List Mgmt. 2026 AFL Draft (Picks as of Round 3: 8, 21, 26, 44, 54, 62)

With dougie, salopek , pilot and maybe rodan you have potentially some kids who will come to the club with a strong passion to play for it. We need to rediscover that port culture and the pride to play in the jumper these kids may begin to bring that back. Rozee, jhf our leaders moving foward need to drive the standards .Mitch and Whitlock will be the mainstays up foward. There are many pieces needed to be filled especially in defence but with the right leadership, list management and passion we can turn things around and contend again. Longmiur is into his 8th season at freo. When he got there it was a mess that Ross the boss left behind its only now I see a possible premiship team in freo. Hopefully it doesn't take us along to contrnd again

I don’t pay too close attention to other clubs but for some reason I get the feeling that at Port, mid-season draft/SSP/Rookie pick ups don’t just fill out our squad but that they’re either immediately in a lineup get or get hopes hung onto them to fix the trending issue. Coupled with the clubs desperation to prove the fan base wrong RE Hinkley not being a loser and prioritise deals, you can’t be surprised with where we’re at.

Shittest time to go through something like this w Tassie. Saving grace is the age profile and our proper talent still having prime years ahead of them, meaning the incoming club tied prospects can be part of the same build.

If it’s a miserable year, well then at least we may have ample points to go Cochrane + a genuine first round talent and that we start to back our player development again.

Will be refreshing to get elite young guns instead of Kyle Marshall, Lachie Charleston and Tom McCallum.
Actually nuts that we came out of a draft with McCallum, Anastopoulos, Charleston and Marshall. Very unlikely that we'll get a single game from that draft crop before Anasta gets delisted at the end of this year.

Reckon over consecutive drafts we took McCallum, Scully and Marshall, and then the following year, Anastasopoulos, Charleson and Lorenz. Ouch.

IF Butters leaves, we would want three draft picks to grab three inside/out midfielders before we have to calculate for Dougie.

Then astute drafting for 2 KPDs who are one grabbers, can kick and have footy IQ.

Sadly once again we find ourselves shit when a new team comes in to take all the talent.

Same shit different decade. Prepare for the long haul.

I think we really need to draft defenders. We traded for average defenders to try get Hinkley that last piece of the puzzle, we ended up with the mess down back today.

As much as I want to win every week, the best scenario draft wise is for us to finish bottom for a couple of years. However as Essendon is looking really bad we might have to settle for 2nd bottom.

Feel like there is an opportunity with Tassie coming in, to secure some early picks with Bergman, Marshall, Drew, Farell, BZT. I wouldn’t want SPP to go, but he also could go to West Coast.

Trading with Tassie and to get a guarantee they won’t bid on our academy picks, could actually help us secure more players and better value overall.

If Butters goes, and bonus picks happen we could end up with Cochrane, Pilot and Salopek, plus another 3-4 first round picks over the next two years. Also Rodan, etc.

This is the type of injection our side needs to be a legit flag threat.

Obviously some free agents would be great too, like Bailey, but chances are pretty low, unless AFL makes it difficult for them to go to finals clubs.
Port Adelaide shouldn’t win wooden spoons

You don’t need to finish bottom to bottom out

Reckon over consecutive drafts we took McCallum, Scully and Marshall, and then the following year, Anastasopoulos, Charleson and Lorenz. Ouch.
I don’t know enough about those drafts to know who else was available but that is a huge red X against our recruiting team. Shocking selections.

The problem wasn’t the selections , it’s that we traded out all our picks and were left with late selections.

If we end up with pick 3 or 4 it would be interesting if we try to trade for pick 1 from Essendon, say pick 3 and pick in the teens or future picks for pick 1. We then bid on walker pick 1, draft someone at pick 2 and then Cochrane would get bidded on by another club at pick 3
That is fantastic for the team that ends up with Cochrane at 3, he is one of the best players to ever come through the draft.

Good luck to them.

That is fantastic for the team that ends up with Cochrane at 3, he is one of the best players to ever come through the draft.

Good luck to them.
What you mean, we will have more than enough points to match the bid with butters leaving and if we don’t just go into a points deficit in next year draft

Our current situation I believe is fixable, but the chickens are coming home to roost. The flat out unwillingness to to draft and develop talls over the Hinkley era has caught up with us.

The targetting of Aliir was inspired, and Dixon and Ryder were good recruits, and i'd argue Hombsch was decent for what we paid for him. But the likes of Lycett, Watts, BZT, Ratugolea, Soldo, Sweet and worst of all, Lukosius have failed to live up to the value we paid for them. You can get away with one or two of those to fill gaps, but we've been relying on recycled talls to be prime movers for too long under the guise of not bottoming out.

Well done Kochie you ****ing moron, now we lack tall talent, and the tall talent we do have are first round picks (or Whitlock who was a slider in a very deep draft). Now it's looking like we'll be forced to bottom out in a very compromised period of the draft.

Our current situation I believe is fixable, but the chickens are coming home to roost. The flat out unwillingness to to draft and develop talls over the Hinkley era has caught up with us.

The targetting of Aliir was inspired, and Dixon and Ryder were good recruits, and i'd argue Hombsch was decent for what we paid for him. But the likes of Lycett, Watts, BZT, Ratugolea, Soldo, Sweet and worst of all, Lukosius have failed to live up to the value we paid for them. You can get away with one or two of those to fill gaps, but we've been relying on recycled talls to be prime movers for too long under the guise of not bottoming out.

Well done Kochie you ****ing moron, now we lack tall talent, and the tall talent we do have are first round picks (or Whitlock who was a slider in a very deep draft). Now it's looking like we'll be forced to bottom out in a very compromised period of the draft.
I’d disagree with the tall forwards. MG is 24, Whitlock is 19, Cochrane is maybe the best player in this draft, and same with Pilot next year. Plenty of talent here.

The rucks and defenders are cooked though. Aliir is near finished, Marshall is always hurt, Sav is good but getting hurt a lot, Ramm has the tools but is a bit off, and Sweet and Vis are nothing players.
Can we maybe add what points these picks equal to? And what we might need for Cochrane?
This site has it all. We currently have 2906 points all up.

I’d disagree with the tall forwards. MG is 24, Whitlock is 19, Cochrane is maybe the best player in this draft, and same with Pilot next year. Plenty of talent here.

The rucks and defenders are cooked though. Aliir is near finished, Marshall is always hurt, Sav is good but getting hurt a lot, Ramm has the tools but is a bit off, and Sweet and Vis are nothing players.

Tall forwards have certainly gotten better, but we flat out didn't even try to develop a tall forward until Marshall in about 2019. Even then it was really only because we'd gotten desperate, including playing a tall forward line of Westhoff and Ryder when Dixon was injured in 2018. We played Trengove up there for most of a season in 2017.

Bringing Lycett in was a disaster. We paid big money for a limited ruckman who never developed chemistry with our mids, forced out Ryder, and ruck has been a problematic position for us since.

We haven't spent a first round pick on a KPD since Troy Chaplin in 2003, despite every premiership winning team having elite KPDs.

I'd be playing BZT more than we are, but maybe he trains like shit. Idk.

Think they should show it differently given you're only allowed to use 2 picks to match a bid. They should show the points available using the top two picks so we can talk about matching in real terms

Tall forwards have certainly gotten better, but we flat out didn't even try to develop a tall forward until Marshall in about 2019. Even then it was really only because we'd gotten desperate, including playing a tall forward line of Westhoff and Ryder when Dixon was injured in 2018. We played Trengove up there for most of a season in 2017.

Bringing Lycett in was a disaster. We paid big money for a limited ruckman who never developed chemistry with our mids, forced out Ryder, and ruck has been a problematic position for us since.

We haven't spent a first round pick on a KPD since Troy Chaplin in 2003, despite every premiership winning team having elite KPDs.

I'd be playing BZT more than we are, but maybe he trains like shit. Idk.
The benefit of rucks is you can pick one up not getting a chance every year. Think 12 of the 18 teams starting ruck is from a different club, don’t need to use much capital on them.

Key defenders is ridiculous though, spending token late picks and hoping one hits is why we were in the position of having to trade out good capital to bring in limited players. Agree at some stage we are going to need to invest in the area, we got lucky that Aliir became as good as he was.

Our talls are going to be Georgiades, Whitlock, D. Cochrane, Pilot, Lukosius, Ramm.

Midfielders are a premium and are gotten in the first round but key defenders can be had with late firsts, second rounders.

We could have four first rounders and two early second rounders. That's heaps to work with.

If Butters goes and we are a bottom 8 side, we will have our first rounder, our second rounder, Carlton's second rounder and three early picks from Butters. That is just what Carr will want to make sure he can get rid of the deadwood and find out and out talent to slot in where he needs it.

If we end up with pick 3 or 4 it would be interesting if we try to trade for pick 1 from Essendon, say pick 3 and pick in the teens or future picks for pick 1. We then bid on walker pick 1, draft someone at pick 2 and then Cochrane would get bidded on by another club at pick 3
If we finish bottom 4, this absolutely needs to be the plan. Carlton will be thinking the same, unfortunately.

If we finish 10-14 we probably try to trade back to bring in more points.