Suspended
Mar 3, 2002
Whincup's Garage
Glenelg, MUFC, Triple 8
Should be a ripper of a game both sides coming off good wins and Essendon in good form also, this game could go either way I think the Crows are going to have to shutdown Hird and keep Lloyd under 5 goals to win!!!!!!!!

Crows are expecting a few good players back this week Biglands,Goodwin and Hart.

Im looking forward to this game always enjoy playing Essendon;)

Yeah should be a good game but I must confess I sort of expect we will lose, simply due to our poor performances on the road. If we can just put it together then we really should win.

I find it interesting that after only 7 rounds there is already a TWO game difference between us in sixth and Swans in seventh. I find this quite amazing!

It's like a bye with -4 points attached and I am already thinking about Geelong in two weeks.

I just hope we don't get any injuries and we somehow keep it under 100 points.

Originally posted by windyhill
I`m just hoping for the boys to have a fair dinkum ****ing crack.

After round 1, I've given up on false hopes like that.

I expect another mauling. At least that way I won't be disappointed when we're given a dose of reality.

Originally posted by M29
It's like a bye with -4 points attached and I am already thinking about Geelong in two weeks.

I just hope we don't get any injuries and we somehow keep it under 100 points.

I'm with you. I kept saying to myself over the last two weeks that as long as we beat sydney and the dogs i wouldn't need to get my hopes up for this one, coz 5-3 aint too bad.

No doubt that despite of that i'll still be well ****ed off if we lose.

We're probably a decent chance of making Carey look good.

Come on guys, don't concede the match just yet. This is probably our best chance of a win interstate in years. Although i do think Adelaide will win, i don't think it will be by much and i think we will give it a real red hot go. Come on Bombers!

Originally posted by bacon buster
i'm really not sure how this game will go, not confident at all. hopefully it's like 99 all over again.

thats all the jope we can cling to.

30-50 point loss. Will be competitive till about the 2nd half of the 2nd quarter where Adelaide will get out to a 3 goal lead. From there, in the 3rd quarter will slam on 5-8 goals. we will kick a few in the final quarter, then Adelaide will wake up and hold sway by kicking a couple so we are well and truly outplayed.

C'mon you bunch of dunses - play like your lives depend on it - hell play like Collingwood does over there and we will win.:(

Adelaide would be definite favourites at the moment and full of confidence so a quick start is a must, poor kicking at the start of the game at goal will just demoralise the side so every opportunity has to be taken.

i guess if we lose we dont go any lower than 6th due to the 2 game gap between 6th and 7th.

Im surprised you arent rating the Bombers a chance on Friday night, I think you have a real show, Lucus is always a problem for our defence as he just bobs up with a few quick goals and can hurt sides if he is not kept in check

The negativity in here is s******* me off! How can anyone say crows by plenty yet if it were in Melbourne we would win? Playing interstate is not worth 15 goals!!!! That's a cop out no longer accepted and it's about time something was done to rectify the poor travelling, if not for the team, for the loyal interstate fans who flock to the games and make us one of the best followed teams in Adelaide.

You guys are so pessimistic. We have as good a chance as any team to go over to Adelaide and win. An away hoodoo is all in the mind and if we can put it out of our minds then we are the better team on paper and should win easily. Saying that, if we can't overcome the mental barrier then we could get done by 50+ points. Like someone said earlier, we have to make use of our opportunities early in the game- unlike both semi finals against port when we kicked poorly and didnt make them pay enough.

Originally posted by eastaugh36

Playing interstate is not worth 15 goals!!!!

It is if we're the opponent.

After round 1 and everyone talking about how we are going to 'rectify' how **** we are interstate, I'd expect no less this friday night.

To bad the odds aren't out for this match. Will be ineteresting to see how low adelaide at over 39.5 will be.

I think we are a good show if we just really come out and fire up....solomon, MJ, JJ, Pev, mcphee and Welshy should try and throw their weight around and get a bit of edge and niggle into the game. I believe thats when we play our best. like the Brisbane game last year.

And Lucas and Rioli to put in big ones.

Lets hope Welsh has a shocker for the Crows. Last time he tore us apart. But.. I'd love to say we have a chance, but.. I really honestly think we'll get toweled up there.

However.. Bombers will make the finals and be a real threat for the Premiership. Im sure of that. Winning in Adelaide is just virtually impossible for any team besides Port and Adelaide (obviously).

I normally concede the loss when we travel to Adelaide, but I give us a realistic 40-60 chance of winning this one. Sheedy has openly said, he and his players are sick of going over there are getting our butts kicked, so I think being ultra-competitive will be a focus for us because of that.

With no injuries and coming off 5 wins, there is no reason to think we can't be very, very competitive. The round one match has no relevance. Apart from Port being a better side than the Crows, we had a skeleton side in.

It reminds me of the 1998 match (remember that one?) We went into the match against the reigning, and eventual premeirs, with 4 straight wins and minimal injuries and lost by 2 points in a fantastic match. The circumstances dictate that a similarly competitive performance can be expected this Friday.

Originally posted by Dan26
I normally concede the loss when we travel to Adelaide, but I give us a realistic 40-60 chance of winning this one. Sheedy has openly said, he and his players are sick of going over there are getting our butts kicked, so I think being ultra-competitive will be a focus for us because of that.

With no injuries and coming off 5 wins, there is no reason to think we can't be very, very competitive. The round one match has no relevance. Apart from Port being a better side than the Crows, we had a skeleton side in.

It reminds me of the 1998 match (remember that one?) We went into the match against the reigning, and eventual premeirs, with 4 straight wins and minimal injuries and lost by 2 points in a fantastic match. The circumstances dictate that a similarly competitive performance can be expected this Friday.
i agree. i reckon we're a big chance. If Lloyd can kick a bag, Hird can...well be hird. Johnson and Johnson can keep the midfield engine ticking, Peverill can keep Ricciuto quiet, Rioli can show his brilliance, Lovett-Murray and Cupido can kick a bag between them, our half back line works like it did on anzac day, Fletch can keep the last line of defence in tact and working order, Murphy will play a blinder, Bolton could do something, McPhee could maintain his form, I reckon we could win.

Anybody who already thinks this game is already lost is kidding themselves ... the Crows arn't 2-5 and 11th and we're not 5-2 and 6th for nothing!

Our players will be so keen to head over there to turn around that horrific Round 1 loss it won't be funny, and we'll be fielding a much stronger team and playing the Crows (who despite their win, I don't rate them higher than Port and still don't think they'll make the finals)...

It's amazing, if this game was being played in Melbourne I'd say we'd all be very confident at the moment for a 6th straight victory ... yet because it's being played over there we are seemingly no hope.

We'll just have to wait and see I spose ... anybody expecting another 15 goal massacre is kidding themselves.

Originally posted by pazza
Going to be incredibly difficult.

Moreso after the Crows had a stunning win last week.

Their forwardline is very tall and functioning extremely well, whilst the midfielders are getting ****loads.

how come they've only won two games?

Adelaide Vs Essendon