News Age interview with Matt Rendell

It’s actually genuinely irritating that the club had identified Cripps’ talent and character to be worthy of selection that early but still passed on him because of his endurance. The one bloody thing that can be improved after going in to the system...

Well won't be the First and Last time that Happens.

Things like that Happen in Every Draft.

Was a Dumb Reason but does happen we where not the only team as well

Like Kappa, just making the point to get the best player regardless if they have dark skin or not. First make sense to just target a particular demographic.

Many assume being Aboriginal is like some sort of an automatic ticket to being x factor player which is amusing.

Correct, best player available regardless of race.

And this is the whole point - many clubs don’t take the ‘best’ players available at a certain pick, based on perceived weakness or bias, rather than backing in a system or environment to get the best out of them.

It's exactly what you said.

"We need to recruit more players of a particular race"

Bored in iso are we, needing to make something out of nothing on a forum?

My comment said "aboriginal talent", it didn't say particular race for the sake of it. Talent = natural aptitude or skill.

This is a thread about a particular recruiter who quit a former club for comments made about he would not draft an Aboriginal player unless he had one white parent, and the article is about how perceived weakness or bias led to the club overlooking Cripps.

Clubs we are competing against at the top of the table like Richmond, aren't letting bias or perceived weakness outweigh best available and are picking up best 22 players like Stack and Pickett for nothing.

Careful what you say mate, you'll be accused of reverse racism
I’d like to see every team have at least five Aboriginal identified list positions. I reckon that kind of policy isn’t far from being introduced.

We're not in south Africa mate

No need for rules like that

I also wish we had more indigenous talent on our list
It’s common practice in government and many private companies in Australia. Makes sense for the AFL to catch up on this.

It seems we took Rantall mainly because of his endurance so we haven’t totally moved away from that MO. Hopefully his skill levels can improve to match.
Though Jay Rantall isn’t just good at endurance, he’s uber elite in endurance.

Plus an enormous appetite for hard work and dedication.

Was touted top 20 to 30 type ie maybe sneak in the first round or into second round.

We somehow got him later than expected. :)

Though Jay Rantall isn’t just good at endurance, he’s uber elite in endurance.

Plus an enormous appetite for hard work and dedication.

Was touted top 20 to 30 type ie maybe sneak in the first round or into second round.

We somehow got him later than expected. :)
Hopefully we’ve struck gold with both Rantall & Bianco considering both boys were tipped to go higher than our selections.

I’d like to see every team have at least five Aboriginal identified list positions. I reckon that kind of policy isn’t far from being introduced.

Rule internally (unwritten) in local footy many years ago that you could only have one dago per team lol not sure why this still makes me laugh.

It was all in good fun.

Read like someone trying to stay relevant to me.

The man’s CV pretty much tells its own story so not sure he needs a news article to promote relevance.

It’s common practice in government and many private companies in Australia. Makes sense for the AFL to catch up on this.

Really? Because government departments have programs to Promote the employment of indigenous people, programs that all to infrequently fail to actually increase numbers of indigenous employees, football clubs should go the same way? Should we recruit more people with a disability as well?

It seems we took Rantall mainly because of his endurance so we haven’t totally moved away from that MO. Hopefully his skill levels can improve to match.
I read Rendell's comments differently. Whilst the line went through Cripps due to endurance, I don't think he was pinpointing endurance as the topic. I think he was more generally saying don't cross out a talented kid with strong character due to one weakness, as they will improve that weakness if their character is strong enough. Rantall's kicking may see him fit into the new MO that Rendell was talking about. Eg - some clear strengths and great character that hopefully will see him overcome any weaknesses.

Seems unnecessary. Indigenous Australians are highly represented in the AFL - 10% of AFL lists are indigenous, whilst only 2.5% of the population are. Basically, indigenous kids are more likely to get listed than the rest of the population.

There is no need for such a rule to be introduced. Some clubs have more, some have less. I make it 89 out of 827 (10.8%) 2020 listed players, so as the post above mine suggests, Aboriginal/indigenous people are very well represented in the AFL.

The AFL is in quite good shape in this area, and do not need to catch up on anything!

Seems unnecessary. Indigenous Australians are highly represented in the AFL - 10% of AFL lists are indigenous, whilst only 2.5% of the population are. Basically, indigenous kids are more likely to get listed than the rest of the population.

Yea... but lets put racist quotas to force even more :drunk:

Which private companies have quotas on the amount of indigenous Australians they must hire?

I know a lot of them have PROGRAMS which can help get more indigenous people hired, just like the AFL does with their academies...

Really? Because government departments have programs to Promote the employment of indigenous people, programs that all to infrequently fail to actually increase numbers of indigenous employees, football clubs should go the same way? Should we recruit more people with a disability as well?
I’m talking about job positions that are identified as Aboriginal only. It’s working well in government. Given the talent available, why not have Aboriginal identified list spots?

There is no need for such a rule to be introduced. Some clubs have more, some have less. I make it 89 out of 827 (10.8%) 2020 listed players, so as the post above mine suggests, Aboriginal/indigenous people are very well represented in the AFL.

The AFL is in quite good shape in this area, and do not need to catch up on anything!

We currently have more Americans on our list that WE drafted/rookied than Indigenous players.

In other words, we don’t have a single indigenous player on our list that we picked up in a draft or placed on a rookie list.

Which private companies have quotas on the amount of indigenous Australians they must hire?

I know a lot of them have PROGRAMS which can help get more indigenous people hired, just like the AFL does with their academies...

The only private companies I’m aware of are the big miners but their quotas are in place to enable access to land essentially.

News Age interview with Matt Rendell