Reveler

Liverpool, Chicago, 49ers
bugger! the wind took away from our gameplan I think, look forward to melbourne next week.

I am going to go cry.. bye :(

I thought I wouldn't feel this bad if we lost before the game. I figure Melbourne at home, then the toast, there's still a pretty good chance at the grand final. But after watching that, i'm deadset gutted.

If we play that sort of game next week, we'll lose.

Rob said:
I thought I wouldn't feel this bad if we lost before the game. I figure Melbourne at home, then the toast, there's still a pretty good chance at the grand final. But after watching that, i'm deadset gutted.

If we play that sort of game next week, we'll lose.

Exactly how I feel

The wind played havoc against our game plan.

I have no doubt we will reach the prelim.

i'm on the dockers bandwagon. I stayed off it not to jynx it, but now, I am on it.

Melbourne don't stand a chance.

Reveler said:
The wind played havoc against our game plan.

I have no doubt we will reach the prelim.

No point making excuses, we were sh1thouse apart from the first 15 minutes. To kick 3 goals in over 3 quarters of footy is disgraceful.

dominguez said:
No point making excuses, we were sh1thouse apart from the first 15 minutes. To kick 3 goals in over 3 quarters of footy is disgraceful.

but look at the reason! the kicks that normally hit the mark missed, due to the strong wind. We played the same gameplan as we have previously. the wind killed it.

I am happy to say that I have been a critic of our team all season.
But to right us off after that game is a bit rich.

If we were crap for all of the game apart from the first 15 minutes, then so were the Crows for all the game apart from the last 20 minutes.

Remember we led for 3 and a bit qtrs, in very windy conditions against quality opposition(with plenty of finals experience), at their home ground.

Hase and Grover had no impact. Plenty of others were ordinary.

Free kick count??

I could go on.

But seriously if you think we are finished you are kidding yourself.

Remember we have that second chance and I don't think this group are just going to drop their heads and give up.

And neither should you!!

Kapow!!! said:
Enjoy next week, it's our last of the season on today's performance. Insipid

Look criticism is deserved, but why the hell are you always so pessimistic?

I actually thought were OK today. We played a side far too good for us at home. We did a good job to hang in.

Reveler said:
but look at the reason! the kicks that normally hit the mark missed, due to the strong wind. We played the same gameplan as we have previously. the wind killed it.

WHAT! no plan B?

gee all those trolls that have been holding it in for 10 weeks have just exploded on the main board

i tend to agree with Kenny,we wernt horrible,but we did get a good lesson on pressure skills. i think we will win comfortably next week

First i would like to say bad luck today as i honestly thought that you guys would play better than what you did today.

Just an observations from today's game :

You were handed a football lesson today, don't get me wrong i'm not here to troll but a lot of your players especially in your backline didn't play tight enough & what i'm saying is that you don't sit 5-10 metres off your opponent.

Mr Magoo said:
First i would like to say bad luck today as i honestly thought that you guys would play better than what you did today.

Just an observations from today's game :

You were handed a football lesson today, don't get me wrong i'm not here to troll but a lot of your players especially in your backline didn't play tight enough & what i'm saying is that you don't sit 5-10 metres off your opponent.

First off, thanks for the comments.

Secondly I reckon you were dead right. I think the inexperience of our backline showed through today and if we didn't have Johnno floating through as a spare man we would have been embarrassed. Fez was ordinary ( which is unusual).

I also thought we were outcoached on the day with no bold decisions being made to stem the crows run.....ie man up and kick long with the wind..bring Pav into the midfield etc.

We tended to revert to the one too many handball routine that has seen us go down in the past.

But I am confident we will learn from that and will bounce back and pump the dees next week.

maccas_no1 said:
The wind:confused:

Both teams had to play in the same conditions.
The wind, how cruel.

No doubt Freo would have won by 345 goals if there was no wind.

Reveler said:
The wind played havoc against our game plan......
I was there, involved with half-time Auskick. Whatever else you say about that game the wind did nothing.
You kicked 4 goals directly against it in the first quarter. The Crows kicked 3 directly against it in the second quarter.
You didn't have it often enough or long enough in the second half for it to matter.

Powerstufff said:
I was there, involved with half-time Auskick. Whatever else you say about that game the wind did nothing.
You kicked 4 goals directly against it in the first quarter. The Crows kicked 3 directly against it in the second quarter.
You didn't have it often enough or long enough in the second half for it to matter.

Oh...so we one the toss and kicked INTO the wind did we???

Interesting!!:confused:

And you were there. HHMMMM????

dont worry dockers, u will beat melbourne then probably play west coast and win, and play adelaide in the GF but lose ;)

bushie said:
I also thought we were outcoached on the day with no bold decisions being made to stem the crows run.....ie man up and kick long with the wind..bring Pav into the midfield etc.

But I am confident we will learn from that and will bounce back and pump the dees next week.

I hear this bandied around a bit. Is it the coach who tells Pav to stay deep and out of the play? If we have JL and Farmer deep, why would Pav not present when the midfield were clearly struggling to find the next option after running across centre. Didn't get a touch in the second qtr. Thought he could have at least given an option.

...before that "he was double teamed" chestnut comes out, he's not the first bloke to get two guys on him, and it doesn't matter how many blokes are on you when you are running hard at the ball. I guess I judge this guy harsher because everybody keeps telling me he's a superstar, maybe he is.

As for Melbourne, we'll pump them.

All in all didn't think the guys played too bad today, considering half have never played in a final at all.

Guys, that's what double chances are all about. Freo>melbourne, we are still more than alive. Oh and trolls, fu$# off til next week, there's still a long way to go.
Cmon Swannies

bushie said:
First off, thanks for the comments.

Secondly I reckon you were dead right. I think the inexperience of our backline showed through today and if we didn't have Johnno floating through as a spare man we would have been embarrassed. Fez was ordinary ( which is unusual).

We tended to revert to the one too many handball routine that has seen us go down in the past.

Just on Pavlich for a moment & i thought that he would've been more useful playing as a midfielder just behind centre to centre half back when you were going into the wind. Yep Craig outcoached Connolly but the thing is you guys had been up for a long while & were due to put in a bad one sooner or later. As i've said in a previous post the AFC didn't allow you guys to run freely which is when you play your best football. I lost count of the number of times that one of your players had the ball around the wing position & had no one to kick to because the AFC had an extra man or two in defence but that's a learning experience for your team.

A closing comment would be that you would really want some of your guys to work a lot harder for each other than what they did against the AFC.

Havent seen or heard any stats yet but IMO it was clearances that hurt the most.when they got it down our backline we couldnt get it out because we didnt handle the wind too well and it helped their zoning.I thought we had long options at times we didnt take because they where unsure.Hopefully we were flat after the 9 game streak as well.I also believe our effort was there so hopefully they wont dwell on the loss.The forwards are always going to struggle if the midfielders are.Not moving Pav was good because no one else could go there and we will need a fully fit Pav this week

dockers_bengals said:
Havent seen or heard any stats yet but IMO it was clearances that hurt the most.when they got it down our backline we couldnt get it out because we didnt handle the wind too well and it helped their zoning.I thought we had long options at times we didnt take because they where unsure.Hopefully we were flat after the 9 game streak as well.I also believe our effort was there so hopefully they wont dwell on the loss.The forwards are always going to struggle if the midfielders are.Not moving Pav was good because no one else could go there and we will need a fully fit Pav this week

Nailed it I reckon. We just fell into old pattern. Pro-stats just confirms what you could see on the TV. Clearances at 31-18, and Disputed balls 138-112 in Adelaide's favour. We were put to the torch by a very good side and couldn't match them. Thy won way too much of the ball, and only inaccurate kicking stopped it being an absolute belting. I question why Pav was going into the centre for the derby, and other games but not yesterday. Not sure it would have made a difference.

But, to beat Melbourne we have to at last break even in the midfield.

Also have a look at the bottom end of the stats. Mundy, Sandi, Hasleby, JLo, and then Pav. Five of our most influential players never got in the game. That's where our improvement will come from. Hase will probably be dropped but the other four have to get themselves in the game for us to win. You can probably include the Wiz in there as well.

http://www.prowess.com.au/pro-stats/reports/match_report_178.pdf