• Thread starter Thread starter amer

I'm sure you'd remember this one

It absolutely had it all. Margin blew out in the end (as much as a 2 goal 4 point win is a blowout) but it was close all day. Plenty of goals, many of them freakish, outstanding accuracy, a huge hanger from Tippett, Knights bombing them from the center square, Watson was on fire in the first half, Edwards in the second half. Douglas kicked a goal that bent the wrong way and made no sense. Some pretty big hits. So many highlights from both sides. Possibly the most entertaining minor round game I've ever watched.

You're a Crows fan. Show them the the '97 grannie. Great game. Worth it for Jarman alone.

Avoid '98 as half of it is an absurd comedy of errors on the part of the Roos.

2009 GF.

I still recall the 'toe poke' making Sportscenter's 'top ten.'

Can't tell you what round it was, but Melbourne-Fremantle in 2008 - the massive comeback.

Hey champs, on the way to the states for presumably the first of many times to meet the in-laws, cousins, other american creatures. We've already bought a footy for my nieces and nephew, but my wife is bloody keen to show a couple of games to her dad and a few others, convert them to the definitive sport created by humans.

I've already locked in the Collingwood/Hawthorn prelim of 2011, but not sure what to select as my other. Will take a few if need be. Anyone keen to throw down any recommendations?

Dont forget you've got the entire 2012 season available on the AFL web site.

Oh, yeah, Melbourne v Richmond round 18 2009.

Maybe Americans can define tanking.

yeah that's a bit far back is 97 (it has been a while :(), want to show them something that more resembles the current game. it's also a balancing act because we don't want to "waste" too many brilliant games like the drawn GF before they understand what they're watching. But the emotion of footy is contagious to anyone, so something where even if the game is confusing you, it still feels exciting. It's why I've leaned towards finals as a start.

it's gotta be '97, dude. You'd get visibly exited and they'd feed off that.

My father-in-law(ish) usually busts out his old VHS of the game before the Crows play St Kilda.

It's got it all, though. Reasonably contested, team oriented game for most of the day, then a display of individual dominance to win it.

Other than that, the 2009 granny is a decent bet.

Definitely go a final rather than a minor round game, I reckon. Easily more passionate crowd.

2011 GF is a good one. Two hard teams, high skills, excitement and so on.
2012 GF for the same reasons.
2011 PF Collingwood V Hawthorn was a ripper too. Possibly the best game ever.

Several of the recent Hawthorn V Geelong games are crackers too. Tomahawk or Jimmy kicking the winning score after the siren especially.

The ANZAC day game 2012 was a good one too.

I personally wouldn't show one-sided games as they often don't showcase the physicality and toughness of the game well.

that's my 2 bobs worth

You already have the best game of football that I have ever seen in the Collingwood/Hawks 2011 Prelim. Be careful though cos if you show them that, just about every other game they see after might be a let down.

:eek: That game didn't even get going until the 3rd quarter. The Grand Final a week later was an infinitely better game. Not to mention the 2012 GF

Saints V Geelong in the 09 Grand Final. Definitely one of the best games of the modern era.

Any of the Hawthorn V Geelong games from 07 onwards.

The Anzac day match where Zaharakis kicked the winner was great. Also showcases two of the biggest teams in the leagues history.

Hate to say it but the Collingwood V Hawthorn 2011 Prelim was a fantastic game despite the eventual scoreline. Had everything.