, and Draper will probably replace McInerney.
Brisbane’s midfield bat very deep. They are tough inside but can also run and hurt teams by scoring.
They are a hardened team that has no passengers across the field when it comes to putting your body on the line.

The 1 game in his career he got a Brownlow vote he started forward then played predominantly a mixture of wing and half back.

Back when Banners showed excellent form as a wingman for about 6 games last year.
Kicked three goals that game from memory. Think it was against the Bulldogs.

Now that McVee is committed, we need another high quality small forward. These are the players that help win big finals. Switta cannot be relied on - you can bet your bottom dollar he’ll be injured for more big games in 2026. Without his pressure we are immediately behind all the other top sides in that area of the ground, as we saw against Gold Coast (not for the first time either).

I’m not sure how good Lachy Dovaston is but he’s right in our pick range.
Whan could be a good wing option to help address a deficiency on that area of the ground. It’s in attack that we urgently need more. Another inside mid would be nice bit at least Erasmus showed progress and promise there. Losing Walters, DeLean and with Sturt injured - we got practically nothing in the small forward area in reserve.

Without some extra support in this area, all 2026 hopes are pinned on Sam Switkowski’s body holding up. For me that is reckless risk for the club to take.

I’ll leave that to you guys and the Dees to sort out but historically they love trading their F1 and you guys could use one for Robinson. Could be tidy to tie it in with a McVee deal.

Robinson won’t require a first. I think lack of pace sees him as a mid second round

As close to nothing as is possible.
I agree re: Brodie - we want his salary off our books. Not sure what the trade looks like but it will be a late token pick.

Reidy though something marginally useful like a F4. Carlton are chasing him for a list spot and Fremantle offered Reidy a contract renewal.

Brodie, 65 > F4 (Port)
Reidy > F4 (Carlton) or 62

There’s only two words that need to be said if Melbourne gets chirpy on this deal and demanding too much.

Ed. Langdon.

What goes around comes around. Melbourne can go suck shit.

I love McVee but pick 29 is heaps.
Melbourne was the lowest ranked Victorian team that year which gave them leverage.

If we didn't except that shite deal it would've been too easy to put Langdon through the Pre Season Draft.

We have more leverage than Melbourne for McVee but theres sone key differences to the Langdon situation.

I agree re: Brodie - we want his salary off our books. Not sure what the trade looks like but it will be a late token pick.

Reidy though something marginally useful like a F4. Carlton are chasing him for a list spot and Fremantle offered Reidy a contract renewal.

Brodie, 65 > F4 (Port)
Reidy > F4 (Carlton) or 62
Think we just get rid of Brodie tbh given he's contracted. A fourth rounder will do. We can't have Brodie on our list next year.

Reidy I'd rather seek an upgrade in the third round or something. Even if that ends up as an upgrade of one or two selections it's probably of greater value to us than a fourth rounder. If that deal doesn't get done and we have to delist Reidy the difference is between a pick we won't use and nothing - who cares.

Feel like we've collectively forgot the tenor of fan reactions to Ed Langdon asking for a trade, half our fanbase was at "I would pay someone to take him".

Wasn't there a conversation on one of those footy shows (might've been on the couch) about every recent premier being in the top bracket for goals from turnover/counter attack from defence?

We've now got Clark, McVee and possibly Simpson moving the ball from half back, time for JLo to release the shackles and get us scoring like we should be
Other than Vossy who kicks the goals though ?

Our mids can’t kick straight

Freddy is a headless chook most of the time

Amiss - what is he even doing out there most of the time

Bolton not as many as he should

Dudley has a crack but nowhere near a good small forward

Treacy has a crack but has a bigger role up the ground

Our Wings don’t kick goals -Johnson / Sharp

I’d like to trial Simpson on a wing or half forward , kid knows how to move and deliver the ball
The rest of them need a bloody good shake up