Autopsy AFL 2025 Second Elimination Final - Freo v Suns Sat Sept 6th 7:35pm AEST/5:35pm WST (OS)

Who will win and by how much?

• Freo by a goal or less

Votes: 6 5.9%
  • Freo by 7 - 20

Votes: 47 46.1%
  • Freo by a lot

Votes: 25 24.5%
  • Suns by a goal or less

Votes: 7 6.9%
  • Suns by 7 - 20

Votes: 10 9.8%
  • Suns by a lot

Votes: 6 5.9%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 1.0%

Well done to the Suns! to go over to Perth in their first final and win is no easy feat. What an outstanding performance by Matt Rowell he looked so comfortable playing finals. Kid was born for it.

I tend to agree, it was maybe 50/50 but very surprised they paid it given the stage of the game.

It wasn't the reason Freo lost though and it added to the theatre.

I don't think it should be a free, but it's been awarded all year (and while consistent, is one of the worst interpretations of a rule we have).

What was worse was the blatant throw by Rowell (?) in the centre square that created the clearance right before the Swallow free.

Umpires clearly do not give a **** about correct disposal by hand, and the amount of throws that go unpunished not only change the outcomes of finals, but even the way that footy is played. It's a hell of a lot easier to spring the ball out of congestion by throwing it rather than handpassing.

Suns were always a chance to win tonight.

Suns took 15 years to make finals and win their 1st final too....

Comparing that to the other non Victorian sides.

Crows had to wait in their 3rd season to make finals. And they won their 1st final too.

Eagles made finals in their 2nd year in 1988 narrowly lost. Had their 1st finals win in 1990 vs demons after a draw and loss to magpies.

Brisbane took until their 9th season to make finals in 1995. Then won their 1st final the next season.

People will be upset about it, I won't be.

Shai Bolton has had a solid season at Freo. He played a key role in some of the dockers narrow wins this season.

I always thought suns were a chance. They had nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Well this dockers side got 15 wins this season... I dont Think Justin Longmuir will get us to a flag.

I do expect this team to make finals for 2 or 3 years in a row.

AFL wanted a Queensland clash semi final. AFL hoped the dockers lose to the suns and they got their wish.

Still got a young playing list.

Would of sucked had Freo lost to the dogs in that crunch game. We would of been 9th with 15 wins and 8 defeats.

Just had to look this up.... 2013 , 2014, 2015 and 2022.

I will say this.... Richmond should of won at least one Elim final in that 2013 to 2015 era. Either 2013 vs the blues or 2015 vs North.

Nah, Richmond should of won either 2013 vs Carlton or 2015 vs North .

Surprised that 2017 tigers side didn't win one final In 2013 to 2015

Shai Bolton after his 15 possession and 9 clanger game, having a giggle with Rioli after the game :oops:

Bolton had 82 shots on goal in season 2025: 28 goals, 29 behinds and 25 no score (out of bounds/on the full, didnt make distance etc). That's a goal accuracy of 34.1%....that is clearly not good enough. Bad kicking on goal is as bad as any turnover, an errand handpass or errand kick.

Buckley commentating after the game said..

´The Swallow free kick was a 50/50 could of gone either way´

It was clearly holding the man... the tackler just held on too long.

Not even close to a 50/50. I don't get how such an expert of the game has that take on that decision. You could understand it coming from a sooking Crows supporter, but Nathan Buckley.

Commiserations but also well done to Dockers fans...gee you guys were loud. That last 10 minutes was like nothing else. Electric.

just watched that final quarter replay..
David Swallow would be waking up this morning with a smile on his face.
Like a fairytale the ending with him involved last night.
Took the occasion from his final AFL game to me and my team-mates march on!

Buckley commentating after the game said..

´The Swallow free kick was a 50/50 could of gone either way´

It was clearly holding the man... the tackler just held on too long.

Not even close to a 50/50. I don't get how such an expert of the game has that take on that decision. You could understand it coming from a sooking Crows supporter, but Nathan Buckley.

Commiserations but also well done to Dockers fans...gee you guys were loud. That last 10 minutes was like nothing else. Electric.
Swallow took possession, he was dispossessed by the tackle, it was physically impossible for the tackler to either a) know he dropped the ball or b) not complete the tackle.

I think it was different to the holding the man free kicks that look like this that have been paid for the last few years. Tackler was just very unlucky that it looked the way it did, because it was a f*ing excellent tackle.

Teams that have won a final in the last 20 years: Adelaide, Brisbane, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Geelong, Gold Coast, GWS, Hawthorn, Melbourne, North, Port Adelaide, Richmond, St Kilda, Sydney, West Coast, Bulldogs

Hey wait, one team is missing...
We need Robbo back to tell us all how the Bombers will make finals in 2026

I don’t agree. I know you do see them paid but that’s the shittest rule and most poorly officiated rule in the book.

I don’t have a dog in the fight and don’t begrudge the Suns but when a player gets his hands to the ball, he’s fair game. You can tackle him. It’s not up to the tackler to then go ‘oh I’d better stop and have a look to see if my tackle was effective in dislodging the ball and not complete my tackle.’

He is entitled to complete the tackle. If the other guy wasn’t good enough to maintain possession, that’s his fault.
Fair enough. No dog here either. And I was hoping Freo would win.

Trouble is, the line needs to be drawn somewhere for the end of the tackle. This one simply lingered a bit too long for mine.

Only because this was their GF and they’ll be buggered next week.

Pound for pound they could match Brisbane, they should have been up by 40+ tonight.

But yeah can’t see them backing it up after flying back from Perth from a game like that.

Gold Coast a red hot chance.

Lots of injuries to the Lions & Gold Coast midfield smashed ours not long ago.

Gold Coast a red hot chance.

Lots of injuries to the Lions & Gold Coast midfield smashed ours not long ago.
Expect you guys to bounce back strongly after a disappointing performance.

GC also just played their GF on the toughest away trip in footy. Has all the makings of a classic 40 point loss to follow it up next week.

They’ll give it a crack but I reckon they’ll fade. Similar to tonight, if you’re within 4 goals with a quarter to go I reckon they’re done.

Autopsy AFL 2025 Second Elimination Final - Freo v Suns Sat Sept 6th 7:35pm AEST/5:35pm WST (OS)