List Mgmt. 2025 List Management

An extra key forward of real quality and we win the 2013 GF, Lake had a field day with Clarke down there.

Imagine Voss in that side, no way he lets Lake mark everything in sight, as good as he was.
Only thing is, Voss would've been about 8 years old in 2013, so I don't know if he would have been much better than Clarke on that day. :)

Voss probably would have had a similar impact at 8 years old.

Treacy at 8 would have absolutely dominated the **** out of Clarke
Having Kepler Bradley available that day might’ve won us a flag.

As laughable as that'd be to any opposition fan I reckon its true. We didn't lose be much. Bring 4-5 of Brian Lake's marks to ground and we give ourselves a massive shot at winning that game.

Either or Bradley or Jono Griffin or Ibbo or Clancee Pearce would have made a difference.

The first two particularly.

Either or Bradley or Jono Griffin or Ibbo or Clancee Pearce would have made a difference.

The first two particularly.
Yea Ibbo or Clancee instead of Sutcliffe would've been handy.

Tbf by Grand Final those four were probably all we were missing. I seem to remember either McPharlin or Johnson missing earlier stages of finals though.

That little period was wearing a theme of "key players out for half the season".

Sandi, Pav, McPharlin, Johnson all spent time out, with the last two right when we needed them in finals.

Point is that kpfs matter for more than just goals.

Plus ours apply good pressure - probably the best pressure for key forwards in the comp.

On another point, what is the current hierarchy of other forwards, best to worst, before a shot is fired in anger?

My uneducated crack:

Shai
Reid
Switta
Freddy (I know, but goals)
Sturt (disqualified)
Slim
Murray
Dudders
Kickett (coming with a bullet)

Did Sutcliffe win our Player of the finals that year or was that 2014?

2014 makes more sense I guess

Point is that kpfs matter for more than just goals.

Plus ours apply good pressure - probably the best pressure for key forwards in the comp.

On another point, what is the current hierarchy of other forwards, best to worst, before a shot is fired in anger?

My uneducated crack:

Shai
Reid
Switta
Freddy (I know, but goals)
Sturt (disqualified)
Slim
Murray
Dudders
Kickett (coming with a bullet)
Dudley has to be above Murray who hasn't even played a game yet.

Yea the Grand Final we made was 2013.
I know, I've watched it like 20 times, I just wasn't sure which year Sutcliffe won our player of the finals but getting it in 2 losses makes more sense than 2013.

Looks like Sutty was Beacon in 2013 and we didn't award a player of the finals from what I can find

I know, I've watched it like 20 times, I just wasn't sure which year Sutcliffe won our player of the finals but getting it in 2 losses makes more sense than 2013.

Looks like Sutty was Beacon in 2013 and we didn't award a player of the finals from what I can find
He was pretty much the only player to establish himself as best 22 that year tbh.

Feel like the older calm head would've served us well. Having said that he wasn't the reason we lost - that probably comes down to A/B Graders playing well below their best and also not having a capable second tall forward.

You are definitely objectively right, but I don’t rate Dudley that highly personally, and I suspect Murray may be a great pick.
Don't make me repost my stats on Duds vs Sturt. I know he's short but you have him insultingly low, what don't you rate? I love him, he's had more impact on any game and any season than Sturt ever has (and ever will).

This would be mine:
Switta (we are always worse off if Switta isn't playing but with Bolton playing we are always better off)
Bolton
Reid
Freddy
Duds/Murray/Slim (hopefully all will be fighting for the same spot, although I suspect Sweidy is going to be our future Switta)
Bailey Banfield
Kickett (hopefully)
Sturt (he's never going to play again)

I'm not writing Sturt off completely tbh.

Will he play next year? It's quite unlikely.

But if he gets back and plays some WAFL footy I'd be comfortable enough with the club giving him a one year deal for 2027.

It's not going to be easy to add talent if we have a good year so you can probably expect similar turnover next year with less additions to the rookie list (ie. One player traded in, one upgrade (Voss) and 2-3 draft picks in the National Draft).

Don't make me repost my stats on Duds vs Sturt. I know he's short but you have him insultingly low, what don't you rate? I love him, he's had more impact on any game and any season than Sturt ever has (and ever will).

This would be mine:
Switta (we are always worse off if Switta isn't playing but with Bolton playing we are always better off)
Bolton
Reid
Freddy
Duds/Murray/Slim (hopefully all will be fighting for the same spot, although I suspect Sweidy is going to be our future Switta)
Bailey Banfield
Kickett (hopefully)
To add to this: we've seen Sturt after multiple preseasons. This is not to hate on the guy, but his contribution is a known quality. Beautiful kick, competent mark on the lead, not great pressure, not great crumbing. (We probably don't have room for another leading lane with our 3 KPFs plus resting rucks.)

Dudley is younger, is doing his second ever AFL preseason, and his limitations were largely to do with fitness and consistent impact across games. Great kick, great skills, great footy IQ. If he can provide consistent pressure on the ball carrier, he's much more valuable within our current set-up.

Also Frederick runs so much. Unbelievable numbers on Telstra Tracker. Underrated selfless contribution that the coaches will love.

This would be mine:
Bolton
Reid
Freddy
Bailey Banfield
Kickett (hopefully)
[/

I don’t care about his height, just think we have some great options.

Dudley is good at popping up with a goal, and his new found fitness may mean he goes to another level. Not sure he did much defensively, and not sure he can win or halve a 1v1. He is very good finding a team mate.

Also just rate Sturt, though sadly he is likely finished.

I think the players we picked shows we are not expecting him to be around. Was Sturt able to train in the pre Christmas sessions?
A bunch of mid-forwards and/or genuine small forwards who are 10-15cm shorter than Sturt?

That describes all the draftees we picked with the exception of the two NGA boys.

Tbh I think what'd really stamp Sturt's papers is the three talls working even equally as well as last year. Sturt is closer to a player like Amiss than an actual small forward.

Imagine them in a RTB team - he would have absolutely loved them.

I think the players we picked shows we are not expecting him to be around. Was Sturt able to train in the pre Christmas sessions?
And I fear it also shows they are not expecting Switta around either, but I hope I'm wrong

As laughable as that'd be to any opposition fan I reckon it’s true. We didn't lose be much. Bring 4-5 of Brian Lake's marks to ground and we give ourselves a massive shot at winning that game.
JL instead of Clarke wins us that GF. His early injury retirement took that away from us. Number 2 draft pick plus a game winner. So much more effective than Clarke in the forward line and in the ruck.
That coupled with no Morabito stopped a dynasty I reckon

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management