A Third Team In Sydney - It's Only a Matter Of Time !!

Zero fans ?

Year
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
272146​
11​
24741​
323139​
11​
29376​
595285​
22​
27058​
67512​
2​
33756​
202462​
11​
18406​
273762​
11​
24887​
476224​
22​
21647​
181007​
11​
16455​
300831​
11​
27348​
481838​
22​
21902​
187816​
11​
17074​
313238​
11​
28476​
501054​
22​
22775​
206911​
11​
18810​
260449​
11​
23677​
467360​
22​
21244​
217178​
11​
19743​
253265​
11​
23024​
470443​
22​
21384​
231909​
11​
21083​
272084​
11​
24735​
503993​
22​
22909​
223781​
11​
20344​
290599​
11​
26418​
514380​
22​
23381​
225078​
11​
20462​
329102​
11​
29918​
554180​
22​
25190​
329264​
11​
29933​
310318​
11​
28211​
639582​
22​
29072​
320896​
11​
29172​
321413​
11​
29219​
642309​
22​
29196​
79732​
2​
39866​

It's not the amount, it's the type of fan. Rusted on vs footy is a passing interest and I'll give it a miss when things aren't so good.

Prove to us all that the bulk of fans in those areas ARE rusted on fans like those in heartland.

We both know that’s not what I was saying. I was just saying that the non heartland clubs supporters are not really any different to heartland clubs when it comes to “rusted on” or “bandwagon” types. Those stats I posted pretty much highlight that.

Nice job trying to build a straw man but.

From that article:

Brisbane — despite their extreme success in the early part of this century and the fact that a Victorian club merged with them (Fitzroy Lions) — have the third lowest attendances. Only recent expansion teams GWS and Gold Coast have lower attendances. The north-east states are clearly a problem for the league.

Need I say more, the north east states are not footy heartland. That's the drive of having clubs there, in the hope that one day those areas will be heartland and overtake rl. That is the clear intention of HQ.

Now tell me again we are at the right time to have this discussion.

From that article:

Brisbane — despite their extreme success in the early part of this century and the fact that a Victorian club merged with them (Fitzroy Lions) — have the third lowest attendances. Only recent expansion teams GWS and Gold Coast have lower attendances. The north-east states are clearly a problem for the league.

Need I say more, the north east states are not footy heartland. That's the drive of having clubs there, in the hope that one day those areas will be heartland and overtake rl. That is the clear intention of HQ.

Now tell me again we are at the right time to have this discussion.
Haha keep building that straw man mate, that has nothing to do with what we were talking about. You were making out that heartland supporters are more loyal and I imagine eluding to them being true supporters yet the stats just don’t back that up, hence why I said you were going off a gut feel.

Strawman? IF those states were heartland then the comp now wouldn't be vic centric. The viability of teams like north and saints would be in serious jeopardy and they'd likely be gone. But they aren't are they.

Another thing that article does not take into consideration is tv ratings - another discussion altogether.

Agree to disagree, you think there's enough sustainable fan base to put another team in syd - I don't, not yet anyway. I'd go Tas before a club from anywhere else based on the immediate and sustainable fan base.

That's what we're talking about right? a 3rd syd club but no noise from HQ.

The whole thread is based on a news article around school gr roots footy about supplying goal posts to schools, not a 3rd syd team.

Strawman? IF those states were heartland then the comp now wouldn't be vic centric. The viability of teams like north and saints would be in serious jeopardy and they'd likely be gone. But they aren't are they.

Another thing that article does not take into consideration is tv ratings - another discussion altogether.

Agree to disagree, you think there's enough sustainable fan base to put another team in syd - I don't, not yet anyway. I'd go Tas before a club from anywhere else based on the immediate and sustainable fan base.

That's what we're talking about right? a 3rd syd club but no noise from HQ.

The whole thread is based on a news article around school gr roots footy about supplying goal posts to schools, not a 3rd syd team.
Again that has nothing to do with what I was saying.

Prove to us all that the bulk of fans in those areas ARE rusted on fans like those in heartland.

Totals616533425324369713809725328214133034315062629111249432348911
Year
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
272146​
11​
24741​
323139​
11​
29376​
595285​
22​
27058​
67512​
2​
33756​
202462​
11​
18406​
273762​
11​
24887​
476224​
22​
21647​
181007​
11​
16455​
300831​
11​
27348​
481838​
22​
21902​
187816​
11​
17074​
313238​
11​
28476​
501054​
22​
22775​
206911​
11​
18810​
260449​
11​
23677​
467360​
22​
21244​
217178​
11​
19743​
253265​
11​
23024​
470443​
22​
21384​
231909​
11​
21083​
272084​
11​
24735​
503993​
22​
22909​
223781​
11​
20344​
290599​
11​
26418​
514380​
22​
23381​
225078​
11​
20462​
329102​
11​
29918​
554180​
22​
25190​
329264​
11​
29933​
310318​
11​
28211​
639582​
22​
29072​
320896​
11​
29172​
321413​
11​
29219​
642309​
22​
29196​
79732​
2​
39866​
309405​
11​
28128​
314827​
11​
28621​
624232​
22​
28374​
317325​
11​
28848​
348005​
11​
31637​
665330​
22​
30242​
314929​
11​
28630​
334532​
11​
30412​
649461​
22​
29521​
365934​
11​
33267​
412705​
11​
37519​
778639​
22​
35393​
369811​
11​
33619​
380350​
11​
34577​
750161​
22​
34098​
167021​
3​
55674​
348892​
11​
31717​
342033​
11​
31094​
690925​
22​
31406​
248994​
4​
62249​
295840​
11​
26895​
371339​
11​
33758​
667179​
22​
30326​
156718​
3​
52239​
304014​
11​
27638​
282926​
11​
25721​
586940​
22​
26679​
160894​
3​
53631​
301470​
11​
27406​
262503​
11​
23864​
563973​
22​
25635​
82849​
2​
41425​
240791​
11​
21890​
288328​
11​
26212​
529119​
22​
24051​
111188​
3​
37063​
183424​
11​
16675​
254672​
11​
23152​
438096​
22​
19913​
215051​
11​
19550​
297677​
11​
27062​
512728​
22​
23306​
50035​
1​
50035​

Year
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
272146​
11​
24741​
323139​
11​
29376​
595285​
22​
27058​
67512​
2​
33756​
202462​
11​
18406​
273762​
11​
24887​
476224​
22​
21647​
181007​
11​
16455​
300831​
11​
27348​
481838​
22​
21902​
187816​
11​
17074​
313238​
11​
28476​
501054​
22​
22775​
206911​
11​
18810​
260449​
11​
23677​
467360​
22​
21244​
217178​
11​
19743​
253265​
11​
23024​
470443​
22​
21384​
231909​
11​
21083​
272084​
11​
24735​
503993​
22​
22909​
223781​
11​
20344​
290599​
11​
26418​
514380​
22​
23381​
225078​
11​
20462​
329102​
11​
29918​
554180​
22​
25190​
329264​
11​
29933​
310318​
11​
28211​
639582​
22​
29072​
320896​
11​
29172​
321413​
11​
29219​
642309​
22​
29196​
79732​
2​
39866​
309405​
11​
28128​
314827​
11​
28621​
624232​
22​
28374​
317325​
11​
28848​
348005​
11​
31637​
665330​
22​
30242​
314929​
11​
28630​
334532​
11​
30412​
649461​
22​
29521​
365934​
11​
33267​
412705​
11​
37519​
778639​
22​
35393​
369811​
11​
33619​
380350​
11​
34577​
750161​
22​
34098​
167021​
3​
55674​
348892​
11​
31717​
342033​
11​
31094​
690925​
22​
31406​
248994​
4​
62249​
295840​
11​
26895​
371339​
11​
33758​
667179​
22​
30326​
156718​
3​
52239​
304014​
11​
27638​
282926​
11​
25721​
586940​
22​
26679​
160894​
3​
53631​
301470​
11​
27406​
262503​
11​
23864​
563973​
22​
25635​
82849​
2​
41425​
240791​
11​
21890​
288328​
11​
26212​
529119​
22​
24051​
111188​
3​
37063​
183424​
11​
16675​
254672​
11​
23152​
438096​
22​
19913​
215051​
11​
19550​
297677​
11​
27062​
512728​
22​
23306​
50035​
1​
50035​

Lions went bust & were bailed out by league

it's not the number 1 sport'.

Your whole argument seems to revolve around the premise that a sport cannot be something unless it's number one.
I'd take a leap of faith anytime that people would find that reasoning totally illogical.
Your idea of "rusted on fans" applies equally to all sports.
I could give a long list of failed teams in supposed heartlands.
I could give a list of failed sports in supposed heartlands.
I could give a list of teams and sports that successfully ventured into supposed heartlands.

It's not the amount, it's the type of fan. Rusted on vs footy is a passing interest and I'll give it a miss when things aren't so good.

Been here since day dot getting called fake, plastic, a robot, and that im paid by the AFL (I wish) while we were being flogged almost every week by 100 and I'm still here

Last year for the grand final it took over 20hrs to get to the ground and it involved buses, cars and a train, also did it the year before for the Pies final (2 times using the bus, 2 times we lost finals. Im taking a plane next time).

If that isn't rusted on I don't know what is.

If you read Pippen's post in the cricket forums it's clear he is a young child, don't worry too much

I wonder if he can pick the extremely worrying trend in these statistics? Hint. it's in the colours.

Season Season Average
ADLBRICCMGCUMCYMVCNEWNZNQPGSFCWPWSWTotal
2005–0610,94814,7857,89916,1679,0223,9099,73416,66910,956
2006–0712,16516,4659,82827,72812,5733,0117,58915,55512,911
2007–0812,69716,95112,73826,06413,2097,59616,96311,68314,610
2008–0911,71312,99510,46524,5169,7297,94212,3757,19312,180
2009–1010,7658,6657,3885,29720,7506,3586,7239,20513,6778,9669,793
2010–1111,5529,2918,1683,4198,31218,4588,4294,2458,4888,0147,8298,429
2011–128,82913,3879,5053,4389,08220,71412,1178,97211,8618,69110,497
2012–139,79313,8579,9948,86021,88513,3898,87618,7376,87712,46612,347
2013–1411,22514,9579,3989,93321,80811,9499,41818,6828,20114,86013,041
2014–1512,63711,6607,58510,37425,3888,9689,54217,3788,58312,52012,511
2015–1611,28712,8508,11111,04723,1129,5868,98616,6378,04214,29712,326
2016–179,56513,8927,39510,59322,0088,64510,53316,0016,21117,74612,294
2017–189,8309,0937,1949,86817,63111,0169,18614,5935,69411,92410,671
2018–199,0319,6325,5628,13520,6049,07910,36013,5668,5339,19110,411
Green and red background denote club's highest and lowest A-League season attendances respectively.[2]

Been here since day dot getting called fake, plastic, a robot, and that im paid by the AFL (I wish) while we were being flogged almost every week by 100 and I'm still here

Last year for the grand final it took over 20hrs to get to the ground and it involved buses, cars and a train, also did it the year before for the Pies final (2 times using the bus, 2 times we lost finals. Im taking a plane next time).

The funny thing is we are probably only 4-5 years away from the first lot of 2nd generation life long GC, GWS supporters being born.

Brett Godfrey, co-founder of Virgin Airlines Australia, & Chairman of the Tas. Bid to become the 19th team, has given a major back-handed compliment to the creation of GWS. Formerly, the Tas. govt. & many supporters of a Tas. AFL team have been very critical of GWS & GC being granted entry to the AFL, instead of Tas.
In this link, however, they are conceding how expansion has driven the GR AF boom in Sydney's WS & ACT (& throughout all NSW)

Godfrey said, re Tas. entering the AFL

" It will allow them (Tassie kids- my words) to see and engage with their local heroes, and as demonstrated with the expansion teams, participation (my emphasis) will rise".

Tasmania is wise to formally recognise & proclaim the creation & success of GWS in promoting the strong growth of AF.
Tas. is extolling the same model: having a local AFL team strongly turbocharges local AF growth!

Year
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
GM
Ave.
272146​
11​
24741​
323139​
11​
29376​
595285​
22​
27058​
67512​
2​
33756​
202462​
11​
18406​
273762​
11​
24887​
476224​
22​
21647​
181007​
11​
16455​
300831​
11​
27348​
481838​
22​
21902​
187816​
11​
17074​
313238​
11​
28476​
501054​
22​
22775​
206911​
11​
18810​
260449​
11​
23677​
467360​
22​
21244​
217178​
11​
19743​
253265​
11​
23024​
470443​
22​
21384​
231909​
11​
21083​
272084​
11​
24735​
503993​
22​
22909​
223781​
11​
20344​
290599​
11​
26418​
514380​
22​
23381​
225078​
11​
20462​
329102​
11​
29918​
554180​
22​
25190​
329264​
11​
29933​
310318​
11​
28211​
639582​
22​
29072​
320896​
11​
29172​
321413​
11​
29219​
642309​
22​
29196​
79732​
2​
39866​
309405​
11​
28128​
314827​
11​
28621​
624232​
22​
28374​
317325​
11​
28848​
348005​
11​
31637​
665330​
22​
30242​
314929​
11​
28630​
334532​
11​
30412​
649461​
22​
29521​
365934​
11​
33267​
412705​
11​
37519​
778639​
22​
35393​
369811​
11​
33619​
380350​
11​
34577​
750161​
22​
34098​
167021​
3​
55674​
348892​
11​
31717​
342033​
11​
31094​
690925​
22​
31406​
248994​
4​
62249​
295840​
11​
26895​
371339​
11​
33758​
667179​
22​
30326​
156718​
3​
52239​
304014​
11​
27638​
282926​
11​
25721​
586940​
22​
26679​
160894​
3​
53631​
301470​
11​
27406​
262503​
11​
23864​
563973​
22​
25635​
82849​
2​
41425​
240791​
11​
21890​
288328​
11​
26212​
529119​
22​
24051​
111188​
3​
37063​
183424​
11​
16675​
254672​
11​
23152​
438096​
22​
19913​
215051​
11​
19550​
297677​
11​
27062​
512728​
22​
23306​
50035​
1​
50035​

How predictable, 'derp but look at numvers'

How many storm members are there? How many of them are more invested in an AFL team?

I don't know, but by your logic they are in Aussie Rules heartland, that's number one top of tree so they cannot in any way be "rusted on".
By your logic they not rusted on so they must be bandwagon members who'll jump off at the first downturn.

Your whole argument seems to revolve around the premise that a sport cannot be something unless it's number one

Never said that, your simplistic thinking is showing. My premise is that right now it's not viable to have a 3rd syd team let alone discuss it.

GWS and GC are proof that it's likely that HQ would likely have to hold this clubs head above water for generation(s) until there's sustainable fan base to make it viable on its own two feet.

Yeah that's YOU, how many rusted on types are there like YOU? Is it the whole giants fan base? Yeah nah.

It's fair speculation you're very much in the minority.

In any case it's highly likely a 3rd team in syd is not viable right now and may not be for a generation, two or maybe never.

I don't know, but by your logic they are in Aussie Rules heartland, that's number one top of tree so they cannot in any way be "rusted on".
By your logic they not rusted on so they must be bandwagon members who'll jump off at the first downturn.

Bris numbers dropped significantly, Syd will do the same if they sustain low on field performance, GC and GWS I don't even need to mention.

Being relevant to the thread, it is what it is. We're talking about rl heartland if it wasn't it wouldn't be an issue but it is what it is.

Just so everyone is clear I have zero issue with growing the game in rl heartland. All I'm saying is that it is not viable - yet - may never be who knows but it's at least a generation away for viability.

GC and GWS are good examples of why HQ are not talking about a 3rd team, there's not enough capital to go down the same path as the two latest clubs.

This is not having a go, so don't take offence. I'm merely stating the reality of the situation.

I get why HQ are pulling out all stops in states north of the murray, it's foreign and what to grow the game. Hell I WANT THAT! but this is not an overnight flick the switch job.

It's decades and generations to have the same landscape as the rest of the country.

Remember the whole premise of the thread is on the back of an article about jr school programs in nsw putting up goal posts. The AFL have near zero to do with it by the way apart from some positive commentary from some officer in the ranks at HQ - nothing more.

Yeah that's YOU, how many rusted on types are there like YOU? Is it the whole giants fan base? Yeah nah.

It's fair speculation you're very much in the minority.

In any case it's highly likely a 3rd team in syd is not viable right now and may not be for a generation, two or maybe never.

Wait your original post wasn’t about numbers but that there was no rusted on types. Your words, in fact you bolded the part saying it wasn’t about numbers.

There’s a few of us on The Giants board that have held out, and the fb page. We are growing and growing well.

Agree definitely that there won’t be a 3rd team for some time.

Wait your original post wasn’t about numbers but that there was no rusted on types. Your words, in fact you bolded the part saying it wasn’t about numbers.

There’s a few of us on The Giants board that have held out, and the fb page. We are growing and growing well.

Agree definitely that there won’t be a 3rd team for some time.

Read post 1698.