Sailor

South Fremantle, Man U
One of my Eagles workmates suggested that the word around their club is that they are trying to flog off Gardiner to Freo.
Another broken down hack!!!
Give 'em Schofield sez me and forget the trade.

I can understand they may be trying to move Gardi on. Although he has been a good player in the past, he is becoming a week to week project due to injury and brain cells. Are other players being preferred for the CHF position for the future (planning) at the Eagles?.

In all honesty I reckon a change of scenery will re-invigorate his career, maybe interstate.

Where would he fit in at Freo?, CHF (the Croat will not like that), FF (Elvis, Spud). Freo needs speed on the ground, not elsewhere ....

Doesn't make sense.

Surely they would get a whole lot more for him elsewhere. And Gardiner would find plenty of new 'mates' in Melbourne.

blockerhall said:
Doesn't make sense.

Surely they would get a whole lot more for him elsewhere. And Gardiner would find plenty of new 'mates' in Melbourne.

There was post on the trades and drafts board that Essendon were interested. I heard that Eagles were concerned about off-field activities, and end of the line etc.

There is absolutely no way that the Eagles would have even thought about such a thing at this stage in their campaign. If they do it (after the year is over for them), it will be based on medical reasons and to aid the retention of their existing group of players. They have a list that will be very difficult to keep together.

If you were going to take a risk on an Eagles player, it'd probably be picking up Travis Gasper in the pre-season draft.

I meant doesn't make sense coming to us. Certainly could see Victorian sides lining up.

Gardiner is damaged goods. Freo would not touch him. His only hope is to get traded over east where he might get a season or two more out of his body and get away from his circle of friends.

Unfortunately, I think he is one of those guys that will really struggle after his footy career finishes.

And the word from someone a little closer to the club is that Gardy and Sampi are trade bait.

Next people will be saying David Wirrapunda after having a death in his family, wants to be traded back to a Victorian team. Knowing how close knit aboriginal families are this is more realistic.

But then again, I just made all that up from partial truths. This is how rumours start. It's possible, but it doesn't mean it will happen.

Sailor said:
And the word from someone a little closer to the club is that Gardy and Sampi are trade bait.

I don't think there's much doubt Gardiner would be. They might actually get a good deal for him.
Sampi, maybe. But I doubt he's got much worth, and with Phinals Phlopper getting old I doubt they'd want to get rid of their other riparse forward pocket.

Given the anti-Gardiner vitriol that's been sprayed around these parts in the past, I'd hardly expect Dockers supporters to entertain thoughts of having him in your side.

Suffice to say that pre-injury he was the best big man in the comp - and if he maintains fitness would be a very handy addition to any team.

How about a direct swap for your Big Croat?

RIPPER_46 said:
Surely not.

Might as well have kept Troy Simmonds at least he didn't break down all the time.

You couldnt keep him, like many others he didnt want to stay!

Freo Big Fella said:
There's a difference between a tear in the Tim Tam wrapping and an empty Tim Tam tray that's been shat in.

The second sounds like something a Port supporter would do, so can I take it that's your description of how you acquired Schofield?

Exeter said:
Given the anti-Gardiner vitriol that's been sprayed around these parts in the past, I'd hardly expect Dockers supporters to entertain thoughts of having him in your side.

Suffice to say that pre-injury he was the best big man in the comp - and if he maintains fitness would be a very handy addition to any team.

How about a direct swap for your Big Croat?
We'll throw in McPharlin as well to even up the trade.

pav_is_god said:
We'll throw in McPharlin as well to even up the trade.

You're on the right track. Throw in Schammer, Haselby, your first round pick and Justin Longmuir as well and we're getting close to a deal. We'd need something else, but it might just be your second and third round picks.