AFL Live 2

People get chased down because they run in a straight line. Change it up.

Stop, arc around, fend them off and gain space.

There are better options than "get ball and sprint".

Sick of people who whinge about it. I have no trouble finding space with my runners. Only try it when they are the best option to attack.

Oh good, i'm not the only one. I have no problems breaking away with speedsters, when the situation permits. It's like everyone wants to just be able to handball to Dangerfield or Jetta and have them run the length of the ground untackled every single time.

I wonder if people complain about other games in the same way just because they can't figure them out. "GTA was shit because i kept dying in shootouts after running out of ammo." "GT5 sucked because the other cars would always beat me."

You guys have it the wrong way around. I'm an Eagles fan, so only play as the Eagles. I get annoyed when I can chase down Rioli and Jetta as Selwood. Or can spoil Sandilands as anyone. When I finish season mode on the hardest difficulty and the top 10 tacklers in the AFL are all Eagles players, you know something is wrong, and it's these kinds of issues I hope are improved upon in AFL Live 2.

You can't deny the original is an absolute tackle-fest. The original has serious faults we should all be hoping are rectified in AFL Live 2, not spending our time defending them and coming up with ridiculous strawman arguments about Grand Theft Auto and Gran Turismo for some reason, and I'm sure Ross will be the first to agree. He's a big boy, he doesn't need you defending faults in his game.

The original is only a tackle fest at low-level play.

The first game was fairly high skill, but the AI was so bad that it would often ruin good games IMO by putting your players in really bad positions. My feeling is that even if AFL live 2 is good, it will be a shallow game in comparison to the first.

So basically what you're saying is that Bootsma could develop into the new Zac Dawson.

I'll get the shotgun, someone bring Josh out back.
Yep and you should be happy about that, zac is a great player who makes his oponnent work hard and always works hard every week without the flair of other defenders. Josh is the same always works hard and just does the one percenters and if you guys don't want him I'd love to have him at freo( we should've got him under father/son anyway)

You guys have it the wrong way around. I'm an Eagles fan, so only play as the Eagles. I get annoyed when I can chase down Rioli and Jetta as Selwood. Or can spoil Sandilands as anyone. When I finish season mode on the hardest difficulty and the top 10 tacklers in the AFL are all Eagles players, you know something is wrong, and it's these kinds of issues I hope are improved upon in AFL Live 2.

You can't deny the original is an absolute tackle-fest. The original has serious faults we should all be hoping are rectified in AFL Live 2, not spending our time defending them and coming up with ridiculous strawman arguments about Grand Theft Auto and Gran Turismo for some reason, and I'm sure Ross will be the first to agree. He's a big boy, he doesn't need you defending faults in his game.

AFL Live had faults, sure, however it is a video game and so needed balance, you can't have players just running away and beating everyone because of their stats alone, if I want to win a flag with Melbourne then I need to be able too. The AI is notoriously difficult to code in AFL, so many variables to consider, despite what people have posted about our AI, in my opinion the AI and resultant positioning in AFL Live is it's strongest feature. I certainly look forward to your comments on the AI in AFL Live 2 (I am yet to see anything other than the screenshots and trailer myself).

I know from the number of games played online that people got good value for their money with AFL Live and am content with what we produced. It is the best AFL game to date of that I am sure.

Agree with all above.

Its only a tacklefest if you are playing it wrong.

The AI is rubbish. On the hardest difficulty i would consistently smash teams by 15 goals. I understand its difficult to creat intelligent AI as the sport is too chaotic.

But to say its a tacklefest means you are not playing 3 moves ahead of the contest.

Stop holding triangle (ps3) and clear the ball out to a free man. Also, learn to hold up play to allow your AI to lead to space, then kick it to their advantage in that space.

Its basic football stuff but if you know how to play footy you can create some pretty exciting passages of play.

I do NOT expect that kind of detail in this new game.

Yep and you should be happy about that, zac is a great player who makes his oponnent work hard and always works hard every week without the flair of other defenders. Josh is the same always works hard and just does the one percenters and if you guys don't want him I'd love to have him at freo( we should've got him under father/son anyway)
Or Maybe Zac Dawson is the absolute most basic of players that is directed to glue himself to his opponent and punch because his basic skills are worse than that of an under-12. He is a worse Nick Maxwell.

The AI is rubbish. On the hardest difficulty i would consistently smash teams by 15 goals. I understand its difficult to creat intelligent AI as the sport is too chaotic.

The trouble is I get more people telling us the AI is too hard than too easy... I think if you *know* footy then it's too easy, most people don't :(

We also made sure the AI didn't cheat to win, perhaps that was a mistake.

Or Maybe Zac Dawson is the absolute most basic of players that is directed to glue himself to his opponent and punch because his basic skills are worse than that of an under-12. He is a worse Nick Maxwell.
Granted Zac has made some mistakes but calling him basic is just silly, when zac runs out each week I know he's going to do the freo jumper proud as he always gives it his all and works hard. His job as a defender is to shut down his opponent and he does that well, I don't know what you'd expect from him. A huge part of freo's improvement over the last few years has been Zacs contribution to our backline lead by McPharlin and Johnson.

The trouble is I get more people telling us the AI is too hard than too easy... I think if you *know* footy then it's too easy, most people don't :(

I've had times when I've said the game was too easy but i then get an epic game where the Ai make me work hard for the win. ( I don't expect AFL Live 2 to be any harder)

Also Ross you mentioned that giving a team like Melbourne a chance at winning a flag in game, the other day I thought that on the hardest difficulty ( especially on career mode) that a Melbourne or gws should find it near impossible to win a flag without drafting or developing the talent over a number of seasons and the Ai should reflect that. Your thoughts ?

Granted Zac has made some mistakes but calling him basic is just silly, when zac runs out each week I know he's going to do the freo jumper proud as he always gives it his all and works hard. His job as a defender is to shut down his opponent and he does that well, I don't know what you'd expect from him. A huge part of freo's improvement over the last few years has been Zacs contribution to our backline lead by McPharlin and Johnson.
Well, you're definitely a Fremantle supporter.

You did well enough, if thats the case.

I only play online anyway, which can be challenging as it is.

Improving the opponents AI would be a waste of time, however improving non controlled team mates AI would be awesome. Frustrating when you create a loose man for him to then start running away from the contest.

Biggest problem for me in AFL Live was that the same thing worked every time. It became too easy to kick goals, all you had to do was the same thing. With that said, that goes for basically every sports game in existence.

I doubt im going to buy this game. I dont know if im going to enjoy playing it if i did get it.

AFL Live had faults, sure, however it is a video game and so needed balance, you can't have players just running away and beating everyone because of their stats alone, if I want to win a flag with Melbourne then I need to be able too. The AI is notoriously difficult to code in AFL, so many variables to consider, despite what people have posted about our AI, in my opinion the AI and resultant positioning in AFL Live is it's strongest feature. I certainly look forward to your comments on the AI in AFL Live 2 (I am yet to see anything other than the screenshots and trailer myself).

I know from the number of games played online that people got good value for their money with AFL Live and am content with what we produced. It is the best AFL game to date of that I am sure.

Ross, I couldn't get one game online through the matchmaking on PC, there were times I would just let it sit matchmaking for half an hour or so waiting for someone to join and still no luck. I think there was a time where I got one or two of the people on here to try matchmaking at the same time and the system couldn't match us up for a game. So it seems like people were trying to play, but the system wasn't good enough. Also there was a nasty bug with the interchange system where it would display column or row numbers in the bottom left-hand side instead of the actual player's names. Also it was noticed on the PC version the AI would do stupid things such as not take their kick from a mark and then get run down. It's things like these that made it into the PC version after the very long delay between the console version that was very disappointing Seems like you guys spent the time but couldn't fix it, so just released what you had, with bugs or not? Would've been alright if they were fixed in the long run.

Is it that hard to port it to PC? Just would've thought it would have been on par with the console version or better, but it seems like it wasn't.

Agreed, it would have been team mate AI that had the priority, shepherds off the ball and the like.

The only issue I had for the most part with your AI was that the tactics would just result in midfielders and forwards congregating at CHF or CHB when you changed their tactics. With a dominant ruckman against a side who didn't have midfield set to defensive you could just win every clearance and dominate the match.

Other than that it wasn't bad, there were a few easy exploits like running off the man with the ball until he's about to bounce then charging at him as he bounces and tackling him before he'd dispose of it. But that's not a big deal as you can just not do that if you want realism, but at the same time it is a key aspect of defending being able to sit between 2 players and create doubt in the ball carrier's mind so it was a bit frustrating that doing so would result in a turnover 90% of the time.

As has been said though it was definitely a skill based game and I had some cracking online games, especially against HBK I reckon 90% of our games were decided by less than a kick.

AFL Live 2