AFL overtaking NRL in QLD

Do you have a citation for this please?

It seems the citation is direct from AI which mentions house prices as the reason.
I would think it has more to do with the constant flooding, constant storms, coastal erosion, major rezoning of huge tracks of land and the inability to get insurance.

There's been a few recent articles on this recently. Here's one -
That article doesn't say anything like "there was actually more net migration from Queenslanders into Victoria this year". In fact it doesn't give the stats for migration between any two specific states. All it says is that Queensland's quarterly net gain from interstate migration has fallen, and Victoria finally has a net gain of interstate migration again after years of net losses. Even so, it's a tiny gain, only +400 people, compared to Queensland's +4000.

And it's ridiculous to think there's anything like a net flow anyway:

NSW
NSWVicQldSAWATasNTACT
Interstate arrivals83,28673,511103,54424,03538,63012,95314,44320,274
Interstate departures109,84675,82979,52925,50526,95515,17016,31821,524
Net interstate migration-26,560-2,31824,015-1,47011,675-2,217-1,875-1,250

NSW
NSWVicQldSAWATasNTACT

Something wrong there. Total immigration 2024 was 446k, that's 446k arrivals into Australia.

Maybe you should stop using ChatGPT hallucinated figuers and read the word "interstate" written three times on the table

NSW
NSWVicQldSAWATasNTACT
So those numbers were released three weeks ago and it's pretty obvious that Queensland is way ahead of every other state in terms of interstate migration growth. I think I read approximately 60% of the interstate migration to Queensland in the last 12 months has come from New South Wales, so if we do a bit of guesstimation work here it probably means 20-30% of the annual interstate migration numbers to Queensland comes from Victoria. So around 30k new Victorians living in Queensland (mostly in South East Queensland) when compared to the same time 12 months earlier.

Given these aren't overseas migrants, it's probably fair to say a good percentage of these Victorians who continue to move to Queensland each year are at least somewhat interested in footy and some would obviously be very passionate footy supporters. So if you assume just half of the Vics moving to QLD are at least somewhat interested in footy (that's probably being conservative) then we're potentially adding approximately 15k Victorian ex pat footy fans to Queensland each year. Then you add in the smaller numbers of WA, SA, NT & Tassie migrants who come to Queensland each year, as well as those from southern NSW who are more footy inclined, and we're probably somewhere in the region of 20k new footy fans moving to Queensland each year.

Obviously a lot of these interstate migrants already have an AFL team that they will always support, but I've noticed there are many interstate ex pats who adopt one of the QLD teams as their secondary team and will attend Lions/Suns games accordingly. However, it's really their kids that grow up here who will make the biggest difference in terms of growth of the sport up here. The important factor there is to have QLD teams performing at a high level so that next generation of kids adopt the local team as their own and become lifelong fans. The Lions are coming up to their 7th consecutive years of finals footy and that means there are kids aged in the 14-15yo range living in Brisbane who don't remember a time when the Lions weren't playing finals and that's an attractive proposition when it comes to choosing your preferred sport as a teenager.

The trends listed above have really continued since the COVID years and they are playing a massive role in growth of the game up here year after year, as evidenced by both QLD teams consistently hitting new memership/attendance records year after year. It's a snowball effect and it's changing the culture up here. Many workplaces/schools that were previously very anti-AFL are now starting to open their eyes and become more accepting of the sport. Eventually you hit a tipping point where there are enough footy fans in both workplaces and schools to make it socially acceptable to be a fan without any fear of ridicule and I'd say we're very close to that tipping point on the Gold Coast. Brisbane are on their way, too. You only have to see how publicly supportive the Broncos are of the Lions these days to see things are changing.

So yeah. As long as these trends continue, then footy has a very bright future in Queensland. Don't know if Aussie rules will ever truly be number 1 in Queensland as a whole, but we'll undoubtedly be a very strong state in the future. That's for sure.

I never knew that the ABS was AI.

If you care to add up those figures there is substantial shortfall compared to the immigration figures.
where did they go to ?
Dude, AI is misreading figures from news articles, not pulling the correct table.

And if you add together the figures it adds up to 0. You know, because it's measuring people moving from one state or territory to the other. Like everyone else in the thread has figured out.

The Storm's 734,000 in the Melbourne Oztam metro (which includes Geelong etc) of 5.5 million is 13.4% of the viewing population.

The Lions 456,000 in the Brisbane Oztam metro (which includes Gold Coast etc) of 3.6 million is 12.7%.

So NRL in Melbourne had a higher percentage of viewers than the AFL in South-East Queensland . Quite surprising

The Storm's 734,000 in the Melbourne Oztam metro (which includes Geelong etc) of 5.5 million is 13.4% of the viewing population.

The Lions 456,000 in the Brisbane Oztam metro (which includes Gold Coast etc) of 3.6 million is 12.7%.

So NRL in Melbourne had a higher percentage of viewers than the AFL in South-East Queensland . Quite surprising
This was bought up before, and it is really not surprising that proportionately slighly more would watch a Sunday prime time event then a Saturday arvo event.

Who isn´t watching TV at 7pm on a Sunday night?

Or maybe at 7pm on a Sunday night are they at work, playing sports, out for lunch or out shopping.

Do you honestly think the ratings are even remotely close if the AFL Grand Final was at prime time?
Or do you honestly think the NRL Grand Final pulls those figures or close to the AFL if it is played at 2pm on a Saturday afternoon?

The only thing that is true is that the NRL Grand final was a better contest.

Dude, AI is misreading figures from news articles, not pulling the correct table.

Huh ? You posted the table not me.

And if you add together the figures it adds up to 0.

But it cannot if immigration is 446k.
That's 446k that has moved into Australia.
That's 446k that has moved into Australian states and territories.
These people have to live somewhere.

Huh ? You posted the table not me.

But it cannot if immigration is 446k.
That's 446k that has moved into Australia.
That's 446k that has moved into Australian states and territories.
These people have to live somewhere.
Do you misunderstand what the word interstate means?

From one state to another?

It means into the state - from other states or overseas.
I can't believe I'm saying this, but the definition of interstate means from one state to another, where overseas, surprise surprise, is not a state of Australia.

This was bought up before, and it is really not surprising that proportionately slighly more would watch a Sunday prime time event then a Saturday arvo event.
But Melburne did not have public holiday following Monday 10pm finish may be too late for some

So how do you know the origin of someone new to the state ?

The entire discussion was only ever about interstate movement, not international migration

Does it ever get exhausting keeping watch 24/7 for any post that dares make the AFL look good?

Must be like a full-time gig at this point — clocking in, pretending to be the “confused neutral,” asking your trademark rhetorical questions just to remind everyone “the NRL are really winning!” You deserve long service leave at this rate.
Thank you for your kind words.
Thought nrl struggled in Victoria like participation is not that good and lack of talent coming from there. Complete opposite in Queensland who have as of late great record of producing top players

This has got to be one of the stupidest discussions I've ever taken part in.
How about you just post the link to that table so we have study it.

It's literally just the main ABS state population website that you scroll down.

Much faster than going to ChatGPT

AFL overtaking NRL in QLD