AFL 09- Please?

Never liked the EA versions of the game, but I'd be very interested to see how they'd go these days.

Who do you guys think might pick it up?
One of the 'smaller managers'
If any big company would pick it up, i'd see atari doing it, they've done some aussie games before

AFL 07 was definitely a step in the right direction. Need a management mode or something with it would be good.

Agree like Fifa and NBA

You'd think with the AFLs push for 'international awareness' theyd help out funding for the game on a next gen console (ps3), to help get the game more global. ex-pats might buy it, show their friends etc, mite love the game.

i personally believe EA hasnt taken on our sport as the right people in the industry havnt made the right sales pitch.

its all there, aussie rules is too good of a sport to not have SOME impact in the gaming world.

Agreed. Many point to the success of the WCW/nWo games on the N64 for creating interest in WCW during the hight of the company's existance. Shame they got arrogant and thought that the WCW name that made the game a success and not THQ/AKI's engine and jumped to EA with disasterous results, Meanwhile, THQ/AKI went on to produce games for the WWF. One of which, No Mercy, is still considered the best wrestling games ever all these years later. I believe the same could be done for the AFL if they find the right producer. Forget EA. Maybe a company like Konami who make Pro Evolution Soccer or Sega Sports.

Unfortunately I can't see this one happening any time soon.

If the AFL manages to suddenly capture the imagination of the entire country, then they might be able to commission a games company to make one. Only problem is, you would still probably only get the independents interested, and a lot of them are renowned for their shovelware. And even then, if they make a real stinker, a company like Krome would rather make a cheap hellboy game which gets shithouse reviews that they can then sell to a market of a billion people.

And if they make a gem, they would rather it be Viva Piñata which they can then sell to a billion people.

The market is simply too small. Even the big Australian developers make games for North America and Europe.

Time is also against the AFL. As consoles get more powerful, it takes more effort to develop a game.

Fiery will be back with a 'no current plans' update at some point. Doing the math i reckon you'd be looking at at best a green light in 2009 for a 2010 title. At absolute best.

And you know what? Everyone would get it and hate it. If you don't remember, 2007 was regard as the worst AFL game ever by most people the second it was released and Fiery undeservedly copped an earful i.m.o. as it fixed many, many issues that people were asking for including a pretty good player editor which would have taken a fair slice of dev time. For the first time an AFL game created sense of congestion and pressure around the ball and in front of goal. Sure it had it's faults, but it got a lot of things right.

I think the best we can hope for is a dodgy next gen console version that hopefully has 4 or 5 iterations after that so that when the 360 or PS3 is long in the tooth and everyone has one we finally have our first truly good footy game.

Of course by then FIFA will have 3D holographic models and everyone will still be bitching regardless.
Are you kidding? I didn't meet anyone who thought that 2007 was the worst, everyone knows that 2005 was a hell of a lot worse.

You'd think with the AFLs push for 'international awareness' theyd help out funding for the game on a next gen console (ps3), to help get the game more global. ex-pats might buy it, show their friends etc, mite love the game.

i personally believe EA hasnt taken on our sport as the right people in the industry havnt made the right sales pitch.

its all there, aussie rules is too good of a sport to not have SOME impact in the gaming world.

Or at least stop making it so difficult to get a AFL license by cutting some of the fees and upfront costs payable to the AFL

I think Sony had the publishing rights to end of 2008.
That was the offical line from IRgurus

I too would like a 2009 version, not sure about EA Sports doing it, as the version that made in 98,99 were crap, players would not stay in their positions and if you interchanged a ruckman or something, that player would end up runing along the boundary line doing nothing.
They couldn't get so many items to render and it it was Renderware they used then whop also was invloved with last version 2007
But 10 years is a lot of time gone by so I would hope they would be able to sort that out

The demise of AFL game console came from having it soley on one platform.
In a limted market, making it PS2 only was only asking for it to not sell.

Not everyone has PS2 or PS3

Also the career model on 2007 was okay, except the totally unreal trade of players between AI sides and also what the user's team got offered was the same.

5 of Hawks better players ended up at Eagles and Eagles had finished top 2, just an example.
Plus it appears there is no coding for AI to retire players, surley that would be just setting a age code for players and when they reach that age, they retire.

We wait with hope for a 2009 version, but not holding my breath.

PM

Hi Guys, yeah I miss the AFL games too. Enjoying what we're working on now but really enjoyed the challenge of making AFL games and the feedback from you guys. Not sure when or if one is going to be made. Haven't heard anything from my end anyway.
I got very close to playing 07 the other day for a bit of retro action but settled on NBA2K8 instead (wanted to replicate the dominance of my beloved Celtics!).
I still jot down ideas etc for an AFL game so if you have any feel free to fire 'em my way.

i wrote this a while ago on another thread, it's some things i think could make the gameplay of the game better:

- It seems that every player follows a set track around the field depending on what position they're playing, players need a mind of their own, they need AI depending on the type of player they are and the role assigned to them (eg how tight they should play their man, how defensive/attacking their movements should be etc). Also they should always look to support a teammate with the ball (too many times guys don't run into obvious space)

- Different types of kicks should be included (by pressing L2/R2 + the kick button or something). Eg.
Composed kick: maximises the player's ability to kick accurately (also used for set shots on goal), but takes the longest to execute and will go severely off target if the player is bumped/tackled as he kicks. Can be used on the run but the player will slow down slightly before he kicks.

Clearance/junk kick: primarily used to gain ground; a hurried kick to clear it out of defence or a stoppage to space or the boundary, takes the least time to execute but doesn't target a teammate. This kick shouldn't get affected too much by a bump/tackle as it's being executed. If used close to goal it will always target the goals (this could be how some spectacular goals are produced).

Rushed kick: the medium between the two, player has a target but doesn't have enough time to pinpoint the kick, so while the kick goes in the right direction it isn't always accurate. This kick would be moderately affected by a bump/tackle as it's being executed, and would be more accurate depending on a player's ratings (eg kicking accuracy, composure). Player's can kick while sprinting without slowing down.

With all kicks, the more you hold it down the further it goes, but obviously with the clearance/junk kick you don't have to hold it down for very long to get distance

- I think the radar at the top of the screen is the answer to finding loose players/temmates to kick to. Loose players, players on leads, guys with some space, should all flash different colours/be more noticable somehow. The better the rating of the player with the ball, the better he is at spotting these guys. Also, so that it just doesn't depend on the ratings on the player with the ball, players off the ball who demand the ball more (Fevola/Franklin types) should be more noticable. (this idea's possibly a little far-fetched, but still...)

- The way players run, move, get tackled could also be addressed, in my opinion it would make the game very realistic. You could make the players back peddle, sidestep, use a stiff arm etc. Also the turbo button should switch to a tapping method to make players sprint, so that the faster you tap it the faster they run (like in most soccer games i think).

- Marking/spoiling the ball is a problem on it's own. Half the time the player doesn't respond to what buttons you press. If a player is all on his own sometimes he'll completely miss the ball. The user must have control over their player in a marking contest. Spoils shouldn't always be effective either. Marking contests definitely need to be addressed.

i still play afl 07 every now and then. i just try and find ways to make it realistic. i think it's still decent enough to play against a mate or something but it gets too frustrating if you're on your own trying to take it seriously.

thats the problem when you have a game that is not global.

the global game makers aren't going to be too interested in making a product with such a small market - and if they do (as EA have) then they won't be pumping too much money into it.

thats the problem when you have a game that is not global.

the global game makers aren't going to be too interested in making a product with such a small market - and if they do (as EA have) then they won't be pumping too much money into it.

chicken and egg argument i spose, i just wish the AFL would pump some money into a brilliant AFL game, it might help push the code a bit more globally, as we all know aussie rules is a brilliant game, why not have it showcased, take a loss, and reap the longer term benefits...

Surely the AFL could have a $5M line item to spend develping the best AFL game possible each year. If the game was as fun to play as it was to watch it would achieve a MASSIVE amount of advertising for the game. If it was really, really fun people OS would be playing it without giving two hoots about the real thing - at least to start with.

A good AFL title each year could be the AFL's greatest asset in exapanding the game internationally through youth markets. Let's not forget how much more $$$ are spent on games each year then pretty much anything else nowdays.

Surely the AFL could have a $5M line item to spend develping the best AFL game possible each year. If the game was as fun to play as it was to watch it would achieve a MASSIVE amount of advertising for the game. If it was really, really fun people OS would be playing it without giving two hoots about the real thing - at least to start with.

A good AFL title each year could be the AFL's greatest asset in exapanding the game internationally through youth markets. Let's not forget how much more $$$ are spent on games each year then pretty much anything else nowdays.

exactly.

AFL is just a terrible sport for a video game. Any given game is completely all over the shop.

It lacks any real tactics compared to other team sports, and there are certainly no real in depth set plays or anything like that. Absolute bastard of a sport to turn into a quality video game.

i wrote this a while ago on another thread, it's some things i think could make the gameplay of the game better:

- It seems that every player follows a set track around the field depending on what position they're playing, players need a mind of their own, they need AI depending on the type of player they are and the role assigned to them (eg how tight they should play their man, how defensive/attacking their movements should be etc). Also they should always look to support a teammate with the ball (too many times guys don't run into obvious space)

- Different types of kicks should be included (by pressing L2/R2 + the kick button or something). Eg.
Composed kick: maximises the player's ability to kick accurately (also used for set shots on goal), but takes the longest to execute and will go severely off target if the player is bumped/tackled as he kicks. Can be used on the run but the player will slow down slightly before he kicks.

Clearance/junk kick: primarily used to gain ground; a hurried kick to clear it out of defence or a stoppage to space or the boundary, takes the least time to execute but doesn't target a teammate. This kick shouldn't get affected too much by a bump/tackle as it's being executed. If used close to goal it will always target the goals (this could be how some spectacular goals are produced).

Rushed kick: the medium between the two, player has a target but doesn't have enough time to pinpoint the kick, so while the kick goes in the right direction it isn't always accurate. This kick would be moderately affected by a bump/tackle as it's being executed, and would be more accurate depending on a player's ratings (eg kicking accuracy, composure). Player's can kick while sprinting without slowing down.

With all kicks, the more you hold it down the further it goes, but obviously with the clearance/junk kick you don't have to hold it down for very long to get distance

- I think the radar at the top of the screen is the answer to finding loose players/temmates to kick to. Loose players, players on leads, guys with some space, should all flash different colours/be more noticable somehow. The better the rating of the player with the ball, the better he is at spotting these guys. Also, so that it just doesn't depend on the ratings on the player with the ball, players off the ball who demand the ball more (Fevola/Franklin types) should be more noticable. (this idea's possibly a little far-fetched, but still...)

- The way players run, move, get tackled could also be addressed, in my opinion it would make the game very realistic. You could make the players back peddle, sidestep, use a stiff arm etc. Also the turbo button should switch to a tapping method to make players sprint, so that the faster you tap it the faster they run (like in most soccer games i think).

- Marking/spoiling the ball is a problem on it's own. Half the time the player doesn't respond to what buttons you press. If a player is all on his own sometimes he'll completely miss the ball. The user must have control over their player in a marking contest. Spoils shouldn't always be effective either. Marking contests definitely need to be addressed.

i still play afl 07 every now and then. i just try and find ways to make it realistic. i think it's still decent enough to play against a mate or something but it gets too frustrating if you're on your own trying to take it seriously.

I agree with a lot you wrote

My main problem with actual game play ( I won't start of the poor graphics) is Marking is very hard to time, 07 was the hardest so far. 2/ Your players get penalised too quick for holding the ball 3/ You should be able to choose any player when opposition have marked or got a free kick, not the next player of yours close to them, e.g your rucknman or player down the field,
As for the trading at end of season, totally unrealistic the number of players who switch teams. Plus a cut off age shoudl be inplace that players who have retired in real life,, are not longer playing.
Also some rotations of players on and of the bench by the AI team would make it more realstic. I mean I have kicked 10 goals on one player and of course in real life the defender would be moved but no he stays and even his rating during game is not high. Can someone tell me if they have found this to be right, that the number of marks a player takes, gives them the highest ranking as in best on ground.?

Just my view cents worth.

AFL is just a terrible sport for a video game. Any given game is completely all over the shop.

It lacks any real tactics compared to other team sports, and there are certainly no real in depth set plays or anything like that. Absolute bastard of a sport to turn into a quality video game.
It really just needs to be a basic game with basic tactics, it would be good to have more advanced tactics aswell but not necessary.

Footy Fanatic FX is ok and have some strategies where u can list playing area, key position player and things.

Should be able to place more people on same player, put on tags, loose player in defence, a type of play simple options like one on one/running/flooding etc.

Theres some very basic tactics to implement. Advanced tactics would be like what players should do at ruck contests, like shepherd a player or anticipate the tap to a particular area.

I agree with a lot you wrote

My main problem with actual game play ( I won't start of the poor graphics) is Marking is very hard to time, 07 was the hardest so far. 2/ Your players get penalised too quick for holding the ball 3/ You should be able to choose any player when opposition have marked or got a free kick, not the next player of yours close to them, e.g your rucknman or player down the field,
As for the trading at end of season, totally unrealistic the number of players who switch teams. Plus a cut off age shoudl be inplace that players who have retired in real life,, are not longer playing.
Also some rotations of players on and of the bench by the AI team would make it more realstic. I mean I have kicked 10 goals on one player and of course in real life the defender would be moved but no he stays and even his rating during game is not high. Can someone tell me if they have found this to be right, that the number of marks a player takes, gives them the highest ranking as in best on ground.?

Just my view cents worth.
J.Waite vs J.Brown 2007

AFL 09- Please?