2026 Trade / FA Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Harry O

I would suggest Zak Butters is not worth that kind of price for where we are. We finally unearth some young players who look like they are up to the level and can be part of our team for the next 10 years... and we immediately look to ship them off (plus our current and future FR picks, plus one of the only speedy runners in our team)? I think that would be utterly ridiculous list management.
What about from Port's perspective. They can match and don't have to trade. Are you happy withMcCreery and 2 Collingwood firsts (one of them after a very likely improvement due to Butters addition). I think we'd need to crash and burn badly this year for it to be remotely close.

I have to disagree. Our flankers lack quality as do our KPP. Butters alone won't have that big of an impact. There's quite a few sides with 2 quality midfielders that haven't had much success. If we got Butters and King, I would definitely agree. I reckon we'll pick up a couple of lesser known players. If we give up steene then we're stuck with a flat footed Cameron and will get smashed in the middle anyway. Our draft picks alone won't be enough and we might have to give up 2 players like Steene and McCreery. That would leave us thin for depth. I want Butters but I doubt we're in the game.
I agree with all of that, except our flankers lacking quality - even after likely retirements.

We need a kpf and a couple stoppage mids to release Elliott and JDG but starting from defence: IQ, Maynard, Perryman, Houston, Josh Daicos, Crisp, McCreery, Hill, Elliott, JDG, Schultz. It's a very good group. And then Nick is so awesome that he plays stoppage and then becomes an additional elite flanker straight afterwards.

I quite Lippa too, but didn't mention him because most don't like him

Doesn’t Todd Marshall have serious concussion history? I thought the move to defender was to protect him. Care required.
He's never been very good any way. He's a tall who is no good in a contest.

It should go without saying that it's important not to jump at every media article coming out about Tassie targets, even if from generally reliable sources like Twomey.

The situation gives the Devils and player managers a massive amount of room to f*ck with every other club through the media.

In general terms though, I never thought there was any danger Daicos would leave for Tassie (that danger will come from elsewhere like Gold Coast). Tassie will have learned the Suns vs Giants build lessons, with the latter clearly the model that won the day. Maybe one 'name' signing aside, it's the McCreerys of the AFL world that will be their real targets.

It should go without saying that it's important not to jump at every media article coming out about Tassie targets, even if from generally reliable sources like Twomey.

The situation gives the Devils and player managers a massive amount of room to f*ck with every other club through the media.

In general terms though, I never thought there was any danger Daicos would leave for Tassie (that danger will come from elsewhere like Gold Coast). Tassie will have learned the Suns vs Giants build lessons, with the latter clearly the model that won the day. Maybe one 'name' signing aside, it's the McCreerys of the AFL world that will be their real targets.
I genuinely don’t think any other club can make Daicos a decent enough offer to leave. Gold Coast will have serious cap problems, they aren’t just going to have 2+ million layout around.

The only clubs that might are in the bottom 4

So if Beau takes up the Tassie offer what pick range could we expect as compensation?
Surely within the 1st round?

If we were compensated by the AFL with a Top 10 pick possibly Top 5 then letting McCreery go is an easy decision. Win-win scenario for all 3 parties.

Marshall last week against Hawthorn looked decent in defence as the intercept defender. His ability to hit the corridor kick was also good.

manicpie this is the why of needing to be giving what it takes to get a Butters. We could be stubborn cut our nose off to spite our face only to see McCreery, Steene or Anderson bugger off for crazy money then be at the whim of the AFL’s compensation.

I admire the emotional connection some build in such small time frames, but I promise you there are half a dozen Anderson/ Steene types out there every year. Currently the likes of Madden, Moyle and Marshall are extremely gettable you then have the likes of Bice, Trembath, Murdoch, McCarthy and Scerri gettable every year from state league footy. If you have Butters on the hook you just get it done.

FWIW that’s no chance of getting it done for McCreery to Tassie. In our pay structure end of next year he’s likely a 5 x $800-900k player because he’s likely getting an even bigger midfield role (I assume that we’re no chance to land Butters).

I genuinely don’t think any other club can make Daicos a decent enough offer to leave. Gold Coast will have serious cap problems, they aren’t just going to have 2+ million layout around.

The only clubs that might are in the bottom 4

The concern is not that he will be driven by money.

It's that if we can't offer him continued success, he might go looking for it.

The concern is not that he will be driven by money.

It's that if we can't offer him continued success, he might go looking for it.
It’s highly unlikely he’ll be able to get out until 2031 if it’s anyone bar Tassie. If he takes up FA in 2029 there’s about a zero % chance we don’t match doubly so if he’s taking huge unders to get to a winning team. Said winning team will then have the dual problem of needing to give up tremendous assets for us to then trade him. It’s not a scenario the Daicais will want to be in and he’ll be in the black and white for a while to come.

I admire the emotional connection some build in such small time frames, but I promise you there are half a dozen Anderson/ Steene types out there every year. Currently the likes of Madden, Moyle and Marshall are extremely gettable you then have the likes of Bice, Trembath, Murdoch, McCarthy and Scerri gettable every year from state league footy. If you have Butters on the hook you just get it done.
If you think there are half a dozen Steene's out there you've got rocks in your head. 😵‍💫

All of the following guys are better or project better than Steene and were available the last 12 months. We chased Reeves, Adelaide landed McAndrew, Nobel is on the comeback trail with little chance of getting ahead of Moyle if he sticks around, Conway is getting his body right away from being the next big thing, the three I named in the post you quoted and Condon is a much better prospect than Steene (if he turns his back on the NBA/ Europe). To be abundantly clear I’d prefer to keep Steene and not have to chase one of the above types, but in the context of trading in the 3rd best player in the game you have to do whatever it takes. In terms of rocks in heads I’d stick to fanboiing Hayes because you’ve got NFI when it comes to the wider league.

So if Beau takes up the Tassie offer what pick range could we expect as compensation?
Surely within the 1st round?

No compensation. We trade him for one of their picks. Aren't they getting 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and are forced to trade 5, 7, 11 and 13.

So if they want him badly enough, they can give us pick 3 or pick 5.

We might make out like a bandit on this one.

No compensation. We trade him for one of their picks. Aren't they getting 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13 and are forced to trade 5, 7, 11 and 13.

So if they want him badly enough, they can give us pick 3 or pick 5.

We might make out like a bandit on this one.
Tell us you didn’t read the article without telling us 😂

Any uncontracted player signed by the Devils in 27/28 is a FA.

Do we get an option to match the deal?

And if not, does that just mean the pick we get is band 1 (immediately following our first pick in the draft?)
No matching. Players OOC in 2027 will be effectively be UFA to tassie. You just get a compo pick.

IMO, this is why CFC need to go after Bailey, pay too much so Brisbane won't match.... Bailey is a 30 goal 20 possession Forward/Mid, a serious up grade on Beau. Keep first round pick and compensation for Beau and hit the Draft with two top 20 picks to rejuvenate the list.

Imagine somehow, we get Butters or King via free agency with a bid unmatched, meaning we keep our picks this year and next and then the afl hands us a top 10 pick for McCreery.

The comp will absolutely lose it!!!