• 3rd South Australia Team

Votes: 60 9.4%
  • 3rd Western Australia Team

Votes: 205 32.3%
  • Other

Votes: 29 4.6%

While another SA or WA team jumps straight out at me, will they consider a top-end team in the future? The worrying thought though is they might be happy with 18 teams and we could lose a club here in Melbourne to accommodate Tasmania and leave it at that? I think they would like to go to 20 teams, but where that extra team will be located is anyone's guess. Canberra isn't out of the equation and as much as it would be great to see a team from the Northern top end Canberra does have a population of 400k and 247km from Sydney. 3hrs by car and 4hrs by train. I'll go for them. I wouldn't expect a 20th team until the late 30s though.

you get the feeling that a 20th team might need to be a bit more financially self-sufficient, so presumably a 3rd SA/WA team would achieve that over a NT/Canberra team

It's just pure nonsense though. He cleared failed Year Three maths.

He wants to put 11 home games in Western Sydney and 11 in Canberra?

That means all 10 Victorian teams sell a game to Canberra. Where does the 11th come from? Does an SA/WA team give one up? It also means Sydney wouldn't get their home derby. He just spouts stuff while overlooking incredibly basic facts.

he said 11 games western Sydney and 11 in Canberra = 22 games plus away derby at SCG… it technically works

IMO 22 home games
is too much… and these teams need a game or two at Perth stadium, Adelaide oval and MCG each year before they potentially play elimination finals footy there

but say giving Giants and Suns 15-16 home games a year spread across their home grounds and different regions like Canberra, North QLD, Darwin etc …

some of those being away games that lower rung, less financially viable teams in Melbourne can sell… eg St Kilda vs Suns in Darwin or WB vs Giants in Canberra

It just makes more sense financially. And helps build the code in other regions of Australia that can’t sustain a team on their own

And before anyone says it’s unfair… teams like Collingwood, Richmond etc play 15-16 a year at the MCG by default 🤷‍♀️

You'll find WA have the most parochial supporters in the country, not just with WCE and Freo, but with WA supporters of other non WA teams that typically run in the family. Also most here who play the 'second team' card have already chosen freo as that team. I guarantee a third team here would fail.
What if you could roll up and pay $27 at the gate and sit in 75-% of teh stadium?

It's just pure nonsense though. He cleared failed Year Three maths.

He wants to put 11 home games in Western Sydney and 11 in Canberra?

That means all 10 Victorian teams sell a game to Canberra. Where does the 11th come from? Does an SA/WA team give one up? It also means Sydney wouldn't get their home derby. He just spouts stuff while overlooking incredibly basic facts.
I kinda get why he said it. At a first glance it kind of sounds like a good deal. One team, playing in two key growth markets is a win/win for the comp.

But for the club itself (plus all the others) it's shit and just doesn't work. Playing 11 at each means that those players get no exposure outside of NSW/ACT which is bad for the club and bad for the players. And then the logistics of it means that other clubs have to give up home games to make it work which again is just a no go.

The obvious ones are Canberra, Joondalup (associated with West Perth) and Norwood. I think Canberra will be the most likely, it won't really harm GWS all that much.

I do think eventually it'll be 24 teams with the 3 above, Cairns Crocodiles and NT Thunder.

When asked about whether we would go to 20 teams he said I think we will end up at an even number - 18 or 20. The league has seen expansion and contraction and that will play out.
I think there will be incentives put in place for a merger. GWS being the most likely target.

When asked about whether we would go to 20 teams he said I think we will end up at an even number - 18 or 20. The league has seen expansion and contraction and that will play out.
I think there will be incentives put in place for a merger. GWS being the most likely target.
Greater Western Straya?

NT have already put their hand up and their government is committed.

I can see the AFL doing something similar with what they're doing with Tassie re: Macquarie Point.

Although one way to make a team that will cater to more clubs would be to base it in Darwin but call it like Northern Thunder/Dingoes and have it cater to NT/FNQ/Northern WA/PNG/etc.

As for Canberra, I'd just move GWS to Canberra (they get a larger attendance there anyway).

I can't see WA fans jumping on a new team. You'd think they'd be more so committed to either Freo or Eagles at this point.

I would hate for GWS to merge with anyone. Whoever merges with them will in effect lose their own team ala. Fitzroy fans.

Just bring in Canberra (It's the ONLY location which I feel is a free hit and will succeed) and I feel that would also help GWS in the long term as those in Western Sydney would be more accepting, as for the last 10 years, they've had 1 foot out the door. Hard to support them under that circumstance.

I would hate for GWS to merge with anyone. Whoever merges with them will in effect lose their own team ala. Fitzroy fans.

Just bring in Canberra (It's the ONLY location which I feel is a free hit and will succeed) and I feel that would also help GWS in the long term as those in Western Sydney would be more accepting, as for the last 10 years, they've had 1 foot out the door. Hard to support them under that circumstance.
I think you would find that GWS would be the minor partner in any merger. They would be taken over - they have a lot less to lose than any Vic club. You would adopt the Vic club’s nickname, uniform, song, etc. Homebush Hawks, Western Sydney Bulldogs, North-West Sydney Kangaroos, Sydney Saints, etc.

Canberra makes the most sense. But that requires a conversation with the Giants who for some reason have moved out of Western Sydney into that market.

I'd love to see a team in rural Victoria. Reckon it could be amazing but probably not feasible.

Zero chance of a team in the NT. I can't believe there are so many who actually think it's a chance.

The obvious ones are Canberra, Joondalup (associated with West Perth) and Norwood. I think Canberra will be the most likely, it won't really harm GWS all that much.

I do think eventually it'll be 24 teams with the 3 above, Cairns Crocodiles and NT Thunder.

Populations :

Cairns - 161,391
Darwin - 150,041
Joondalup - 166,598
Canberra - 472,000

Anyone who thinks putting an AFL team into a small country town is going to work has rocks in their head, it'll be Canberra by the length of Flemington straight.

Just pair up all 10 Vic teams in a mega-merger and be done with it. 14 team comp, perfect!
Hawthorn Tigers - Yellow and Black vertical stripes
Melbourne Blues - Red yolk on Carlton jumper
Geelong Bulldogs - Add a red hoop to Cats jumper
Essendon Saints - Red centre on black tri-panel
Collingwood Kangaroos - middle blue stripe on Pies jumper

Populations :

Cairns - 161,391
Darwin - 150,041
Joondalup - 166,598
Canberra - 472,000

Anyone who thinks putting an AFL team into a small country town is going to work has rocks in their head, it'll be Canberra by the length of Flemington straight.
City of Wanneroo (151,000) and City of Stirling (220,000) which border the City of Joondalup don't need to be taken into account?

I think you would find that GWS would be the minor partner in any merger. They would be taken over - they have a lot less to lose than any Vic club. You would adopt the Vic club’s nickname, uniform, song, etc. Homebush Hawks, Western Sydney Bulldogs, North-West Sydney Kangaroos, Sydney Saints, etc.
Idc if there's a merger. My issue is I dont want it to be interstate teams coming together, learn from Brisbane/Fitzroy, as whoever leaves (most likely a Victorian team) leaves their supporters losing out.

I'm happy for Melbourne Kangaroos, St Kilda Bulldogs etc as at least their fans can still watch their team for all the home games and a fair chunk of away games. But the mergers with GWS? I admit, it helps them out drastically, but I feel it has more of a negative impact.

he said 11 games western Sydney and 11 in Canberra = 22 games plus away derby at SCG… it technically works

IMO 22 home games
is too much… and these teams need a game or two at Perth stadium, Adelaide oval and MCG each year before they potentially play elimination finals footy there

but say giving Giants and Suns 15-16 home games a year spread across their home grounds and different regions like Canberra, North QLD, Darwin etc …

some of those being away games that lower rung, less financially viable teams in Melbourne can sell… eg St Kilda vs Suns in Darwin or WB vs Giants in Canberra

It just makes more sense financially. And helps build the code in other regions of Australia that can’t sustain a team on their own

And before anyone says it’s unfair… teams like Collingwood, Richmond etc play 15-16 a year at the MCG by default 🤷‍♀️

Please ELI5, because I don't see how it technically works.

You only have 11 away games. If they're all in Canberra, one can't be the away derby in Sydney.

And are we assuming every Victorian club sells a game each to Canberra and the NT? Would Collingwood be willing to lose two home games?

And then after all ten Victorian clubs sell match, who sells the 11th? Port had a strict contract for 11 games at Adelaide Oval. I assume other WA/SA sides are similar.

Am I missing something that would make this magically work?

I feel of the options above, I'd go

1. Canberra
daylight
2. Cairns
3. Adelaide
4. Perth
daylight
5. Auckland
6. Darwin

Darwin is the sentimental favourite. But come on. The only positives in it is the PR.

Expansion 20th AFL team location