Against the Roos . . .

• Thread starter Thread starter Olmy

I'd like to see T.Notting given a run against the Roos next week.

I think he adds another dimension to our team, that being of a long-kicking player, who is good in the air, and fast over the ground.

His athleticism is something that the Lions could use in the forward line, where in some parts, they look a bit flat footed.

Why not put him at FF, and give him every chance for a go at it?

I'd also like to see Kennedy get a guernsey. Having Kennedy in the side allows Matthews the freedom to move Leppitsch and White around the ground. Similarly, Kennedy is more than capable of matching it with most, if not all of the leauges tall forwards.

C.Scott is a definite inclusion, and I wouldn't mind seeing Johnson also make senior selection.

I don't know what it is - perhaps he's still recovering from injury, but for someone who finished last season is such good form (and made the top 10 in the B&F), it makes sense to me to include him (Johnson) in the side.

This would be my squad:

B: C.Johnson, M.Michael, A.Shattock
HB: M.Pike, J.Leppitsch, J.Akermanis
C: M.Ashcroft, M.Voss, D.White
HF: L.Power, J.Brown, N.Lappin
F: D.Cupido, A.Lynch, T.Notting
Foll: C.Keating, C.Scott, S.Black
Inter: B.McDonald, M.Kennedy, S.Hart, B.Robbins

In: C.Scott, M.Kennedy, T.Notting, C.Johnson
Out: D.Bradshaw, B.Scott, C.Bolton, D.Headland

This is the BIG chance for revenge from 1999. We must exert scoreboard pressure when we have field domination. I wouldn't drop Bradshaw even tho' his hands just couldn't grip it V Port. You can almost tell with him, whether he's going to have a big game from the first grap attempt.

I too was fairly besotted with Notting after that MCG game V Demons - he just looked like the wild card with outside 50m goals etc , but he, with a few of this 2nd level players just haven't added consistancy to their skill set

Great to see Cupido do it. He's the guy everyone wants to see succeed - but I must continue my concern about contested marks and our big blokes just not adding value. McKernan couldn't do it again , could he ?

Originally posted by OldLion:
I must continue my concern about contested marks and our big blokes just not adding value. McKernan couldn't do it again , could he ?

As the stats go, we were alright against Port in regards to contested marks.

Browny does alright, along with Pike, Michael, Leppitsch, and Keating. If Lynch can hold them (and we know he can - and does, a fair bit of the time), and chuck in a few of those smaller blokes pulling in a few, and we should have it made.

I'm not too hot on Bradshaw at the moment. He just doesn't seem motivated to play defensively when the opposition have the ball. Neither is he physically punishing on his opponent.

These days, playing FF is more than just making a lead and hoping for the best. (I miss Molloy!).

Notting deserves another chance at senior level. Injuries stopped him from cementing a spot last season, and I reckon he is just as good as a bet as Bradshaw is, any day.

Don't get me wrong. I love it when Bradshaw is having a blinder - he can really kill 'em. But he hasn't looked like it in any game I've seen this season.

Shattock, Michael, Aka
Pike, Leppitch, C. Scott
Lappin, Voss, White
Notting, Brown, Bolton
Power, Lynch, Cupido
Foll: Keating, Black, Hart
Int: Bradshaw, B.Scott, Ashcroft, McDonald
Emer: Clarke, Hadley

In: C.Scott, Notting,
Out: Robbins, Headland

[This message has been edited by Lionsrock_15_26 (edited 02 April 2001).]

Ooooooooooooooh yes, I wanna beat the Roos, more than anything!!!!!!!!
biggrin.gif
GOOOOOOOOO BOYS let's get 'em!!!!!!!!!

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

you either start bradshaw on the ground and play him the full game or play him in the dew kickers, he is a natural talent give the bloke a go leigh

YAY TIMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY.
I'm with you, I wanna see POSSUM play next week against the Roos.
He had a great game on the weekend in the ressies and deserves a go.
cheers...

SIKBLOND IS OUT FOR THE ROOS GAME!Danni ill ring you tonite..have spent a week bedridden with severe flu and sinusitis..doc thought i had glandular fever!!!unfit for airline travel..sob sob sob..lost my bloody 200 bucks airfare and qantightass wont refund my flight or change the dates...
good luck lions.no carey,no abraham,should do well..did see sav rocca in noodle box in preston and hes looking mighty fit and trim.

go lions do it for the sick sik...

p.s danni ill call you or if not you call me.

This weeks game is important to all of us forum users! During the offseason,we had a huge battle with the kangars fans...now it's time to show them that we can win the footy!!

I think that Lynch and braddy are not the anwser... swap the players around like we did last week, or bring in a rookie (alleway :-P) We have to do something, cause it's not working!! Johnathon Brown and Cupido are looking good, but the rest of the forward zone have no idea!

I think that Beau needs more gametime as well...he was the no. 1 ruckman last year.....he needs to be played more! Even ifit isn't in the ruck. You need to keep his form going!

Anyway...that's what i recon

With Carey, Harvey and King out, Brisbane should pole-axe North, regardless of who they pick.

Originally posted by TigerTank:
With Carey, Harvey and King out, Brisbane should pole-axe North, regardless of who they pick.

King will resume from suspension, Harvey has one more match to serve.
Carey, Martyn And Watt all face fitness tests - Martyn is doubtful, Carey is about 80% likely but may be rested an extra week with excessive caution in mind, and Watt is almost certain to play.

I will put my likely Kangaroos team on our board at some stage between now and Thursday night, with poisitional match-ups etc, similar to what I did for the Essendon game, for anyone that wants to have a look.

And now that the posting-war is behind us. let me just add that battles are not fought and won on Bulletin Boards.

It all comes down to who can drink more.
beerchug.gif

------------------
"Not by speech-making and the decisions of majorities will the questions of the day be settled... but by iron and blood" - Otto von Bismarck 1862

Onya Joshy Boy, I'd like to see a friend Clint Alleway, get a run in the top side too.
GO CLINT.
And I'm definately not gonna argue with you about Beau getting more time on the field.
GO MY BOY BEAU AND GO LIONS.
cheers...

Originally posted by Darky:

And now that the posting-war is behind us. let me just add that battles are not fought and won on Bulletin Boards.

It all comes down to who can drink more.
beerchug.gif

I always do my best "coaching" at the footy after quite a few VB's!!!!

Originally posted by joshhem:
This weeks game is important to all of us forum users! During the offseason,we had a huge battle with the kangars fans...

We should get a 10 goal head start after the arse kicking we gave you all... in the offseason... why do these huge battles count for so little when the ball is bounced...

Originally posted by Rooboy 96:
We should get a 10 goal head start after the arse kicking we gave you all... in the offseason... why do these huge battles count for so little when the ball is bounced...

Listen here, Rooboy. You're still smarting from being declared a fraud, with that name of yours.

It's ROYBOYS!!!!!!! Hahahahahahah!!!!

Originally posted by Rooboy 96:

Rooboy....some of us have lives.....2000+ posts for one person is rediculous for an offseason. But we're not worried...That's the only place that you can beat us.

Go Brissie
Can someone please ask your guys not to touch any of the roos players, I couldn't bear another week of their non stop whinging.
rolleyes.gif

Hope you win by at least 10 goals.
biggrin.gif

------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI

Originally posted by joshhem:
Rooboy....some of us have lives.....2000+ posts for one person is rediculous for an offseason. But we're not worried...That's the only place that you can beat us.

and Josh baby you are the same Josh that wrote 64 post on one thread without anyone replying... and you once called me a hypocrite...

Originally posted by mantis:
Go Brissie
Can someone please ask your guys not to touch any of the roos players, I couldn't bear another week of their non stop whinging.
rolleyes.gif

Hope you win by at least 10 goals.
biggrin.gif

Sandie........................ no more black label for you...