Wade Derksen - requests a trade to Melbourne
Liam Ryan - requests a trade to St Kilda
Leek Aleer - requests a trade to St Kilda
Campbell Chesser - requests a trade to Carlton
Will Brodie - requests a trade to Port Adelaide
Liam Reidy - requests a trade to Carlton
Sam Flanders - has requested a trade/explore options

If Butters is genuinely available and we have heaps of cap room… we should be offering the maximum available to snare him. Worst case he is driven out from Port, best case he slots in perfectly and could reshape our teams reputation.

He’ll be 25 start of next year so I’d be comfortable with 8 years on the table.
Of course he'd be awesome, but $1.5m seems about the mark for gun mids now. If we had he and LDU both on that, then soon enough we'll have to find somewhere around that for McKercher, FOS while Wardlaw will be somewhere close. Sheez at the end of his contract would be a FA too.

Then as others have said, how we fit them all in? Im wary with McKercher signing until 28 with huge Tassie offers coming his way also.

If we can glue Zane’s legs to Xavier’s over the summer, Zane might be able to run out a half in 2026.
Xavier did mention Zane needed to find himself an AFL standard routine, got to admit that was a half red flag to me at the time. If he isnt, the hardest workers at the club need to drag him along kicking and screaming until that routine becomes habit.

Like clockwork :tearsofjoy:

Honestly, apart from our strategy being completely rudderless and scattergun, I would love to hear the pitch on this other than:

"He's got experience and we think he has a few years of footy left in him"

How did Parker go about stopping those last quarter white flag surrenders this season?

We don't need ****ing experience, we need good footballers, preferably ones with more than 20 games left in their legs.

Fisher, Larkey, Zurhaar, Logue, Simpkin, Tucker, Daniel, McDonald, Corr, Parker, Darling are all approaching 30 or past 30....

We just handed one of our 26 year old $1.5m a season FFS.

We are back to wanting experience for the sake of experience....

**** me, this club and this coaches tenure.....
Could have saved a tanty....
IMG_4021.jpeg

I know im mostly on my own with a willingness to look closely at Hollands and JUH. Heck if TT has turned things around id be open to a return from him.

At this point in the rebuild i was hoping we'd be able to grab a FA or two that really fits our list needs while grabbing as many higher end draft picks as we can before Tassie.

Given its clear the FAs are looking at the top clubs and im pretty comfortable with defensive/ mid stocks (as mentioned before) then id be will to entertain the idea some of these risker bets. They'd need to understand we'd have zero tolerance towards unsettling the player group and they'd need to prove themselves over time. It seems few if any of the top clubs are even looking at these guys and why would they when they have top quality FAs coming their way? We need to think a bit different.

Perhaps JUH would cost one of our early seconds and Hollands our 3rd, we're not losing all that much. Hopefully we can keep those 2 picks btw, im just talking max price. But if it worked out our list would be as strong as any. Hollands off the BF/ wing and JUH CHF changes our list dynamic.

Bailey Smith said he was in a psych ward a year ago. Geelong took a punt and it paid off biggly.

Like clockwork :tearsofjoy:

Honestly, apart from our strategy being completely rudderless and scattergun, I would love to hear the pitch on this other than:

"He's got experience and we think he has a few years of footy left in him"

How did Parker go about stopping those last quarter white flag surrenders this season?

We don't need ****ing experience, we need good footballers, preferably ones with more than 20 games left in their legs.

Fisher, Larkey, Zurhaar, Logue, Simpkin, Tucker, Daniel, McDonald, Corr, Parker, Darling are all approaching 30 or past 30....

We just handed one of our 26 year old $1.5m a season FFS.

We are back to wanting experience for the sake of experience....

**** me, this club and this coaches tenure.....
Could have saved a tanty....

That was a highly articulate outburst....

How about Kyle Langford? At 28 he has years ahead of him and wouldn’t cost much.

For parts of it

But Trembaths 2 last qrt goals were on young

Hardly a bath, 2 goals in a quarter, junk time, result already beyond doubt.

Young has had a very good return from the ACL he did.

I'm really not sure what his value is though tbh. Keep hearing this draft is 'weak' but you hear this nonsense every year.

Hardly a bath, 2 goals in a quarter, junk time, result already beyond doubt.

Young has had a very good return from the ACL he did.

I'm really not sure what his value is though tbh. Keep hearing this draft is 'weak' but you hear this nonsense every year.

Fair enough. But they the two goals came from 2 contested marks. The second of which was from poor defending. Whitlock also kicked his goal on young, though that wasn’t young’s fault

Of course he'd be awesome, but $1.5m seems about the mark for gun mids now. If we had he and LDU both on that, then soon enough we'll have to find somewhere around that for McKercher, FOS while Wardlaw will be somewhere close. Sheez at the end of his contract would be a FA too.

Then as others have said, how we fit them all in
? Im wary with McKercher signing until 28 with huge Tassie offers coming his way also.
During that time we will let go of players and get players , so l would be thinking of now and how to improve our club. As we dont know what will happen l would be getting Butters and thinking of the future later..

Then as others have said, how we fit them all in? Im wary with McKercher signing until 28 with huge Tassie offers coming his way also.

I agree $1.5m is probably the right mark. We, however, are North Melbourne. We need to provide a cash generated incentive for them to join perennial cellar dwellers. $1.75m would be worth it for our next Captain and having a genuine leader in the team.

I’m not worried about retaining our guys. Cap will continually go up and if we’re winning it will make it easier to retain our talent. That will be a good problem to have in my view and if we can’t keep them you’d assume it’ll trigger band A / B

Fair enough. But they the two goals came from 2 contested marks. The second of which was from poor defending. Whitlock also kicked his goal on young, though that wasn’t young’s fault

I'll take your word for it mate haha.

To be honest I got home, lay down on the couch in the 3rd, got up within 5min and never came back lmao.

Sometimes you know your team is crap and has thrown in the towel and it's just not worth your time to traumatise yourself...

To be honest I got home, lay down on the couch in the 3rd, got up within 5min and never came back lmao.

Sometimes you know your team is crap and has thrown in the towel and it's just not worth your time to traumatise yourself...

We know all about that here mate

I’d rather Jacob blight over Tylar young

Did look good in the games played real lockdown defender but also decent skills
This is new ground bro, shitlisting a bloke who hasn't even requested a trade to us yet.

I’d rather blight over Tylar young

Did look good in the games played real lockdown defender but also decent skills

Hmmm, I would say Blight is a better intercept mark, Young better 1v1 in the contest, both decent disposal.

Blight will just about be given away though IMO. You could have him for your last pick in a nothing trade.

Yeh but then you get to wipe away your tears with your 2017, 2019 or 2020 limited edition premiership hankies.

Our 1996 and 1996 hankies are long overspunked, barethreaded and funky.

Hmmm, I would say Blight is a better intercept mark, Young better 1v1 in the contest, both decent disposal.

Blight will just about be given away though IMO. You could have him for your last pick in a nothing trade.
That’s interesting.

I don’t think k we need another intercept defender. When need someone that can lock down.

Happy to take blight for free/late pick
Tbh #57 would be fine, don't think anyone else wants the Kellaway F/S we have. That'll do it.

Yeh but then you get to wipe away your tears with your 2017, 2019 or 2020 limited edition premiership hankies.

Our 1996 and 1996 hankies are long overspunked, barethreaded and funky.

Made me laugh, thank you.

1756788934125.png