Academy Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter irel

Academy players named among the bests (by the Lions Academy...):
Liam Dawson, Matt Hammelmann, Darcy Cameron- Reeves, Liam Moseley

Quick google search reveals not all that much:

Liam Dawson - 187cm 79kg. Was the player of the state carnival this year. Has been in the State teams for years. Looks like a dedicated kid who does not mind a speccie. Mature body already.

Matt Hammelmann - 194cm 77 kgs. KPF by the looks of it.

Darcy Cameron-Reeves - 177cm 72 kgs onballer who can kick a goal. Churchie boy who was the BOG in the Dunstall Cup win.

Liam Moseley - 176cm 69kgs is another onballer who doesn't mind a goal. Formerly from the NT.

how many of these academy kids could we realisitically expect to play/be drafted to the lions.

Liam Dawson - 187cm 79kg. Was the player of the state carnival this year. Has been in the State teams for years. Looks like a dedicated kid who does not mind a speccie. Mature body already.

Not wrong there!:

http://www.redcliffetigers.com.au/liam-dawson-great-to-see-you-back-dawso

http://www.redcliffetigers.com.au/dawso-head-to-nab-afl-national-u16-s-championships

He and Dickfos seem to regularly kick bags between 'em for Redcliffe.

NEAFL Rd 15 write-up

Diminutive Lions Academy teenager Bill Pendlebury made a dream return to the Brisbane Lions Reserves side in an SCG win over the Sydney Swans Reserves on Saturday which has gone a long way to ensuring the 2011 NEAFL Northern Conference wooden-spooners win the 2011 minor premiership.
Pendlebury kicked two critical final quarter goals as the Lions came from behind in the final stanza to win 17-20 (122) to 16-7 (103) against the side which had gone into Round 15 on top of the Eastern Conference ladder.
He led nicely, accepted a bullet-like pass from skipper James Hawksley and converted beautifully from 45m near the boundary line to take back the lead after the Swans had grabbed it with the first goal of the final stanza.
And at the 27-minute mark be crumbed one nicely and, in a game in which Brisbane had missed a lot of relatively easy shots, he snapped truly from 40m to clinch it.

It has been very common over the last couple of years for guys to come from outside the initial squad for the back half of the champs. Admittedly that might have been because we have done appallingly most years. Hopefully the coaching staff this year is a step up. A bit of continuity in selection would help the players.

I agree that Conway, Rutledge and Tickner are the guys we are most likely to see.

From outside the 30 man squad the guy I think might get a look in later is perhaps Jackson Gray. I think they might be keen to give the big skinny ruck a game or two.

I played with sac at the carnival, I hope he doesn't see this but the most selfish, arrogant person you'll ever meet.

BL3 from the inside who are the academy guys we should be getting most excited about?

Out of the guys mentioned, Conway will be picked up, I've played with him and against him and he just ran rings around me, he actually runs marathon's and cross countries' for fun, the guy's a freak but he is a mad collingwood supporter, he would do anything to get there.

Cain, will probably be rookied, a lot of potential and upside but he's just too nice of a person to be an aggressive KPP, I mean in a game he'd probably apologise to the person he knocked over and coaches don't want that.

I actually went to school with Gribble at Kedron High, I literally saw him every day and if any of you have seen him, he's tiny literally I'm 6'2 and I'm a head above him, he'd be no more than 175 and I know that everyone wants to hear another feel good Dayne Zorko story, but the fact is that Zorko has a league player's body, a really strong core that allows him to play above his height, Sam does not. He told everyone that Voss has already promised him that the Lions would take him even when he was 16, I called bullshit, but he seems pretty set on that story, read into that what you will.

In terms of the carnival, Dom Barry was an absolute star, really talented player, Adelaide and Brisbane have apparently already had interviews with him and Adelaide are still very keen from what he says.

Conway is also dating Gribble's sister, things have turned sour between them and now they don't speak. If gribble's story is correct, Brisbane won't even look at Conway, there's no way they would want to be at the same club together.

Thanks BL3

Plenty of teammates don't get on. If the Lions think both of them are worth getting picked I am sure they will pick them even if there is anomosity between them.

Conway certainly has looked the pick so far. Hopefully he continues to improve. He could be a very good player if he realises he is not there yet. We could definately use another inside player if he can step up.

Tickner made a few thumping tackles in teh games I saw this year and I didn't think, from the outside that he lacked aggression. He does need to learn how to best use what he has though and lead better. I still think he would be a better CHB but when he does get the ball up forward I do like his kicking for goal (despite missing a shocker in the second game).

Gribble is listed at 179 which is not too bad. Remains to be seen if he measures that though. He was okay as a bottom aged player this year I thought but I would want to see a fair bit of improvement between now and next year if we were going to pick him. Mostly outside he needs to hit his targets better.

On Barry it will be interesting to see what GWS do with the NT boys. They get first crack at him but if he gets through I would think a few are going to be interested. He has nice skills from what little I have seen of him.

I thought Dickfos was also in the Academy? Match details :

Queensland 4.5 5.11 11.17 14.22 (106)
Tasmania 0.2 1.2 2.3 6.3 (39)

GOALS
Queensland: Trask 4, Dickfos 3, Hammelmann 3, Tomsana, O'Donnell, Winton, Weller
Tasmania: Young 2, Hislop, B.Lee, Reissig, Fox

BEST
Queensland: Weller, Agita, Jackson, Cameron-Reeves, Dawson, Haberfield, Trask
Tasmania: A.Lee, Hibberd, Pearce, Mullins, Hislop

I thought Dickfos was also in the Academy? Match details :

Queensland 4.5 5.11 11.17 14.22 (106)
Tasmania 0.2 1.2 2.3 6.3 (39)

GOALS
Queensland: Trask 4, Dickfos 3, Hammelmann 3, Tomsana, O'Donnell, Winton, Weller
Tasmania: Young 2, Hislop, B.Lee, Reissig, Fox

BEST
Queensland: Weller, Agita, Jackson, Cameron-Reeves, Dawson, Haberfield, Trask
Tasmania: A.Lee, Hibberd, Pearce, Mullins, Hislop

He is. There are a couple of discrepancies between the those bests and the ones above. I also wouldn't mind betting the Jackson mentioned in the bests is Jackson Dickfos as there was no Jackson in the initial squad.

I know that players don't get on, McLeod-Edwards for example but at least they were mature about it, Conway and Gribble don't want to be in the same room together and have had to be physically seperated.

Cain is very much like another QLD'er from a few years back in David Hill, a young ruckman who actually got the chance to go to the AIS academy. Was on North's lips for a while and then fell away due to a lack of aggression. Beautiful shot and as I said will probably be rookied.

Gribble as I said it's a size issue, I'm finished school now, so I haven't seen too much of him lately but 179 sounds about 5 cm too big, it's also a lack of strength he'd have to have at least 2 or 3 pre-seasons before he could be considered and that's not what your after from a midfielder.

Barry is easily the best player I have played against, I really rate him. I watched whitfield play down in Melbourne and Barry compares. GWS will take him but surely he'll go somewhere else from there.

Oh and the academy thing, it's not like father-son it's more like playing for a team's feeder club, they get to see you train and play whenever they want, you get a real feel for the club so the transition is easier.

That makes sense. I'm guessing the "extended AFL Club agreement" that Cain signed (http://www.lions.com.au/tabid/5085/default.aspx?newsid=137960) is then the precursor to the father/son bidding. If the academy player didn't want to be drafted by the Lions, they wouldn't sign that and instead just go into the draft. Is that right?

Basically yes but what this does is protect the club rather than the player. The player can't then sign with another club if the lions want him but at the same time the lions can tell him to piss off before the draft and then the player thinking that the lions want him won't even talk to another club and could ultimately lose out.

I guess the short term question for this year is whether there are any Qld 18 year olds, or slightly older players in NEAFL, of draft or rookie quality that Lions might look at (recognizeing Suns get first pick again this year, but with their need for sig list reduction at end this year can't see them taking many zone picks). If draft quality can try to do deal with GC to get pre draft (if willing to do a Zorko deal again this year), and I think Lions and Suns get alternate picks to prelist Qld rookies.

In terms of academy players still 15 months away from first go at preferential bidding for these players. If the contract Tickner has is any indication of who is being considered this far our, would think others in the mix will get offered similar in next few months, particularly Conway.

Would think next year players would register for draft as usual, and if have signed agreement with Lions (presumably will be different draft specific document similar to whatever father sons sign now) lions can bid for them. Can still be outbid by other clubs is my understanding, same as father sons. So if Qld boy is a gun and other clubs show interest, Lions have to be willing to match best offer

Basically yes but what this does is protect the club rather than the player. The player can't then sign with another club if the lions want him but at the same time the lions can tell him to piss off before the draft and then the player thinking that the lions want him won't even talk to another club and could ultimately lose out.

Cheers, thanks for the insight. A lot of us have been curious about the academy because we've only got the info from outsiders looking in.

No worries. Also although no one's said it at the club, it's also about maybe finding those local players who won't play state's or get noticed by a lot of clubs yet may still be draftworthy e.g Josh Drummond, Bryce Retzlaff. Geelong's George Horlin-Smith is a prime example, the year he was drafted some considered him the best kick in the draft but had a bad carnival and didn't play in the AIS system, therefore attention switched to Gaff, Bennell, Swallow who made sure they got noticed. Horlin-Smith played some terrific school footy against guys like Jared Polec and ultimately made his way at pick 37 odd. If adelaide had this sort of academy in place, they would have taken him instead of Brodie Smith at pick 14. Every recruiter will know who Gribble, Conway, Rutledge, Pendlebury are but it's the others that could provide a shock.

Matt Hammelmann - 194cm 77 kgs. KPF by the looks of it.

Darcy Cameron-Reeves - 177cm 72 kgs onballer who can kick a goal. Churchie boy who was the BOG in the Dunstall Cup win.

Liam Moseley - 176cm 69kgs is another onballer who doesn't mind a goal. Formerly from the NT.

Liam Moseley - 176cm 73 kgs, 14 year old, represented Nth Raiders 2010/11/12. 2011 Raiders U/14 Player of the Year, Player of Carnival for Met Nth at State U/15 Champs in June, Represented NT in AFL, Rugby League, Touch and Rugby Union. Hard running midfielder who racks up possessions in the Mac Cup under 16's for Sandgate, played a little on the wing and off the backline against Tassie on Sunday. Intersting that he was Qld's second highest possession getter against Tassie and all of his 5 of inside 50's came from running off half back and laid 6 effective tackles, 14 kicks at 80% efficiency. A worry might be he is also in the Aust Rugby Union Academy and goes to Nudgee College.

He is. There are a couple of discrepancies between the those bests and the ones above. I also wouldn't mind betting the Jackson mentioned in the bests is Jackson Dickfos as there was no Jackson in the initial squad.

The Jackson mentioned in the best is Nicholas Jackson, playing at fullback, strong dependable type, in the mold of a true 90's backman, works hard and can deliver long accurate kicks out of the backline. An over age player, word is a great young man.