Opinion AFL 2025 Finals Week 1 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated… FINALS EDITION

It was a mixed bag on Thursday and Friday, but the two Saturday finals were exhilarating. We bid farewell to the Giants and Dockers. Six teams remain and we’re in for a cracking few weeks. Let’s go wrapping…

Crows v Pies, Thursday night: If you needed any evidence that finals are a whole new ball game, look no further than this game. The high flying ladder leaders who’d swept all before them, against a side that had limped into the finals having nearly tumbled out of the Top 4 altogether. Sure enough, the finals hardened Magpies brought fierce heat and didn’t look anything like the side had lost five out of their last seven games. Another famous interstate win for a side that’s had a few of them. Oh and while we’re here, if you’re one of the Crows supporters that singled out Isaac Quaynor for more booing than any other player on the ground, you’re a tool and maybe footy isn’t for you.

1757162446550.jpeg

Cats v Lions, Friday night: After these two played out a gem of a prelim last year, this game promised a lot. It didn’t deliver. In fact it was tepid, bruise-free stuff for long patches. Neither side brought much pressure but the Cats did bring an intelligent, professional game plan that a wounded Brisbane had no answers to. That bizarre minute in the second quarter when the umpire lost the plot and took it upon himself to gift a couple of goals to Cam Rayner was just about the only “highlight”. Says it all really.

1757162456612.jpeg

Giants v Hawks, Saturday twilight: Um… wow??! This game was sputtering towards its own boring conclusion until an orange tsunami hit Giants stadium in the third term. They went from seven goals down to level in a matter of minutes! Just when it looked like they were going to match Brisbane’s ridiculous comeback at the same venue 12 months ago, their challenge peaked and Hawthorn found something to steady the ship. It’s another one that got away for the Orange Team, and it’s another big September win for Hawthorn. Great final.

1757162467526.jpeg

Dockers v Suns, Saturday night: Talk about saving the best for last. This was NUTS. The Suns (playing their first ever finals game let’s not forget) had complete control until the Dockers came alive in the third term. When the home side turned up the heat I daresay there were a few people writing the Suns off… “not ready to win a final yet” would have been doing the rounds in a few news rooms. But they were having none of it. A goal down, Mac Andrew took a grab and then marched back to take his kick like he wanted to own the moment, and then with seconds left who else should have a shot to win the game than Dave Swallow, the West Australian who’s been so loyal to the Gold Coast for so long. Stunning win, and what an amazing Q-clash final it sets up next week.

1757162523514.jpeg

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about week one of the finals!

Liked: Cats showed they're more than just a soft draw. Battle hardened, fit and ready for a crack at another flag. Also Suns winning their first final, good on em'.
Learnt: You can win a large portion of possession and still lose comfortably, it's how you use it that matters. (Looking at you Brisbane).
Hated: The whole Rayner fiasco. Horrible look for Cam, horrible look for the game. The way GWS went out again, rollercoaster finals loss for the 2nd year in a row.

someone on the broadcast said freo have won 7 finals in their 31 year history.

I learnt gold coast are gonna go past that in the next 3. I'm a believer in the idea this current freo squad is the most talented we've ever had. maybe a bit young still. but gold coast are gonna blow right past that i reckon. they are stacked.

Liked: Hokball is back (again), peak form at the right time of the year. Three more wins and The Wizard + The Ginni will be premiership stars. Let that sink in boys and girls

Learnt: Adelaide are fragile

Hated: The welcome to country. Put a 90 second time limit on it or (even better) axe it entirely.

Liked. The Sun's have gone in 15 years from floggable foundlings to winning a final. This is how you do it Essendon

Learnt. Lions getting crippled by injury at the worst time of year really hampers their premiership defence.

Hated. Welcome to Country. Needs a time limit. Max 90 seconds. I love the ceremony but stop waffling on. Be more concise and to the point.

Liked: tonight, what a way for Gold Coast to win their first!

Learnt: Crows aren't as good as I thought, Geelong scary good. Questions marks around Lions.

Hated: obviously Pies, Cats and to a lesser extent Hawks winning.

Liked: Last quarter of the Suns Freo game.

Learnt: Freo is going nowhere with Longmuir. Mac Andrew being a clutch goal kicker wasn't a fluke last time. Quaynor thrives when booed. Having a home final in week 1 is overrated.

Hated: Diving.

Thought Hawthorn, Collingwood, Geelong and Suns were amazing.

Thought the standard of each games was excellent. Thought the umpiring was fantastic in all games except Brisbane v Geelong.

Lets hope that the umpire or umpires in Geelong v Brisabne never umpire again. Complete game manipulation and ruining AFL.

LIKED - Suns winning there first final - cracking edge of seat game with a awesome ending.

LEARNT - Dimma has still got it

HATED - Adelaide letting themselves down

LOVED
-The atmosphere at Crows/Collingwood and Freo/Suns.

-Finals footy.

-Nick Daicos skills.

-Collingwood so clean with their ball use but also winning in that environment. What a win. Epic.

-All the supporters of away teams that travelled. You all made noise and did your clubs proud.

-Mac and Swallow kicking those goals. Ripping mark by Jackson up the other end too.

-The Suns first final win.

LEARNT
-Geelong are damm good. Gave us a lesson. Hope we learn.

-Steele Sidebottom is still a gun and possibly still underrated. Massive big time player and great for the younger Collingwood players (aka Luke Hodge)

-Hawthorn are mentally tough.

-Sam Mitchell and Chris Scott are the best coaches going round.

-GWS have some absolute weapons but need Sam Mitchell or Chris Scott to coach them.

HATED
-How pathetic we were. Honestly was the biggest let down. It was a drubbing. Don't let the scoreboard fool you. Outclassed.
We were the team that failed miserably. Every other team were good... win or loss.

-The two gift goals we got. Honestly **** off with that umpiring. Neither of those are frees in netball. Those reversal free kicks in front of goal are a blight on the game. Umpires should get fined for paying them. They are disgusting free kicks. If you feel a need to be a hero umpire maybe pay it in the centre. If we won the game after that bullshit I would have been embarrassed. So from that moment that game was ruined.. yep that 2 minutes of umpiring literally ****ed the game up. I can't watch AFL when umpires do that shit. The best game in the world literally goes to the worst game in the world. Here have a goal...he teased you and touched you in the side or front on. oh have another free goal a player has fallen to the ground. Look I'll assert myself on the game and please the crowd and cheer squad and give you another free goal. ****.

-People crying about Crows fans booing. Geelong fans boo...is that ok with you? Wish our fans had the venom and passion of Crows fans. I know they are sooks but it's because they are so passionate. Love the Crows fans passion. What do people expect them to do after Collingwood players dob on Rankine and he gets five?? You want them to sit quietly or give around of applause for snitching? I understand we have become a boring woke country. Well done to Crows fans and well done to Quaynor, he absolutely handled it and responded the most professional way ever.

-Can I say welcome to country or will I get in trouble or fined.

Liked: Great Hawks win, shouted myself hoarse
Learnt: re-learnt the umps interpret the rules differently in finals
Hated: the four 20 somethings (2 guys, 2 girls) behind us swearing at the top of their lungs despite the kids sitting with us.

It was a mixed bag on Thursday and Friday, but the two Saturday finals were exhilarating. We bid farewell to the Giants and Dockers. Six teams remain and we’re in for a cracking few weeks. Let’s go wrapping…

Crows v Pies, Thursday night: If you needed any evidence that finals are a whole new ball game, look no further than this game. The high flying ladder leaders who’d swept all before them, against a side that had limped into the finals having nearly tumbled out of the Top 4 altogether. Sure enough, the finals hardened Magpies brought fierce heat and didn’t look anything like the side had lost five out of their last seven games. Another famous interstate win for a side that’s had a few of them. Oh and while we’re here, if you’re one of the Crows supporters that singled out Isaac Quaynor for more booing than any other player on the ground, you’re a tool and maybe footy isn’t for you.

View attachment 2419035

Cats v Lions, Friday night: After these two played out a gem of a prelim last year, this game promised a lot. It didn’t deliver. In fact it was tepid, bruise-free stuff for long patches. Neither side brought much pressure but the Cats did bring an intelligent, professional game plan that a wounded Brisbane had no answers to. That bizarre minute in the second quarter when the umpire lost the plot and took it upon himself to gift a couple of goals to Cam Rayner was just about the only “highlight”. Says it all really.

View attachment 2419037

Giants v Hawks, Saturday twilight: Um… wow??! This game was sputtering towards its own boring conclusion until an orange tsunami hit Giants stadium in the third term. They went from seven goals down to level in a matter of minutes! Just when it looked like they were going to match Brisbane’s ridiculous comeback at the same venue 12 months ago, their challenge peaked and Hawthorn found something to steady the ship. It’s another one that got away for the Orange Team, and it’s another big September win for Hawthorn. Great final.

View attachment 2419038

Dockers v Suns, Saturday night: Talk about saving the best for last. This was NUTS. The Suns (playing their first ever finals game let’s not forget) had complete control until the Dockers came alive in the third term. When the home side turned up the heat I daresay there were a few people writing the Suns off… “not ready to win a final yet” would have been doing the rounds in a few news rooms. But they were having none of it. A goal down, Mac Andrew took a grab and then marched back to take his kick like he wanted to own the moment, and then with seconds left who else should have a shot to win the game than Dave Swallow, the West Australian who’s been so loyal to the Gold Coast for so long. Stunning win, and what an amazing Q-clash final it sets up next week.

View attachment 2419040

Don’t forget to post your Liked, Learnt, Hated below… along with any other thoughts you had about week one of the finals!
Your most sombre and begrudgingly praising Cats review of the year. I don't blame you, the match probably reminded you of the 2022 grand final but without the proper scoreboard punishment. Geelong's pressure and intensity was elite though, so that part of your description was confusing.

"... was tepid, bruise-free stuff ... Neither side brought much pressure ... a wounded Brisbane"
🤦‍♂️

Liked: the way finals give teams and players very few places to hide. You come in with only one gameplan? It'll be picked apart. You persist with a player who has obvious weaknesses? They will be exposed. Your coach is frequently out-strategised? It will happen again.
Personally, was very pleased with Geelong's "bruise-free" 80 tackles. The most by any side on the weekend, and against a team trying very much to use short passing to get up the ground.

Learned: some faces to put to the names of Suns players. I really like Humphrey. Funny old fellow, and he lets his actions do the talking.

Hated: brutal exits caused by injury or father time.

by comparison, Adelaide laid only 56 tackles on Thursday night. That's eight below their own average.

Your most sombre and begrudgingly praising Cats review of the year. I don't blame you, the match probably reminded you of the 2022 grand final but without the proper scoreboard punishment. Geelong's pressure and intensity was elite though, so that part of your description was confusing.
On the contrary, I’ve never really had anything against the Cats so it’s never begrudging praise. If anything I’m impressed that they keep on keeping on. I just call each game as I see it. Supporters of most clubs have accused me of begrudgingly praising them or giving them an unfairly hard time… possibly because I give everyone an unfairly hard time.

I’m sure that game was a thing of beauty for Geelong fans and full credit to you for the win, but it was easily the least exciting or intense game of the weekend. Pressure ratings (which admittedly can tell a false story) were in the 180s for both sides at various stages, and the naked eye backed that up. If your opinion differs then that’s all good, it’s why there’s an “opinion”
tag on the thread 🤷🏻‍♂️

On the contrary, I’ve never really had anything against the Cats so it’s never begrudging praise. If anything I’m impressed that they keep on keeping on. I just call each game as I see it. Supporters of most clubs have accused me of begrudgingly praising them or giving them an unfairly hard time… possibly because I give everyone an unfairly hard time.

I’m sure that game was a thing of beauty for Geelong fans and full credit to you for the win, but it was easily the least exciting or intense game of the weekend. Pressure ratings (which admittedly can tell a false story) were in the 180s for both sides at various stages, and the naked eye backed that up. If your opinion differs then that’s all good, it’s why there’s an “opinion”
tag on the thread 🤷🏻‍♂️
I believe Geelong laid 50 odd tackles in the first half against Brisbane. I'd be surprised if many sides have done that to them over the past 6 or 7 seasons. It was just about the most I recall Geelong "hunting" a side in a final under Scott.

The game definitely went flat for the last quarter, with Brisbane kicking some consolation goals and neither side seeming to care. The first 3 quarters we saw plenty of intensity, run and dare - it was just mostly from the Cats so I understand that hurt it for neutrals. Kind of a mirror image of their GF against you Swannies?

I believe Geelong laid 50 odd tackles in the first half against Brisbane. I'd be surprised if many sides have done that to them over the past 6 or 7 seasons. It was just about the most I recall Geelong "hunting" a side in a final under Scott.

The game definitely went flat for the last quarter, with Brisbane kicking some consolation goals and neither side seeming to care. The first 3 quarters we saw plenty of intensity, run and dare - it was just mostly from the Cats so I understand that hurt it for neutrals. Kind of a mirror image of their GF against you Swannies?
You were doing so well until the last line 😂 Don’t worry, I didn’t miss out on the multiple times you’ve tried to needle me about the 2022 Grand Final. Duly noted! How about this… I have nightmares every night and wake up in a cold sweat yelling out “JEREMY CAMERON!!” Is that what you needed to hear? Yikes, Brisbane smashed us in a granny way more recently than you did and they don’t seem to feel as much of a need to keep revisiting it.

Anyhow, yes fair enough. Perhaps the game on Friday night was more intense in the first half than I gave it credit for. Kudos! Another prelim final appearance on the way for a magnificently run footy club.

tag on the thread 🤷🏻‍♂️

The Cats made over 80 tackles and we sat just off Brisbane and made it impossible for them to bring the ball back into the middle. It wasn’t frantic ‘manic’ style pressure, but it was high pressure of a different kind where every one of the kicks or hand passes they normally like to use brought an element of risk and we exposed it dozens of times and scored from it.

Liked: Suns. Rowell and Anderson grunt. Humphrey polish. Andrew clutch. Swallow dream. Travelling fans excitement. Club genuine joy.
(in fact): Loved: Suns (for all the above)
Learnt: Suns might not be done yet. Brisbane are wounded and there for the taking. Win that, and 90k Pies fans wait at the ‘G. How good would that be?
Hated: Those justifying or accepting or minimising the booing of Quaynor. A special mention for those who feel the need to pretend they hate the WTC and what it represents, without saying it outright. I’m not telling these two groups they can’t say why they want, go your hardest, just telling them what I think of their ignorance.

The Cats made over 80 tackles and we sat just off Brisbane and made it impossible for them to bring the ball back into the middle. It wasn’t frantic ‘manic’ style pressure, but it was high pressure of a different kind where every one of the kicks or hand passes they normally like to use brought an element of risk and we exposed it dozens of times and scored from it.
Fair description. Brisbane did break down repeatedly and they’re too good a side (injury niggles or not) to do that without any pressure on them.

star trek spock GIF

Liked: Suns. Rowell and Anderson grunt. Humphrey polish. Andrew clutch. Swallow dream. Travelling fans excitement. Club genuine joy.
(in fact): Loved: Suns (for all the above)
Learnt: Suns might not be done yet. Brisbane are wounded and there for the taking. Win that, and 90k Pies fans wait at the ‘G. How good would that be?
Hated: Those justifying or accepting or minimising the booing of Quaynor. A special mention for those who feel the need to pretend they hate the WTC and what it represents, without saying it outright. I’m not telling these two groups they can’t say why they want, go your hardest, just telling them what I think of their ignorance.
Well said all round mate

Opinion AFL 2025 Finals Week 1 - Weekend Wrap & Liked, Learnt, Hated… FINALS EDITION