A changed team for 2011

Back at training and already mention that L.Davis is training with the defenders....

So time for a bit of a 'left-field' team thread........ie some solid structural changes to our premiership team of 2010......I highly doubt we will go with the exact same structure in 2011.....so time to tinker with the squad.

B: Maxwell, N.Brown, L.Davis
HB: Toovey, Reid, H.Shaw
C: Thomas, Wellingham, HarryO
HF: Tarrant, Cloke, Dick
FF: Didak, Dawes, Sidebottom

Foll: Jolly, Pendles, Swan

Int: Ball, Krak, Goldsack

Sub: Beams

L.Brown, B.Johnson, Blair and Macaffer are the premiership players who have been replaced by Tarrant, Dick, Krak and L.Davis

L.Davis to be a sweeper down back...H.Shaw to be more negative if need be.

HarryO to push into the middle....if he builds up a tank he could do some serious damage running around the ground

Taz back to his 2003 AA HF position.....pushing high up the ground and getting it in quick to Dawes and Cloke who can both stay deeper.

Go strategic with the sub......sure it is a bit of a risk, but actually use the position strategically.....ie back ourselves in that a big wont go down.....and put another runner on the bench, a bloke like Beams could make an immediate impact coming on fresh for the last quarter.

Anybody else have any players who they reckon play 'out of position' in 2011??

Just keep Tarrant back for god sakes! We sent him away a struggling forward and he returns an accomplished backman - why tinker with things?

Left field, right? How about we go tall in the forward line - cloke, dawes, L. Brown, resting ruckman (Jolly and Wood) - and work on the old saying that players get tired, but the big men don't get any shorter. That is why they brought in the sub rule, isn't it? To bring more fatigue into the game...

Trouble is you go that tall in the forward line, we lose the speed to maintain the forward pressure thing..the cornerstone of our success.

Oppo run the ball out of defence much easier and get through the zone.

That saying has been around for a long time now ( 50 years plus?) I think the little guys are a lot fitter than before, stopped having a smoke at half time etc :)

Yes, i agree the sub rule was to slow the game down a bit, and to slightly negate the disadvantage of losing a player with injury.

Just keep Tarrant back for god sakes! We sent him away a struggling forward and he returns an accomplished backman - why tinker with things?

He wasn't really a struggling forward.....in his last season he av 7.5 marks and 1.8 goals per game.....ie that is 150 marks and 40 goals

Basically the same output as Cloke in 2010.

Play Taz up forward and we have 3 targets that could all get 40+ goals each.....that is crazy potent.

He wasn't really a struggling forward.....in his last season he av 7.5 marks and 1.8 goals per game.....ie that is 150 marks and 40 goals

Basically the same output as Cloke in 2010.

Play Taz up forward and we have 3 targets that could all get 40+ goals each.....that is crazy potent.

The only problem with that is that it may upset the structure and cohesion that Cloke and Dawes have going with each other. Might do wonders on the odd occasion when using Tarrant as a swing man ala Hunter from West Coast.

Or it may work!

Trying to speculate on a few left field moves that the coaches may make in 2011.

Someone called it in the other thread but one good time trial result and all of a sudden Harr O is the next Chris Judd! He is critical to the backline because of his versatility and is also a far more effective player with the game ahead of him. If he has a weakness it would be decision making in a traffic 360deg situation, so midfield wouldn't suit. Not saying he couldn't do it, just there are others far more adept. If anything, I think Shaw would be the one to be released up the ground.

What I think will happen is that Leon will be considered as an option for the impact/burst player as the 22nd man, which makes sense as this is his natural style anyway. However the need for this player to be able to play all over the ground in the case of injury etc. is why he is spending pre-season time aclimatising to defence, where he is least experienced.

I also doubt Tarrant will be a first choice forward, although he may be used as a swingman type at times, or if Cloke/Dawes get injured. Agree with other posters, he has reinvented himself as a consistent backman and is maybe still better equipped to handle the gun mobile power forwards (Franklin, Pavlich, Riewoldt etc.).

If Leon is played in the back 6/7 I'll eat my hat. He would not get a game ahead of Johnson as a defender.

Also, Macaffer is a lock if injury free for best 21.

Harry O in the centre/wing won't happen either. Just because they are fit, does not mean they all have to be midfielders. He is an AA defender and should stay there.

I was trying to get some discussion started on people's opinions on any players switching roles in 2011.

It seems everybody thinks that the roles played in 2010 will be the same in 2011...with the standard thing of young guys like Beams/Sidey to move into the midfield more.

Could Didak play as a permanent small forward....perhaps become a LeCras type who kicks more than 50 goals?

Could Maxwell move into the middle and become a lock down player?

Trying to think outside the square a bit...

I was trying to get some discussion started on people's opinions on any players switching roles in 2011.

It seems everybody thinks that the roles played in 2010 will be the same in 2011...with the standard thing of young guys like Beams/Sidey to move into the midfield more.

Could Didak play as a permanent small forward....perhaps become a LeCras type who kicks more than 50 goals?

Could Maxwell move into the middle and become a lock down player?

Trying to think outside the square a bit...

Think about our two mature age recruits - they weren't chased hard to play in the magoo's, they were chased hard to fit into the 22 which means someone has to go if they are fit and in form.

Yeah, and they may enable some players to play in a different position.

Hence my thread attempting to speculate on new roles.

Below is my changed team for 2011:

B: Maxwell, N.Brown, HarryO
C: Thomas, Wellingham, Beams
HF: Dick, Cloke, Pendles

Foll: Jolly, Swan, Ball
Int: Goldsack, Krak, L.Brown

Sub: Tarrant

IMO I think pendles will send more time in the foward time this year, with beams, dick and Sidebottom spending more time in the midfield. Think davis will struggle to make into the team this season. I have leigh brown in the side for versality for his spare parts role, so Jolly can spend more time in the goal square. Just more thoughts, appreicate constructive comments.

B: Maxwell, N.Brown, HarryO
C: Thomas, Wellingham, Beams
HF: Dick, Cloke, Pendles

Int: Goldsack, Krak, L.Brown

Sub: Tarrant

IMO I think pendles will send more time in the foward time this year, with beams, dick and Sidebottom spending more time in the midfield. Think davis will struggle to make into the team this season. I have leigh brown in the side for versality for his spare parts role, so Jolly can spend more time in the goal square. Just more thoughts, appreicate constructive comments.
I would hate to see Pendles played in the forward line. Malthouse tried that last year when he played Ball and O'bree together and Pendles was just a wasted player. He plays his best football and makes the biggest impact for the team playing on the ball, plus he does it better than just about any other player in the team. I wouldn't say his goal kicking from set shots is the best either.

If Leon is played in the back 6/7 I'll eat my hat. He would not get a game ahead of Johnson as a defender.

Also, Macaffer is a lock if injury free for best 21.

Harry O in the centre/wing won't happen either. Just because they are fit, does not mean they all have to be midfielders. He is an AA defender and should stay there.
All of that

Play taz as a goldsack 2010 type swingman.

No need to reinvent the wheel and tear shit out of your ass

I think there is a chance that Krakouer may oust Johnson from the team and play that linking midfield role between the defensive and forward arches.

There is always the chance that Wood could replace Brown and take on more ruck duties pushing Jolly forward.

I see Tarrant as a seventh defender in place of Goldsack.

Beams may see more midfield time this year if Dick gets back into the side.

Surprised to see Brad Dick in both teams...I remember many games (especially a final against geelong ) where opposition played through Brad because they only had to look at him and he would fall over...maybe he has put on heaps of weight...let's hope so...if he kicks 3 but opposition kick 7 by playing through him I still can't see the plus.

I realise that Mick has stated Brad is a favourite player... however I believe that he woke up last year that premierships are more important than playing favourite players (Leon).

B: Maxwell, N.Brown, Toovey
HB: Harry O, Reid, H.Shaw
C: Thomas, Pendles, Wellingham
HF: Beams, Cloke, Krakouer

Int: Tarrant, Dick, L.Brown

Sub: Johnson

Surprised to see Brad Dick in both teams...I remember many games (especially a final against geelong ) where opposition played through Brad because they only had to look at him and he would fall over...maybe he has put on heaps of weight...let's hope so...if he kicks 3 but opposition kick 7 by playing through him I still can't see the plus.

I realise that Mick has stated Brad is a favourite player... however I believe that he woke up last year that premierships are more important than playing favourite players (Leon).
I'm not sure what you're on about with Brad Dick. He not only kicks goals he also creates them. He has a great kick on him and his vision is very good. His running and tackling is fantastic, he puts plenty of pressure on the ball carrier of the opposition teams. Just look at the draw we had against Melbourne. We kicked like crap and he kicked 4.1 and had 8 tackles (the second highest from all 44 players).

I'm not sure what you're on about with Brad Dick.. Just look at the draw we had against Melbourne.

Sorry mate...not interested about Melbourne,West Coast,Brisbane etc

Only interested in premierships...St Kilda, Geelong, Bulldogs, Hawthorn (2011) is what matters

Some of the sides you've named there are not premiership contenders in 2011.
Brad Dick is a gun and has proven it many times.
You don't care about Melbourne, they were the only team that had a game plan that worked pretty well against us in 2010!

I'm not sure what you're on about with Brad Dick.. Just look at the draw we had against Melbourne.

A bit hard to play those teams when he's having shoulder or knee surgery. The guy has played the equivalent of 1 season and you're having a go at how he's played in 4 games or so and ignoring the other 20. All I can say is I'm happy you've got nothing to do with how the club is run!

Maxwell was quoted as saying that there will be minor adjustments to the gameplan for 2011 - which I took to mean that we'll see more of the same from Collingwood with tweaks which I assume would be in consideration of the sub-rule and reduced rotations.

With discussions like these, I tend to look at what opposition sides might come up with. I found it interesting that Malthouse, after the grand final, said that two years ago they started to implement this game plan with the specific purpose of beating Geelong. To paraphrase what he said, if we beat Geelong, we'd beat anybody. It took two years for that game plan to bare fruit. So I'm inclined to think that we (hopefully) have a two year head start on other teams, before they finally figure out how to match or defeat our frontal pressure play. By then, of course, Buckley would have taken the reins at Collingwood and a whole new process of ideas and approaches will have been instigated.

I'd be curious to know if the Collingwood coaching panel know how they would defeat their own game plan.