Play Nice Adam Goodes

Mate, footy is tribal, not in the indigenous sense. My player does something questionable, i argue every point that its not that bad, Your player does it, and its the worst crime imaginable.

Bigfooty is documented proof of that, over and over. Your club sydney have had some of the biggest thugs ever, as have hawthorn. In AFL these clubs are successful and get rewarded

In footy the bullies win, there's no meek shall inherit the earth. Its not my approach to life, in some ways its opposite, but I still enjoy the footy.

One trouble with footy championing issues ir, to a certain extent, its putting lipstick on a pig.

Listen good people, its not whites v indigenous, its brown and gold v red and white, and it displays all the fundamentalism, stupidity, hypocrisy, contrariness that racism also has. But its not ingrained, biut its very easy for commentators to allege this

The difference is those same people jump on the train together afterwards and silently go home to their sleepy little suburbs. We dont have the problem other countries have, we should be vigilant this doesn't develop, but I dont see any signs yet.

I think we have crossed the line that its all about footy.

You feel sorry for a man who couldn't shut up about it, who made a stupid comment days after it on a radio show and who is know to bully people to get his way?

The last person this country needs to feel sorry for is Eddie McGuire. The man has more privilege in his right pinky than me and you both put together.

He started this by dog whistling on friday night because the reality is Eddie McGuire is a vindictive man. You cross Eddie you are stuffed. Eddie is very pissed off at the way Adam basically destroyed his media personality in 2013. In his mid if Adam wasn't playing then his popularity wouldn't have taken a shot.

So Eddie does what Eddie loves to do and that is use his platform to form narratives, he was at some stage a tabloid journo. He couldn't go after Goodsey, so he went after the swans.

And then he tries to convince everyone that he is on Adams side.

In fact his behaviour is very similar to a lot of posters in this thread. It begins with a disclaimer and then he proceeds to attack attack attack.

Eddie McGuire is the last person you should feel for.

Agree with you here. Eddie higlighted the war dance could incite violence discussed ramgers and celtic in glasgow

Eddie has often made some comments like "collingwood fans will burn the joint down" so hes certainly in the pot kettle territory there

Ive been battling with my feelings for Adam Goodes for a while now. No one can deny that he was one of the greatest players of the modern era, 2 Brownlows and 2 premierships speak for themselves. He is an ambassador for the under represented aboriginal community and is a role model for a lot of people. So why then is it that he gets such a bad rap, gets booed and always seem to be in the news for all the wrong reasons? Why is it that watching him, I cant help but have a bad taste in my mouth and don't particularly enjoy his successes? Been tossing round ideas for a while now, and then the events of Friday night finally made it clear to me.

Instead of just being proud of his heritage, and being proud to be an Australian, Adam Goodes uses his race to elevate his standing in society and uses it as a platform to, at every opportunity, say "Look at me". Morgan Freeman once said when asked about how to get rid of racism in relation to black history month, the answer was to "Stop talking about it, I need to stop calling you a white man, and you need to stop calling me a black man", and for me, I think this is the passive approach that needs to be taken to a long standing social issue. Adam Goodes could not be further from the mark in this regard. Every opportunity to make it "us" vs "them", he jumps on. Every opportunity to let Australia know that he is different, and that his people are different, he jumps on. I mean, how many times do I need to be reminded that your aboriginal? The mouth guard the constant quotes, and now the dance. This figurehead for racism in Australia, has been quoted saying "Aboriginal people have been here a lot longer than anybody else, so just remember whose lands you are on", is this really something that is going to help fix the problem?

Instead of bringing two communities together Adam Goodes has a habit of dividing the the community in a time where, yes, there are some people the harbour racist views, but for the large part and the majority of the community and in particular the footy community, your every day footy go-er is doing their best to address these issues. Look at other players over the past 10 years when they have run in with idiot supporters and players, we get a "Yeah they were being a dickhead, but they have apologised and I'm happy with that and i wanna move on", whenever anything happens with Adam Goodes it goes on for over a week and the whole community gets lectured about how racist we all are?

It really just makes me questions his motives, and why he does the things he does, and for a person that does so much for the community, he's really letting himself down. When you go out of your way to set up an "us vs them" mentality, you cant at all be surprised when the "them" feel as though you're the enemy, and that you're not working with the majority of the supporters, but against them.

Apart from the media, do you actually pay attention to when he speaks, he work he does outside of football? Or do you only pay attention to what ch 7 and the HS tell you and then form your opions from the collective hivemind of bigfooty?

Have you ever spoken to Adam personally?

If people stop being manipulated by the media in this country we can actually move forward and not be tied down with such utter pettiness.

Murdoch papers have such a strong hold on the collective pysche of this country.

I think we have crossed the line that its all about footy.

Well I dont think that, these incidents happened at the footy, and they are no different from hundreds of other incidents

I have a strong feeling that if buddy hadnt gone to sydney, with all the feeling of the 2012 grand final fresh, that thered be hardly any goodes booing, but of course I cant prove that any more than you guys can prove the booing is predomintly racist, or "ok if they behave like white folks" type of sentiment

By trying to group together people that don't agree with you and labeling them racist. That is no different than those that dislike others because of the color of their skin, their religion, gender, sexual orientation or whatever. You are discriminating against their ideas and beliefs. In fact, it is worse, because racist usually hate because of ignorance, what the "whoever doesn't think Goodesy is the second coming of Jesus Christ is racist" contingent is doing is trying to bully even independent thought by attributing the worst motives out of cynicism and dismissive ness, which are worse character traits than even ignorance. The ultimate irony is that those that are supposedly enlightened are the ones that cause true tolerance the most difficulty into ever being achieved. When race, or any other issue of discrimination gets artificially injected into a conversation where it does not belong, it becomes like the boy who cried wolf, it will then make those issues that truly need addressing, seem like more of the same trivialities that are brought up so often. When TE-Jerry Smith and RB-Dave Kopay played in the NFL for the Washington Redskins (now that name really NEEDS to be abolished) in the late 60's and early 70's, both men were gay and their teammates and coaches all knew it. There were no incidents among the supposed Neanderthals of football. Yet they were hiding it from the public because the supposedly enlightened liberal media would not allow them to live their lives as football players and would have FORCED them into being and doing what they didn't want to do, becoming a cause instead of a person. When Michael Sam entered the 2014 NFL draft and announced that he was gay, the liberal media didn't even mention the well known story of Smith and Kopay because it didn't serve their liberal interest. That liberal interest was to show that this gay man was going to have trouble in the "conservative, macho NFL". If he could play worth a damn, most other players wouldn't give a damn if he liked sleeping with Rhinos. Yet it was those same enlightened media folks that made his life very difficult. Irony is a bitch.

Exactly this. It's doing my head in. Many people here think of themselves as champions of equality, yet seem to think that we are not allowed to call a flog a flog just because he is of a different colour.
Except that we're up to 107 pages and we're yet to define "flog" to any satisfactory degree.

As best as I can deduce, it means "someone I want to put shit on if I feel like it".

A truly mature nation can simultaneously feel pride and shame, without taking any of it personally.

So in all your maturity as a member of the nation you can understand without taking it personally that I simultaneously love indigenous contribution and hate Adam Goodes' as a person and his contribution.

You understand that duality? Like your example the nation feeling shame and pride? I think indigenous culture is full of pride. I think Adam Goodes is shameful.

I hope you do have that maturity :) Glad to see you don't just blindly throw racism cards at will.

Mate, footy is tribal, not in the indigenous sense. My player does something questionable, i argue every point that its not that bad, Your player does it, and its the worst crime imaginable.
You make some very good points, and I know you weren't replying to me, but just for the record I can honestly say I would have wildly applauded Goodesy's dance no matter who he played for. Even Collingwood. That's how much I enjoyed that spontaneous little bit of theatre of his.

If people stop being manipulated by the media in this country we can actually move forward and not be tied down with such utter pettiness.

Murdoch papers have such a strong hold on the collective pysche of this country.

RIIIIIIIIGHT....You mean the same papers whose sports journo's accused every Hawk supporter who boos Goodes as being racist?

You have no idea what you are talking about!

Nice try.

Any pics of McVeigh?

Create a thread when any Hawk goes the feet first tackle. Repeatedly.

Lol not that sad im not a hawks fan

If you think your club doesnt have some dirty snipers now and in the past you have your head in the sand

Roughead slid feet first at bird in the grand final

So in all your maturity as a member of the nation you can understand without taking it personally that I simultaneously love indigenous contribution and hate Adam Goodes' as a person and his contribution.

You understand that duality? Like your example the nation feeling shame and pride? I think indigenous culture is full of pride. I think Adam Goodes is shameful.

I hope you do have that maturity :) Glad to see you don't just blindly throw racism cards at will.

And why do you hate his contribution? Is it because he is articulate, speak well for an indigenous, forms his own opinions? That he makes you feel dumb? That your perceptions of footy player should be of one who either acts and speaks like dane swan or says nothing at all?

Has he shattered the illusion for you and that makes you feel uneasy?

Indigenous culture is full of pride because thats the only way they can overcome the massive issues they still face in Australia. Why do i have to sit here and read or listen to a white person in a position of privliage state that Adam Goodes is embarrassing his heritage or people when thats not true. Ask the majority of indigenious how they feel towards him.

You make some very good points, and I know you weren't replying to me, but just for the record I can honestly say I would have wildly applauded Goodesy's dance no matter who he played for. Even Collingwood. That's how much I enjoyed that spontaneous little bit of theatre of his.

I found it entertaining too, and I assumed he was doing it with humor not being provocative, when he speaks hes not provocative, but he does like to make his points. Which, not being racist, I agree with.

And why do you hate his contribution? Is it because he is articulate, speak well for an indigenous, forms his own opinions? That he makes you feel dumb? That your perceptions of footy player should be of one who either acts and speaks like dane swan or says nothing at all?

Has he shattered the illusion for you and that makes you feel uneasy?

Indigenous culture is full of pride because thats the only way they can overcome the massive issues they still face in Australia. Why do i have to sit here and read or listen to a white person in a position of privliage state that Adam Goodes is embarrassing his heritage or people when thats not true. Ask the majority of indigenious how they feel towards him.

I think goodesy is a great ambassador for his people and our club

But people dont have to like him mate

People are too stupid to realise it was done in the theatre of sport. Even at the press conference he had to explain it several times to journos who keep going with another narrative.

He spoke eloquently yesterday which seemed to piss off people even more.

Maybe we should listen to more dane awans speak in low monotones about nothing and then claim he is a character.

"im dane swan i have tatats yeah drive cars root hot chicks yeah took a photo of stuff yeah"

Apart from the media, do you actually pay attention to when he speaks, he work he does outside of football? Or do you only pay attention to what ch 7 and the HS tell you and then form your opions from the collective hivemind of bigfooty?

Have you ever spoken to Adam personally?

Unfortunately, it isn't relevant whether I know Adam or not, because believe it or not the general public don't know Adam Goodes. I can't sit down with him and ask him what he thinks. What I'm discussing is the persona he conveys to the general community in his actions towards racism and the aboriginal community.

Are you refuting any of the points I made, if so id be interested to hear which ones? Does he not seem to jump the opportunity to make things about him being Aboriginal ? Does he have a tendency to divide the communities? Does he have a fairly aggressive approach to combating racism? I mean, for real, in the past week he has made him being booed a race thing, and then divided the community with an unnecessary goal celebration.

If all this is untrue, why then is it hard for me, someone who loves all the work he does for an extremely if not necessary cause to feel as though im on the same side as him?

How am I benefiting? If my family had of stayed in Europe a hundred years ago my life would be terrible would it? I wouldnt have an education, or wealth? I would somehow have less access to education or opportunity? Are you been racist by saying Europe sucks and is a second rate place to be?
You live in an amazing country. We even call it the lucky country. Of course you are benefiting. No harm in that.

All I am saying is have some compassion and respect for the original owners of this land.

It's not that controversial is it?

Yes, I totally agree with all that you have said. I am not one of those people here insisting without any proof that anyone who boos Goodesy is racist, although I think it reasonable to assume that at least some of them are.

But I am certainly defending Goodes from what I feel is an extraordinary level of vitriol directed at him. He may not be spotless but you'd think he was Jack The Ripper the way some people carry on; the way he gets booed week in, week out, every single time he gets the ball now.

He is a true champion of the game and I consider myself lucky to be watching AFL in his era. But you see it differently and I respect that.

Instead of just being proud of his heritage, and being proud to be an Australian, Adam Goodes uses his race to elevate his standing in society and uses it as a platform to, at every opportunity, say "Look at me". Morgan Freeman once said when asked about how to get rid of racism in relation to black history month, the answer was to "Stop talking about it, I need to stop calling you a white man, and you need to stop calling me a black man", and for me, I think this is the passive approach that needs to be taken to a long standing social issue. Adam Goodes could not be further from the mark in this regard. Every opportunity to make it "us" vs "them", he jumps on.
You essentially want any indigenous issues to be presented in a way you don't find confronting or uncomfortable. You're the real sane voice in a world full of crazies. When indigenous Australians aren't subject to a wide variety of disadvantage based on their race, maybe we can discuss not calling each other black and white, and have non-confrontational dialogue about how equal we all are. Until then, a lot of discussion on indigenous Australians will be uncomfortable and need to be pushed, because people who totally don't care about / see race in people would prefer it be done quietly, away from them.

Yes, I totally agree with all that you have said. I am not one of those people here insisting without any proof that anyone who boos Goodesy is racist, although I think it reasonable to assume that at least some of them are.

But I am certainly defending Goodes from what I feel is an extraordinary level of vitriol directed at him. He may not be spotless but you'd think he was Jack The Ripper the way some people carry on; the way he gets booed week in, week out, every single time he gets the ball now.

He is a true champion of the game and I consider myself lucky to be watching AFL in his era. But you see it differently and I respect that.

Yeah its frustrating

I accept the need for those being tarred as racist by the media to defend themselves

But some of the anti goodes stuff is laughable

He is the worst human ever apparently

Unfortunately, it isn't relevant whether I know Adam or not, because believe it or not the general public don't know Adam Goodes. I can't sit down with him and ask him what he thinks. What I'm discussing is the persona he conveys to the general community in his actions towards racism and the aboriginal community.

Are you refuting any of the points I made, if so id be interested to hear which ones? Does he not seem to jump the opportunity to make things about him being Aboriginal ? Does he have a tendency to divide the communities? Does he have a fairly aggressive approach to combating racism? I mean, for real, in the past week he has made him being booed a race thing, and then divided the community with an unnecessary goal celebration.

If all this is untrue, why then is it hard for me, someone who loves all the work he does for an extremely if not necessary cause to feel as though im on the same side as him?
I actually like Adam Goodes. I think he is a good bloke but he does play for free kicks and is pretty self righteous. This is why people boo him (would think some would boo him because the is Aboriginal but very much a minority).

I have never booed anyone in my life but I will boo him not because I dislike him but because I dislike the media and others trying to lecture the public on how to behave.

Good news rednecks! Andrew Bolt agrees with you!
And it looks like you're on the same side with a first class flog like David Penberthy, who has declared pretty much every one who dislikes Goodes is a massive racist. Thanks for informing us what thousands of people think and feel, even if they don't know it David.

Bolt's got some serious competition here.