Truck Rutten

Glenelg, Adelaide United
Today's Hun claims we are one of five clubs interested in Lance Whitnall for next year. Possible trade for Matthew Smith?

Seriously though I wouldn't have thought Lance would be the sort of player we'd be after. He's obviously got footy smarts, but the tempo of the game finds him wanting, and he's probably not versatile enough for the modern game.

Might come good under NC, hmmmmm for Smith I dunno will be a hard one mmmmmm lets see......... yes!!! :)
I'll even through in my half eaten sub!!!

both of them would be good, esp lance as we'd kick his ass into action. The problem is you wouldnt pay anymore that a 3rd rounder for lance and the same with lappin. You might throw in a couple of unwanted players. However, i have a very small amount of confidence that we will be unable to somehow do the trade without losing our first round pick when they really arent worth that at all.

Booted 70 goals a few seasons ago from CHF and has played a lot of his football this year as a servicable CHB - lacking versatility? His biggest problem is his fitnessm, weight and motivation, which he'd looked to have improved over the summer.

Would be a very valuable acquisition with a change of scenery and a new outlook I reckon - has clearly stagnated along with the entire Carlton club. With the midfield we have and the support we could give him by having Welsh and KMac in the same forward line I'd be confident he could manage at least 50 goals a year for us.

The sticking point is his age (what is he, 27? 28 now?) and what he'd cost us to recruit him (a first rounder and/or a player worth equal value would be what Carlton would hope for).

So unless we snag him for a second rounder or Ian Perrie we'd be right to steer clear of him and wait to see if Watts and Gibson can come on.

dyertribe said:
Booted 70 goals a few seasons ago from CHF and has played a lot of his football this year as a servicable CHB - lacking versatility? His biggest problem is his fitnessm, weight and motivation, which he'd looked to have improved over the summer.

Would be a very valuable acquisition with a change of scenery and a new outlook I reckon - has clearly stagnated along with the entire Carlton club. With the midfield we have and the support we could give him by having Welsh and KMac in the same forward line I'd be confident he could manage at least 50 goals a year for us.

The sticking point is his age (what is he, 27? 28 now?) and what he'd cost us to recruit him (a first rounder and/or a player worth equal value would be what Carlton would hope for).

So unless we snag him for a second rounder or Ian Perrie we'd be right to steer clear of him and wait to see if Watts and Gibson can come on.

appparently he is pretty young like 25ish, i heard an interview once. Trade wise though he and lappin are worth very little. Not that the blues will see it that way ofcourse. You'd be angry if we gave up our first rounder for him.

Meh just another bloke to get in the way of the development of Watts, also I've grown to resist any moves by the AFC to try and trade for a CHF, lets go the roll call Carey, Hewitt, Stevens .....

Pass!

I think he would have a high price on his head regardless of public opinion and I dont see the point as I think Watts will step into the CHF possie next year barring any pre season mishap.

Stick with the young talent.

Too Fat !, Too Slow!, Why bother with his fat lazy ass.

I'd rather us continue to develop our youngsters.

Not sure what to think of him.

He looked like he was going to be the comp's new Carey when he was about 19 but unusually for a CHF got worse with age.

He's had several top coaches now... tempted to think if Pagan cant fix him NC wont be able to either.

But look at Sav Rocca - he was washed up but has been doing OK with the roos for a few years now.

Maybe worth a punt, but no more than a second round pick plus a discard. Even that might be too much.

DaveW said:
No thanks. He's been a very, very average player for a number of years now.

I'd take Fevola in a heartbeat though.

Exactly my thoughts and preference of Fevola over Whitnall

DaveW said:
No thanks. He's been a very, very average player for a number of years now.
I agree Dave. I would only consider FatRed if we gave up very little for him as a depth type player ... but do we really need him when we are going OK & have young KPP in the wings. Personally, Sarge is now better than Lance.

AlwaysCrows said:
Exactly my thoughts and preference of Fevola over Whitnall
I think we would all like Fevola, but he would come at too higher price & realistically, how much more would he add to what Welshy is doing?

I'm buying.

for the right price he would be a valuable addition to our forward line. If he could provide a contest in a sort of third tall role, he'd be great I reckon.

maccas_no1 said:
No sale, I would be interested in Lappin though or Camporale.

Lance McWittnall can stay where he is, cant beleive Carlton are shelling out $500K a year for him :eek:

Gah! That much?
He's not worth half that, even without taking the trade into consideration.
Changed my mind... dont want him.

ignoranus said:
Gah! That much?
He's not worth half that, even without taking the trade into consideration.
Changed my mind... dont want him.

steady on. don't change your view depending on an internet rumour of his pay packet.

if the player has something to offer, you look into it. If you can get something done for the price you're prepared to pay - do it, if it is going to cost too much you pass.

It's about whether the player has something we want?

A change of club may do him well it has worked over the years for a lot of players like barry hall, G-Train, David Teague and Matty Lappin just to name a few, i would like to see it happen but the big problem is a what cost?

Crow-mosone said:
steady on. don't change your view depending on an internet rumour of his pay packet.

Was in today's Mercury he is currently on $500K and Carlton want to drop him to $300K that why his management is offering him to other clubs.