Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October

My issue is Thomas is an AFL footballer.
Which means like most of them he comes across as a total dickhead.
Genuine dumb ****.

What is so off putting about his behaviour is not only his attitude towards women and his conduct, but this campaigner has put everything in writing. He’s been caught out in 4K HD.
Imagine being that thick to leave a trail of abuse that will cost you your career.

So **** him

I can’t stand scumbags but the fact he is literally too stupid to avoid mistakes like this gives me the ick.

We are into our fourth year of a rebuild, 5 coaches, 2 wooden spoons and 13 and half wins later - I am done with being a basketcase.

No more mistakes. No more stuff ups.
No more bullshit.

We have lived through Boomers sacking, missing out on Martin and Kelly, Cam Joyce’s tenure as footy boss, signing Polec to a godfather offer, Scott destroying the joint before he departed, the Covid years, Shaw’s second year and exit, Ben Buckleys disaster and failure of a presidency, the hiring of Noble, the hiring of Roos, the failures they both were, the racism saga, JHF that piece of shit walking out on the club, being ****ed on by the AFL and Scott again with the priority picks and Clarko taking time away not once but twice in his first year.

Enough.
Train hard. Get competitive. Start winning games of footy.

I also want to know who the texts were sent to? They can’t be the complainant because the tone is that it’s directed at others and not the message recipient.

If these messages have been handed to the AFL from the complainant then they have received them from someone else.

The tone of those texts reads like a response to someone being told that certain individuals are out to get them.

Now should he have sent them….. no. But if the context is around these lines, how many people can put their hand up and say they haven’t reacted in a similar way when they have been told by a friend that someone is trying to * them over?

yeh hard to say, all speculation at this point, perhaps he is doing the rounds of a particular social group of which his ex is part of and has just left a trail of toxic shit amongst all of them, so its a 3/4/5 way shit fight. That scenario wouldn't be that uncommon.

I also want to know who the texts were sent to? They can’t be the complainant because the tone is that it’s directed at others and not the message recipient.

If these messages have been handed to the AFL from the complainant then they have received them from someone else.

The tone of those texts reads like a response to someone being told that certain individuals are out to get them.

Now should he have sent them….. no. But if the context is around these lines, how many people can put their hand up and say they haven’t reacted in a similar way when they have been told by a friend that someone is trying to * them over?
My money is a friend of the "victim" (the ex) hooked up with him, then riled him up over the ex via text. It would've been planned out to entrap him and his dumb ass fell for it because of his enormous ego.

On Pixel 6 using BigFooty.com mobile app

**** me, the term domestic violence has taken a new meaning over the last few years. If these types of childish text messages are considered domestic violence they I reckon we’ll run out of jail space very soon in this country.

No wonder this crap wasn’t reported to police in the first place.

Tarryn Thomas does have a pea brain, but this whole saga appears to be nothing more than a PR circus.

It will be either the Big 4 or one of their expansion darlings.

And we will have it shoved down our throats that their culture has helped him become a changed man.

Not convinced he gets another chance and even less convinced he becomes a changed man.

* me, the term domestic violence has taken a new meaning over the last few years. If these types of childish text messages are considered domestic violence they I reckon we’ll run out of jail space very soon in this country.

Tarryn Thomas does have a pea brain, but this whole saga appears to be nothing more than a PR circus.

Have to agree.

I have no issue with Thomas being kicked to the curb if they have solid evidence of domestic violence, but it sounds like this investigation is based on some nasty dumb shit sent via text by an immature moron, which most likely was sent to a third party based on the wording.

Context is always important, even with domestic violence and you can’t convince me otherwise.

My drugged up neighbours have been fighting for over 15 years. Countless occasions I’ve seen her hit and abuse the shit out of him, once just out of the blue while he’s sitting outside, and vice versa. Forget text messages, the language used during the shouting would make you want to go to church. Then the next day I see them cleaning the car together or coming back from the shops helping each other with groceries. The cops have come on two occasions (I found out the other neighbour phoned them). They both become saints when the cops show up. Inseparable these two. It’s all very sad and confusing. But I know it would be unfair for only one of them to punished for DV given the back and forth and what I’ve seen over the years.

I know ppl want DV to be black and white but it just isn’t.

Point being, at first (last year) I used to think Tarryn and his exs messages were the run of the mill back and forth between scorned lovers. I’m experienced enough to know that angry text messages after a break up is a common occurrence in every society. And before you get all perfect saint on me, even a judge looked at the messages between these two and decided yeah nah. $2k fine for someone earning $700k. Why? Bc the judge has context and knows it’s not clear cut.

But with this latest development, now hearing that he’s done it to multiple women! That’s a different story. That’s a shit bloke and an abuser. Sorry Tarryn, this is all you.

Bye bye gangster wannabe.

Reckon I'm the outlier here. It obviously depends on just how bad the accusation is, and whether the senior people at the club have had a gutful. If these aren't too extreme, I'd like to offer Tarryn one last chance at redemption, by offering a one year contract at minimum wage after he concludes his suspension. It would be an AFL lifeline and absolutely one last chance at a redemption arc for him.
What i find strange is that roughly 90% of people believe he cant play at our club but at another club, yep thats fine. For something done in his private life.
I dont understand why its acceptable for him to play elsewhere but not at North. Its like North is the only one being punished.

* me, the term domestic violence has taken a new meaning over the last few years. If these types of childish text messages are considered domestic violence they I reckon we’ll run out of jail space very soon in this country.

An old saying i was brought up with has completely change to -

Sticks and stones may break my bones but names will mortally wound me.

They will do anything to lay the boots into our club wont they 🤬
Healy and Dwayne Russell are equal grubs who can't help themselves. Can't stand the dribble that come out of their mouths and put the telly on mute when they commentate our games. Time for them to move on, yesterday's heroes.

How anyone has come to the conclusion that this one text that wasnt sent to the complainant MUST be the totality of the evidence, while in the SAME article it suggests behaviours of abuse, threats, stalking, isolation, etc, is beyond me.

What i find strange is that roughly 90% of people believe he cant play at our club but at another club, yep thats fine. For something done in his private life.
I dont understand why its acceptable for him to play elsewhere but not at North. Its like North is the only one being punished.
It's arguable the women involved have suffered more

Given how routinely police just straight up ignore reports of DV, no less are some of the biggest perpatrators of DV, you don't have to be too worried there.

My money is a friend of the "victim" (the ex) hooked up with him, then riled him up over the ex via text. It would've been planned out to entrap him and his dumb ass fell for it because of his enormous ego.

On Pixel 6 using BigFooty.com mobile app
I’ve been trying not to reply too much because I don’t want to get caught in arguments with people whose mind is clearly set, but **** me, the mental gymnastics to try and make this anyone but Thomas’ fault is revolting.

If only we could draft with hindsight. We'd have the greatest list ever assembled. From memory TT was picked earlier than expected and we were obliged to match the bid because we were never going to let him go elsewhere. Just a cheap point scoring exercise by Healy at our expense.
Exactly, it's also incorrect to imply that we could have had Butters if we chose not to match on TT and not trade out our first round pick. Our original first round pick ended up being pick 14, which was two picks after Butters was already gone. Pick 8 was only available to us from the moment Adelaide bid on TT and we chose to match, it was obviously never ours to take any other player still on the board.

Hindsight draft articles are bad enough at the best of times, but when they are kicking you for not selecting a player that wouldn't have even be available, it says more about the article's author than it does about any error made by the club!

Yes, the AFL now ensure we do not have access to a TT anyway.

As is stood, Adelaide bid on TT and picked up Chayce Jones instead.

There also doesn't seem to be a revisionist article on Bailey Smith now that his ego and ACL have derailed his 2023-2024.

GWS obviously get a pass, as Jye Caldwell was obviously a far more astute pick than Butters.

If you want to use hindsight, we should have picked up Quaynor.

Past #26: Tarryn Thomas [Part III] - [C.Twomey] AFL rules TT is eligible to play in all competitions as of 14 October