AFL players studying at university

There's def. a lot of smart footy players out there.

Players from Freo
Byron Schammer was doing Pscyhology (I think), a mate of mine was sitting in the same exam room

Pav was also studying something at UWA

McPharlin goes to Curtin (I see him around all the time at the cafeteria)

Players from the Eagles
Adam Selwood was doing Commerce (I think) at Curtin

Tom Swift I am pretty sure goes to UWA

and let's not forget, James Hird has a degree in civil eng.

Re: players doing uni degrees...

I belive Harry Talor has been studying or has finished his studys in physio.Hogan has put his Medical studys on hold.He had a 98% entry score:eek:

Frist of all, entry scores are not a percentage, they are a ranking score.

ie. someone with a University Admissions Index (UAI) of 99, did not score an average of 99% in all of their assessment.

Secondly, by medical studies? Do you mean Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery? If so, which university is taking students with UAI's of 98?

Recently did a management unit through Open Universities with Scott Pendlebury and Nathan Jones.

I had an exam for a different unit and Ben Mcevoy was there to complete an exam for sports science or something related to that.

Chris Judd just before he left Perth almost had finished his Masters in Business I've been told by one of my lecturers.

Adam Selwood was in my first Accounting Unit not sure if hes still doing it though.

Ben McKinley is apparently completing a Law degree at UWA.

Also its well known Woosha is a qualified Chemist.

Originally Posted by Kittycat
I belive Harry Talor has been studying or has finished his studys in physio.Hogan has put his Medical studys on hold.He had a 98% entry score

Haha I studied first year Physio with Harry (I dropped out after - so boring)

He's a funny quiet chap, always wore his Adelaide Crows gear just about everyday to uni....

Also saw Natanui walking around last year (cant miss him) had an Eagles shirt on too (before he was drafted funnily enough!)

Haha I studied first year Physio with Harry (I dropped out after - so boring)

He's a funny quiet chap, always wore his Adelaide Crows gear just about everyday to uni....

Also Natanui walking around last year (cant miss him) had an Eagles shirt on too (before he was drafted funnily enough!)

Why do you find that humorous or remarkable? :confused:

Most AFL players support a club prior to being drafted. And is it any surprise that a Perth boy supports the Eagles?

Yeh it's pretty amazing. There are heaps of smart sports people period. To juggle study with top-line professional sport is a credit to them.
It's usually just bitter nerds who paint them all with the same brush. Or they say something like 'but private schools just spoonfed marks'. Tall poppy syndrome etc etc.
It's not surprising - The current VCE/HSC system marks you based on assessments best succeeded at through disciplined study and timed and pressured recall of information, so it's pretty obvious that top-line football players with a bit of intelligence and an amazing ability to dedicate themselves to hard work and pressure performance would succeed at it.

There's not a real strong correlation between a good performance in VCE and being exceptionally intelligent though - Aside from the fact that intelligent people recognise the work they need to do and get there in pursuit of their goals, naturally hard-working people often achieve high-grades in VCE that somewhat bely their closer-to-average intelligence.

Going to a private school DOES help though - The idea of getting into Melbourne University when you attend a public high-school in a lower socio-economic area is considered pretty laughable. I've heard stories of kids being told to not even bother to apply for courses in the 90s because the expectations of them at their schools are so low.

You generally need a high 99 to get into medicine, plus a good UMAT score.

You need a good UMAT to get an interview, then you need to interview well and have a pretty high score. get scores over 98 but lots of people still get in with scores below 98. Also if you are from the country, or willing to be bonded to the country, you can get in with scores under 95.

It's not surprising - The current VCE/HSC system marks you based on assessments best succeeded at through disciplined study and timed and pressured recall of information, so it's pretty obvious that top-line football players with a bit of intelligence and an amazing ability to dedicate themselves to hard work and pressure performance would succeed at it.

There's not a real strong correlation between a good performance in VCE and being exceptionally intelligent though - Aside from the fact that intelligent people recognise the work they need to do and get there in pursuit of their goals, naturally hard-working people often achieve high-grades in VCE that somewhat bely their closer-to-average intelligence.

Going to a private school DOES help though - The idea of getting into Melbourne University when you attend a public high-school in a lower socio-economic area is considered pretty laughable. I've heard stories of kids being told to not even bother to apply for courses in the 90s because the expectations of them at their schools are so low.

Probably the best evaluation of the system that I've read.

Nope, he's been seen at Adelaide Uni, doing Health Sciences I believe, also think Ben Rutten is doing human movement at Uni SA.

I think you're thinking of the wrong brother. Jay van Berlo is studying Geophysics at Curtin Uni I believe.

I'm a geophysicist and I distinctly remember the story about Nathan Van Berlo and how he was studying Geophysics at Curtin when he was drafted. I had already finished my studies so I never witnessed this personally ... but I naturally remember the story because I studied the same thing at the same place. I assumed he would then transfer to Adelaide.

The story was along the lines of the draft occurring near 1st year exams, he jumped on a plane to meet everyone, joined in a pre-season time trial (which he won or almost won ... freak), and then flew straight back to deal with exams.

As for Jay, there was a story on the Freo website quite recently that said he was also studying Geophysics. So maybe they both decided to do the same thing?

i was studying a bachelor of teahing at melb uni and Simon Wiggins of carlton was in the same course, but he spread the 4 year course over 8 so by my calculations he finished it last year!

he slept with quite a few of my classmate as well from recollection (being mostly female)

You need a good UMAT to get an interview, then you need to interview well and have a pretty high score. get scores over 98 but lots of people still get in with scores below 98. Also if you are from the country, or willing to be bonded to the country, you can get in with scores under 95.

Lots of people?

I've only ever heard of a few such cases.

May have already been mentioned, but Mike Fitzpatrick, who played with Carlton in the lates seventies - early eighties, was awarded a Rhodes Scholarship to St Johns at Oxford. Engineering or Law, i think. He also captained the Blues to a premiership or two.

Pretty much this.

Anyone who thinks that the HSC/VCE is reflective on intelligence is a fool. It simply reflects what school you go to and how much application you put in.

AFL players studying at university