HB Jackson, Michael, Leong
C Bertoli-Simmonds, Cameron-Reeves, Wagner
HF Keays, Andrews, Mutu
F Rayner, Uebergang, Hay
R Kristelly, Holland, Haberfield
Int Trask Blood Moseley
Stevenson Watson

http://www.sportingpulse.com/get_file.cgi?id=2997954

Great initiative - I hope the Lions boys go well. Our ressies team will be seriously depleted without these boys available as top ups though.

Question: is it considered advantageous for the development of these boys to be playing against the elite in their own age group, or would they be better served playing as top-ups, against men, in the NEAFL?

Missing hammelman, dawson and weller on AIS duties

Did Hammelman and Dawson play vs Europe? Weren't mentioned in the goals or bests in the match report.

Yep, it is QLD, the Lions academy serves one purpose only- to get the best 1 or 2 players from QLD each year, the whole concept of developing these kids into AFL talent is flawed and very costly. The win will be when we have an absolute out of the box state team one year and we get priority access to these kids!

Did Hammelman and Dawson play vs Europe? Weren't mentioned in the goals or bests in the match report.
They may all look like Warwick Capper; didn't know they played footy, though!
img_37357.jpg

Not sure would assume they did. I know they are all there and as far as I am concerned they are all fit and healthy so I would assume they played.

I had a look at the film for the AIS game against Collingwood. Quality was not great and it was pretty hard to be sure who exactly was who but I thought Dawson and Hammelman both went well.

Hammelman - played at full back and did a really good job I thought. Talk of him being 198cm now I think is not right. He was matched up on Corey Gault quite a bit from what I could see and Gault (listed at 199cm) was clearly the taller of the two. I would expect him to actually be around the 195-196 mark. Still good height. Hammelman I thought was clearly the best KPD for the AIS and kept his man out of it all day. I didn't see him get beaten at all actually (sometimes hard to tell who was who as mentioned above). He did not get into wrestling matches which was smart given he was giving away plenty of beef but he was tight enough to close down leads and spoiled well when he had to. Skills wise he went by hand mostly but the kicks he had hit the targets and he even took a kick in or two. He read the ball in the very well and reacted quickly. Overall a pretty impressive display from Hammelman playing in a position which he would not be that familiar with. I am still hoping he is our next great KPF but if that doesn't work this performance gives me confidence that he would make a pretty good KPD at worst.

Dawson - started the game up forward before moving onto the wing for a fair bit of the game. I thought I might have also spotted in defense in the second half but I couldn't be sure. He showed his ususal good hands above his head on a couple of occasions and when he was on the wing he was around the pill a lot. I watched him when he was in shot and he looked to be moving to pretty good spots. He definitely was sitting off ruck contests and was playing very much an outside role. He did not get a heap of ball (I would like to see him get more) probably finishing with around 15 disposals at a guess. All the AIS kids looked a little scrappy against the bigger Collingwood bodies (they did look really quick though) but Dawson seemed to do okay from a skill perspective executing pretty well. He moves around the park quite a bit like Polec with a game pretty close to what we have seen from Cutler so far but a bit better mark. He certainly did not look out of place in this company and looked as impressive as any of the AIS guys and better than a couple I expected more of (e.g. Clem Smith and Billy Stretch).

Arghhhhhhhh, first bloody Tickner and now Hammelman. G'Day Qld lads down back you go. What's that you play up forward! Hahahahhahahaha.

Really shows how far behind QLD is in regards to AFL when a whole state can't even be competitive against a single club...

In fairness, they were winning early in the last quarter before getting steamrolled. Talentwise i'd suggest there isn't a lot in it, but the TAC cup sides are set up so professionally that I guess that professionalism manifested itself in terms of fitness and ability to run it out as the game wore on.

Plenty of good performances from the QLD and Lions boys though. Nick Jackson with 9 marks and 7 tackles :)

Really shows how far behind QLD is in regards to AFL when a whole state can't even be competitive against a single club...
Missing there three best players and most senior players at that given they all played as bottom agers. I would wait untill they play with Weller, Dawson and Hammelman before judging their performance

I had a look at the film for the AIS game against Collingwood. Quality was not great and it was pretty hard to be sure who exactly was who but I thought Dawson and Hammelman both went well.

Hammelman - played at full back and did a really good job I thought.

Is it likely Hammelman is missing out on forward time because the bigger names (Wright, McCartin, Goddard) are hogging up the KPF minutes?

Other than that, the report sounds pretty encouraging. You'd have to think another skilled half back type wouldn't go amiss.

Is it likely Hammelman is missing out on forward time because the bigger names (Wright, McCartin, Goddard) are hogging up the KPF minutes?

Other than that, the report sounds pretty encouraging. You'd have to think another skilled half back type wouldn't go amiss.

Yeah it seemed that there were a few of the taller forwards there but quite a few of the backs were out. McCartin didn't play but Wright and Goddard were there. Goddard split time between forward and back and Wright between ruck and forward. Watchman I think played a bit forward as well as in the ruck. Not sure about McLaren. Tom Lamb occupied a forward spot for most of the night. In all I think they were overloaded in tall forward types and short of KPD types. Durdin didn't play either.

They may all look like Warwick Capper; didn't know they played footy, though!
img_37357.jpg

Well they would be good at running the clock down, you know because they are so good at "the final countdown".

I will go and sit in the corner now.

#6 Darcy Cameron Reeves

Stood out last year as an under-aged prospect, showcasing his skills as a midfielder. Currently stands at 180 cm tall. Is just fantastic at every contest he is involved with, some massive efforts. A couple big contested marks. Finished with 21 disposals. Has played a bit of senior football with the Brisbane Lions Reserve side in the NEAFL. Can win a clearance!

#30 Ben Keays

A 183cm midfielder, who has some class about him. Would start outside the contest, waiting for that handball out. Big bump on a player. Used the ball particularly well, other than one bad turnover in the middle of the ground. Very talented, and a left foot kick. Would like to him win a bit more of his own ball.

#43 Matthew Uebergang

The 193cm tall forward look dangerous when the ball went inside 50. Finished with an impressive 10 marks, whether it being an uncontested lead or a big contested pack mark. Finished with 2 goals and 2 behinds, against strong opposition. Kicked a beautiful pass inside 50 to a running team mate, and just fell perfectly into his arms with an opposition right behind him.

http://madmondayshow.com/2014/04/15/rd-4-queensland-scouting-notes/

The majority of the guys playing TAC cup are still in grade 12 correct? Just curious but could the development of players differ because of this. For example Conway was doing a trade while playing his footy, and said so himself that he was getting very exhausted during the week due to doing a trade as well as all the training for footy. Also both conway an tickner were highly fancied as under agers before falling off the radar. The fact that they had the final years out side of school could that be hurting us? This year for the 18 year olds there all out of school and therefore act and are treated as adults rather than seniors in school. I am not sure that Darcy has settled down since the season began I am pretty sure he has but over the summer I think I saw him conscious once lol. but anyone reckon this could have an effect on our QLD talent seemingly dropping off after being promising as under agers?