• Co-Captains

Votes: 12 4.2%
  • Toby Pink

Votes: 10 3.5%
  • Other

Votes: 2 0.7%

There are some brilliant soccer XIs involving historical dictators.

From memory, Stalin was a lock at centre back (would be the best player imo), Hitler on the right wing, Mao opposite, Pol up top. Fidel in goal, Mussolini controlling the midfield.

Tougher to do it with an AFL team but if you got a few lesser known blokes in, you'd manage. Dan Andrews and Joh would probably both get a nod as home-grown players to keep everyone happy
You want a turncoat controlling the midfield?

Anyone nominating Harry for 2026 is a bum.

Underestimating the psychological, mental challenge when you are struggling team. The pressure will mount on coach, captain, players and entire club this next 12 months if there isnt significant gains.

For me, its Parker for 1 year. Harry VC to continue learning. Parker was brought to the club to lead. Give him the keys and tell him to go and lead us out of this shit.
so just confirming, harry will be ready in 12 months?

Giving the C to Sheezel too early is definitely a big risk. The thing I worry about is with his age/maturity, does he currently have what it takes to be that stern voice amongst the group? Pull the players in line when they need to be? Looking at sheez now, I feel like a lot of the guys might not show him the respect he deserves as C, as opposed to a bloke like Parker or X.

A contingency plan with Parker and Sheezel might be the smartest option. Parker can play a captain/coach role on field. Has that authoritative nature about him that naturally commands respect, which imo this group desperately needs.

Let Parks mentor Sheezel into the role for 1-2 years.

Also hate the idea of co captains. So many reasons why we shouldn’t go down that path again. Leave Larkey as VC.

Giving the C to Sheezel too early is definitely a big risk. The thing I worry about is with his age/maturity, does he currently have what it takes to be that stern voice amongst the group? Pull the players in line when they need to be? Looking at sheez now, I feel like a lot of the guys might not show him the respect he deserves as C, as opposed to a bloke like Parker or X.

A contingency plan with Parker and Sheezel might be the smartest option. Parker can play a captain/coach role on field. Has that authoritative nature about him that naturally commands respect, which imo this group desperately needs.

Let Parks mentor Sheezel into the role for 1-2 years.

Also hate the idea of co captains. So many reasons why we shouldn’t go down that path again. Leave Larkey as VC.
Who won't respect him? HS is the, imo, natural choice. He's smooth for the tv, is a gun footballer and has coped with everything so far, right from his drafting and 1st match . It's a path of natural growth. Parker in there as mentor/coach/"dissident disciplinarian" and NL as VC. Perhaps the older blokes, but Parker, Daniel and Darling are all pros who will play their role, perhaps Logue, Fisher and Corr .... but other than Logue possibly, won't play much going forward. X and LDU appear happy in supporting their captain without wanting it.
It'd, imo, give blokes like FOS, CM and RH, GW and PC, the keys to the car. These young blokes are the future, chuck 'em the keys.

Anyone who thinks Larkey should be captain are part of the problem. Whats he contribute on field from a leadership perspective? Running towards goal trying for easy over the tops all day? Flopping for free kicks at every contest instead or competing and bringing ball to ground? Whining to umpires instead of working his backside off? Pass. Give me a spell. The real on field leader is Xerri. They have been grooming Harry and if the players think hes ready would be all for it. If the players vote Larkey in as captain they have learnt nothing at all.

Who won't respect him? HS is the, imo, natural choice. He's smooth for the tv, is a gun footballer and has coped with everything so far, right from his drafting and 1st match . It's a path of natural growth. Parker in there as mentor/coach/"dissident disciplinarian" and NL as VC. Perhaps the older blokes, but Parker, Daniel and Darling are all pros who will play their role, perhaps Logue, Fisher and Corr .... but other than Logue possibly, won't play much going forward. X and LDU appear happy in supporting their captain without wanting it.
It'd, imo, give blokes like FOS, CM and RH, GW and PC, the keys to the car. These young blokes are the future, chuck 'em the keys.
I reckon Harry is one out of the box so not against it, that said I don't hate the idea of Parker being Captain with Harry Vice Captain and it being specifically stated as a handover plan for 2027 - have to assume Parker will be finishing up then or at the latest the following year.

Who will be captain I chose: Larkey
Who do I want to be captain if asked: Xerri

I have no issues with Larkey being captain as I thought this years ago until Xerri came in to the picture but changed it to Xerri about a year ago.

I'd be up for Lmac as sole Captain until Sheezel is ready (of course since he dropped being captain he prob doesnt want to but may have been the dual captain crap as to why he stepped back). The duel captain crap was another awful mistake...should have just been Lmac. Limitations like Ziebell but the guy bleeds for anyone out on the field and tries to lead by example. I just don't know where he sits in terms of getting a game. I assume he will be in the 22 as much as people don't think so.

I reckon Harry is one out of the box so not against it, that said I don't hate the idea of Parker being Captain with Harry Vice Captain and it being specifically stated as a handover plan for 2027 - have to assume Parker will be finishing up then or at the latest the following year.
The bit for me about Parker for me, is if HS is skipper next year, he has that immediate support of LP right there. If Parker gets the gig, then HS might not have the security of LP in 2027

Yeah maybe. Honestly, from the outside in too hard to know. If anyone has the credentials (since Carey) it is the kid who just slammed home the league record disposals in his 3rd year.

Who goes missing more out of:

Harry.
Larkey.
Xerri.

The answer should probably lie in the one that goes least during our period of development.

Yeah I’d love Larkey and he has exceptional leadership qualities that would match Xerri, but sadly, just can’t find consistency in his games when it comes to staying present or active for 4 quarters.

I listen to Harry on SEN every 2 weeks when he is on, and his mental health is something he talks about and works hard on.
He certainly doesn’t sound like the laid back no worries she’ll be right mate kind of fella. He openly admits that at times things have gotten to him and he’s had to find ways to work through them (looking at you Cornes you plonker).

Why take the risk of burning him in the captaincy role when we can have someone else handle it when we are still likely to be a basket case for a year or 2. His time will come.

Anyone who thinks Larkey should be captain are part of the problem. Whats he contribute on field from a leadership perspective? Running towards goal trying for easy over the tops all day? Flopping for free kicks at every contest instead or competing and bringing ball to ground? Whining to umpires instead of working his backside off? Pass. Give me a spell. The real on field leader is Xerri. They have been grooming Harry and if the players think hes ready would be all for it. If the players vote Larkey in as captain they have learnt nothing at all.
Preach 🙌🏼

Voted Toby Pink. For the brand.

But the real answer is Sheezel.

I simply don't agree with the "he's too young/not ready" brigade. He already acts like our defacto Captain anyway. He does all our media. He's the face of the club. He's our best player. He's our hardest trainer. He's a leader. He has the absolute respect of the older veterans and the younger kids alike. When new players are recruited to the club, he's the one that reaches out to them.

I knew last offseason that Sheezel was Captain-in-waiting after Parker/Darling/Daniel joined the club; Sheezel proactively sought them out and worked closely with them at the first few training sessions. Natural leadership shit that cannot be faked;

View attachment 2459533

Don't over-think it. Sheezel should be the guy.

You mount a solid case. I think Sheez would absolutely thrive with the extra responsibility too.

This is the right season for the captaincy to be vote for by the North Melbourne members of Big Footy...

Time for the Poll to be redone and then send the results to Clarko.. :grin:

Players voting doesn't work.
Coaches and Admin would stuff it up .
So BF members would be the best choice as everyone is unbiased and would do what would be best for the club. ;)

Forgot about this until giantroo posted it in another thread, but Pagan endorsed Sheezel a couple months back;

View attachment 2461206
He can lead as vice captain as well as he can as captain, without the pressure. Like it or not, the elevation to vice captain likely weighed on him early season. Let him lead from the side until he's leading from the front in all but title. He's still very young - do like he has Parker as a role model now though, couldn't be more perfect.

2026 Captain (poll)