At the risk of engaging with you, that was my point. I know Watson debuted young. He wasn't a random player I picked from a hat to use as an example.
lol. No risk of that

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
At the risk of engaging with you, that was my point. I know Watson debuted young. He wasn't a random player I picked from a hat to use as an example.
Evidently not considering the position you've taken.
Sorry, I prefer fact based debates.
There's no doubt the pathway needs work. That was actually part of my original post. It's only the select few hand wringers focussing on one aspect of it.
It's not a complicated issue mate.oh you’re one of those. “Phil from the pub LLP”
Im the only one in this debate who has actually provided any factsshouldn’t you acquire some facts first?
go on, ask someone from the AFLPA on to help your fact finding mission.
I might even listen

It's not a complicated issue mate.
Im the only one in this debate who has actually provided any facts![]()
One of many comments from people in the system in support of increasing the draft age:Sorry Phil, silly me for expecting too much
go on speak to the AFLPA and learn something. What have you got to lose? Think you’ll be surprised at what a hot topic this is for them and most of the major North American players unions
you’ve got nothing to lose.

To give some context to your Roos and Pavlich quotes, what year were these comments made in?One of many comments from people in the system in support of increasing the draft age:
Former Sydney and Melbourne coach Paul Roos and retired Fremantle champion Matthew Pavlich are both in the “yes” camp.
Pavlich, the AFL Players’ Association president, said earlier this year drafting 18-year-olds introduced a risk of “robbing young men of at least one or two important years of their life’s development”.
“I believe 19 or event 20 is the right age to be drafted,” he said.
Roos told News Corp this year “only one coach was strong on the draft age staying”.
“If it was up to senior coaches the draft age would be older ... it’s just ridiculous we’re asking kids to play school football, under-18 national championships TAC Cup and do Year 12 (in one year).”
But you do you Sanders![]()
Clutching at straws there Bicks, the draft age hasn't changed.To give some context to your Roos and Pavlich quotes, what year were these comments made in?
Surely Roos comments specifically were made before the U18's eligibility was lifted to U19s?
Horne-Francis has been working in the labour force this season not schooling and there have been others i.e Jack Higgins etc.
So you're not going to answer the question I put...fine that tells me all I need to know.Clutching at straws there Bicks, the draft age hasn't changed.
When was Pav AFLPA president?So you're not going to answer the question I put...fine that tells me all I need to know.
One of many comments from people in the system in support of increasing the draft age:
Former Sydney and Melbourne coach Paul Roos and retired Fremantle champion Matthew Pavlich are both in the “yes” camp.
Pavlich, the AFL Players’ Association president, said earlier this year drafting 18-year-olds introduced a risk of “robbing young men of at least one or two important years of their life’s development”.
“I believe 19 or event 20 is the right age to be drafted,” he said.
Roos told News Corp this year “only one coach was strong on the draft age staying”.
“If it was up to senior coaches the draft age would be older ... it’s just ridiculous we’re asking kids to play school football, under-18 national championships TAC Cup and do Year 12 (in one year).”
But you do you Sanders![]()
What are you talking about?Your last point is quite right, which is another very good reason they should up the draft age. Let people enjoy their lives before the ridiculous bubble they live in will consume them.
Your argument is ridiculous, but that's nothing unusual
What the ****?So a 17 yo who gets drafted in the current system, turning 18 on 31 Dec 2021 is totally reasonable, but a kid who turns 18 on 1 January 2022, 17 as well at the time of the draft, and 18 before the season starts and ineligible, is totally not restraint of trade under your made-up legal system?
What are you talking about?
There is no serious reason to move the draft age to 21. Anyone suggesting it just isn't being sensible.
"Let people enjoy their lives" is just code for "let's keep these young athletes even further from their dreams, and force them to remain stuck in amateur environments, if they stay in the sport at all".
There is no sensible reason to move the draft age to 21. None.
Thats fairI reckon you're better off having an 18 year old develop in a highly funded, elite sporting environment for three years than have them develop in a semi-pro or amateur league where development often isn't the focus.
We don't have a college football system here like they do in the USA which is what makes the NFL's higher draft age work
I reckon you're better off having an 18 year old develop in a highly funded, elite sporting environment for three years than have them develop in a semi-pro or amateur league where development often isn't the focus.
We don't have a college football system here like they do in the USA which is what makes the NFL's higher draft age work
Really not much different for a young footballer stepping into the AFL to learn on the job than an apprentice tradie, electrician, fitter and turner, jockey, carpenter, chef etc who all learn on the job. Sanders would know do apprentices still get apprentice wages until fully qualified, I know AFL footballers come in on a "rookies" wage?
Tim Watson debuted at 15
the AFLPA have a very big stake in this and are very involved around these matters
I think it's about reducing the number of "misses" in the first and (maybe) second rounds of the draft. It's not so much about reducing the "miss rate" for the later rounds, which are always going to be low probability - for the very reasons you outlined.I don’t really get why the whole “hit rate” thing is really an issue. Every year roughly 30 players retire “voluntarily”, voluntarily being generous as that includes the players who jump before they’re pushed. That means every year there is close to 3-4 times the amount of players entering the league as there are exiting. Those numbers suggest that the system is designed so that more players won’t make it then will, is increasing the age to 21 going to change that?
If the concern is that top draft picks are busts too often then I think a much bigger concern would be the detrimental impact on the league of top end talent having to delay their careers by 3-4 years.
The big laugh was that you could fight & die in Vietnam .....yet not be legally able to drink ....21 yo was the age limit then to drinkBack during the Vietnam War, you could be drafted for National Service at 18, but you couldn't legally operate a lift in a department store until you were 21.![]()