Player Watch #28 Josh Gibcus

would love the club to do a bit off an off season injury wrap up. with the year from hell we had on the injury front be good to hear some positives re recoverys etc.
If gibcus stays fit im strangely confident hell be an aa calibre backman. just has it.

would love the club to do a bit off an off season injury wrap up. with the year from hell we had on the injury front be good to hear some positives re recoverys etc.
If gibcus stays fit im strangely confident hell be an aa calibre backman. just has it.

Spot on mate a bit of communication on what’s happening with these players and what they’re doing to fix the high performance program.

Comms from the club has been pretty shit lately.

Isn’t it good to be having a footy discussion lads? This is what we should be doing. Loving this. Ideas and pov’s.

I just wish they would stop trying to turn him into a lock down KPD and let him play his natural role as 3rd tall intercept marker.

Still reckon Miller can do it well. Had a great first half of the year but faded.
yeah just when he won me over, he managed to lose me again and he has been in the system long enough not to have faded out like a young kid would.

That said, hard to know how much was his lack of ability v the poor team performances and lack of pressure on the ball carrier delivery to the oppo forwards.

yeah just when he won me over, he managed to lose me again and he has been in the system long enough not to have faded out like a young kid would.

That said, hard to know how much was his lack of ability v the poor team performances and lack of pressure on the ball carrier delivery to the oppo forwards.
by the end of the year he just seemed absolutely defeated. reckon its was a combo of no pressure up the field and no backline cohesion. Was absolutely rudderless back there. Was hoping hed stand up and lead a bit more.

big piece of the puzzle that will make up our team going forward.
Josh and Judson Clarke are the two players that will add to the talent pool we have amassed thanks to last year's draft..
we really have missed Gibcus over the last 2 seasons- the ultimate swing man is fingers crossed not to far away from a return.

I wonder if they have done any work on the way he jumps/lands. On the rare occassions I've seen him play it just looks like he's going to do a knee every time he lands. Dunno whether its because he gets so much height or whether he was too easily knocked off balance, or whether he was searching for the landing too much but it just looked like he was going to hyperextend after landing in marking contests.

Hopefully he hasn't lost his biggest asset.
His spring
& his confidence to jump like he did as a teenager.

Would be a terrible result for him and us if he can not return to 100% over the course of this year.
99% of the footy world have forgotten how good he looked and the potential he had.

fingers crossed....

If we can get him back with his athleticism and belief he's A grade. I'm really concerned that Gibcus is not going to be a player because of injury.

But if he is able to get genuinely fit and stay fit we've got an amazing backline. If he stays fit and in form we will almost certainly have to trade out one of he KPDs.

Player Watch #28 Josh Gibcus