Position 2026 Rucks

This is why there is inherent illogic in basing all future outcomes on past performances.

Just because he has never done it, doesn't mean that he won't ever do it.

I'd love for some podcaster to do a deep dive on Draper, his ruck share (Rucks named, Hitout Share, CBA%, etc.) during every single one of his games.

This goes against my earlier post, and the history of BRIS ruck setups

Remember Lincoln McCarthy ....had years of injury woes at GEEL, couldn't get on the ground .....moves to BRIS and he's cured

Maybe the warmer climate suits some players with soft tissue histories ???
His injury issues have been ACL and torn achilleas

McCarthy had hamstring issues completely different

He is in a third of teams not like he is a POD,

He has never in his 10 years shown he can put together consistent scoring over a whole season close to keeper status and will be splitting ruck duties again which will limit any extra scoring potential (he is also coming off a major injury)
Seems like the perfect guy to anti-POD to me.

Can easily trade him in later if needed.

This is why there is inherent illogic in basing all future outcomes on past performances.

Just because he has never done it, doesn't mean that he won't ever do it.

I'd love for some podcaster to do a deep dive on Draper, his ruck share (Rucks named, Hitout Share, CBA%, etc.) during every single one of his games.
Last year was a career low for % of ruck contests for him, so maybe he's better off sharing the role more. Also career highs in intercept marks, possessions and efficiency.

This is main reason I am going to fade Draper

Round 1 - Grundy
Round 2 - Bye
Round 3 - TDK/Marshall
Round 4 - Cameron
Round 5 - Xerri
Round 6 - Gawn

I can't see him doing enough against all those rucks. If he goes more than mid 70s i will be surprised over that run.

Sometimes you've just gotta trust your eye and my eye tells me Draper is shit.

POTY so far :cool:

Cheers Thumbs Up GIF by VadooTV

Sam Draper is 27. Has played one season of footy where he has played more than 16 games (22 games in 2022), has gone 100+ 14 times in his 77 game career and is coming off a ruptured achillies. What's the appeal there? He's not good at all.

Crazy to select a 27 year old who has 14 tons in his career and expect anything other than what he has already produced.

Sam Draper is 27. Has played one season of footy where he has played more than 16 games (22 games in 2022), has gone 100+ 14 times in his 77 game career and is coming off a ruptured achillies. What's the appeal there? He's not good at all.

Crazy to select a 27 year old who has 14 tons in his career and expect anything other than what he has already produced.
If he was sub 300k I would be all over him up forward but at 400k there is little to no value there

With the new rules meaning less stoppages, less throw ins and many rucks not making it to every contest it's pretty clear the rucks are over priced, only question is by how much. Value convention says pay less and trade into the big dogs but it's also the position where you can waste the most trades getting cute.

At this point think I'll likely just take the value hit and pay up for a couple of big dogs. X almost certainly and think a mobile ruck like English will benefit from the changes.

I would have thought a throw up with less contact would allow more clean hitouts from the leapers, even punching the ball fwd, anyway each to their own
Clean hitouts arent a thing anymore in AFL. Long gone are the days of Judd Cuzz or Kerr hitting it at full pace and running into F50.
Shuey used to do it with NicNat, Yeo a few times. Its pretty rare these days.

So unless the ruckman that can actually jump spikes the ball into space everytime which becomes a neutral ball again hes gonna hit to to a team mate then bang you tackle him, ball up, throw up where the non jumping ruckman can compete again.
Almost every game this season will feature a team with a ruck who cant jump.

Will be interesting to watch two things.
1. What happens.
2. How the cheating campaigners at Champion_Data score rucks this year.

Clean hitouts arent a thing anymore in AFL. Long gone are the days of Judd Cuzz or Kerr hitting it at full pace and running into F50.
Shuey used to do it with NicNat, Yeo a few times. Its pretty rare these days.

So unless the ruckman that can actually jump spikes the ball into space everytime which becomes a neutral ball again hes gonna hit to to a team mate then bang you tackle him, ball up, throw up where the non jumping ruckman can compete again.
Almost every game this season will feature a team with a ruck who cant jump.

Will be interesting to watch two things.
1. What happens.
2. How the cheating campaigners at Champion_Data score rucks this year.
Will be interesting to see what evolves. In the scenario above the last thing the leaping ruck will want is a secondary bounce so you would think they will want to create situations with the initial hitout where the ball is in open space but they have an advantage vis player blocks etc.

If he ends up averaging 95 as the number 1 ruck he ends up being a top 8 forward before DPP. He certainly started to show that output before his injury last season. Its worth the punt IMO

He will be splitting ruck duties and has never averaged over 75 in a full season where are the 20 extra ppg coming from?

I think there's more chance of me getting on an AFL list than Draper playing 22 games at 95.

He was splitting ruck duties at the start of last season. these are his 16 or so games in a shit team, thats more than acceptable for an F5 to F6 through the season if he can stay on the park 1769662193197.png

He was splitting ruck duties at the start of last season. these are his 16 or so games in a shit team, thats more than acceptable for an F5 to F6 through the season if he can stay on the parkView attachment 2517841
In the last 2 seasons he averages near on 84,

He has only played 21 out of a possible 44 games in that time as well

Couldn't possibly pick Draper as a ruck imo, he's at that awkward price where if things go south it's nearly impossible to single trade without getting caught taking another cheap ruck you have to upgrade.

So he has to pay his way as a fwd. At 396K and injury prone he's competing with the likes of Flanders at the same price and Treloar 80K cheaper for a spot who have a far superior SC pedigree. There's only so many of these types you can take whilst trying to fit in Pou, Marshall, Sheez etc. His body of work doesn't warrant a fwd spot at the price

Apart from not rating Draper (although i do admit IF he puts it all together AND finds consistancy he will be value, its a huge IF though), i think im done taking any risks with rucks. Im at the point where even if i see there is a player available who is basically guaranteed to make heaps of cash and score consistantly well, i will take a punt on someone with much less upside or certainty on another line.

I genuinely think there will be good cheap options at some point but im just not going there. Ill only think about it if there is a huge injury creating opportunity but even then i think id only be comfortable if i saw said backup score well for at least a month and by then they may no longer be value anyway.

Its just peace of mind at this point. Lock Gawn & Xerri in and pretend that the rules stipulate i cant use any trades on my rucks for the season.

Sounds like a great Forward option then.

Foxman98

Points will come from hitouts to advantage for brisbanes mids (far better then any he’s played with in the past)

And more goals resting forward due to playing for a team that kicks 350 goals a year and not 200
You can shift Draper FWD, or into the FLEX position once the Ruck haze sorts itself out