It's time to pendlise!!
As the ladder currently stands:

1. We have had 2 wins this year against top 8 sides:

(a) the round 1 win against the Kangaroos, who were rubbish that day; and
(b) the win against Sydney, currently 8th, who were also rubbish.

2. We have beaten every team in the bottom 8 except Melbourne.

3. We only play one team in the top 8 for the remainder of the year - Sydney.

A good draw will see us enter the finals, but is there any reason to think we won't get bent over like we did last year?

We are rubbish.

Thoughts?

A good draw will see us enter the finals, but is there any reason to think we won't get bent over like we did last year?

We are rubbish.

Thoughts?
:thumbsu: Some good points. Might have some more cred if the comp wasn't so close, there is only one or two games between 2nd and 10th so no we aren't rubbish just part of a close comp. Finals may prove otherwise.

Im about to head over to the ladder predictor and see were we should end up at the end of the year. Unfortunatly i think we will miss out on the top 4 and probably finish around 6th. And this i think will mean we will play 1 final and probably lose it and then looking at next year. So same as last years effort and that means we havnt made any emprovment on last year so are we rubbish? well it doesnt appear we are any better. And dont give me all this we have all these great kids comeing along, we need to win matches against the good teams by a point or goal and we need to smash the bottom teams to gain percentage and percentage in this tight comp this year is going to cost us 3 or 4 spots at year end.

take out any team's best 3 defender and the club's best player and captain and see how they go, the fact we are able to stay in the top 8 is a massive effort, Adelaide without rutten and basset and mcleod will be rubbish, same with any other team, geelong without scarlett harley and enright and so on

We are rubbish.

Thoughts?

Way too early to pull this trigger.

The season is too close to be calling us rubbish based on the fact that we've only beaten two current top 8 sides. In the next few weeks that may have risen to as many as 5.

And no we are not rubbish. At worst we should equal our performance last year but even if that happens we have debuted a large number of new players that will be much better next year for the footy they've played this one.

I'll be extremely happy if we make September and win a final and will consider that a relatively successful season.

Im about to head over to the ladder predictor and see were we should end up at the end of the year. Unfortunatly i think we will miss out on the top 4 and probably finish around 6th. And this i think will mean we will play 1 final and probably lose it and then looking at next year. So same as last years effort and that means we havnt made any emprovment on last year so are we rubbish? well it doesnt appear we are any better. And dont give me all this we have all these great kids comeing along, we need to win matches against the good teams by a point or goal and we need to smash the bottom teams to gain percentage and percentage in this tight comp this year is going to cost us 3 or 4 spots at year end.

Do you have a link to the "Ladder Predicter"

We are rubbish.

Thoughts?

I don't think we're rubbish, in reality we've done better than expected even if we weren't undermanned like we are. We are a notch below the top 4 and would need everything going our way to make a big impact in the finals. This year is really up for grabs as Geelong is just as untried at finals as evreyone else up the top. If the Swans and Eagles don't make top four this year is very open.

Of the current group of Vic teams in the 8 we have the most finals experience by far, with at least 10 of our regular players with Grand Final experience, if we can make top 4 surely this is a huge advantage over teams like Hawks and Geeelong?

Ummm didn't we beat Adelaide in Adelaide? Or have we all forgotten that one.

And as a result they are not in the eight. We beat Essendon. Same result. And StKilda, who would be out of the eight on percentage only if they had beaten us.

Funnily enough, the more teams you beat, the more teams you knock out of the eight. The teams you dont beat are more likely to be in the eight. It stands to reason.

take out any team's best 3 defender and the club's best player and captain and see how they go, the fact we are able to stay in the top 8 is a massive effort, Adelaide without rutten and basset and mcleod will be rubbish, same with any other team, geelong without scarlett harley and enright and so on

no they wouldn't be

Don't forget that our beating teams contributes to the fact that they aren't in the top 8. Losing does that to a side's standing in the competition.

I cant believe this is a thread. Are we rubbish 33 points is our biggest loss to the bulldogs followed by 16 on the weekend.

If a the start of the year I said after we play everyone once we will not have bucks for the year to date no Clement from round 6 till now at least and no presti since round 7 and Harry will miss three games at the same time. Would you take 6th spot on the ladder one game off second? 100 PERCENT you would.

Haven't improved am i on another plant or something. 4 interstate trips 3 wins the loss to the eagles who were up and flying early and some of our losses a result of our poor kicking. Please spare me.

We are most definately not rubbish.
Yes we have only beaten 2 top 8 sides this year,without our proper backline.The kids have done a fantastic job to get us to where we currently are.
Hawthorn and geelong will get a spanking when we meet them in the finals.It is very important to finish top 4 if we are going to make a firm move for the premiership.
Once we get clement,presti,rhyce,bucks in the team it will be a different story when we meet clubs like hawthorn and geelong.
Yes we played terrible against these teams but look at the personnal that have been missing .
We have been playing with a young inexperienced backline and we only just lost to these teams.
What we have to do is not drop any of the next 4 games.We should beat essendon,carlton,melbourne and richmond.Sydney and Adelaide to tail off the year which could go either way,so we must win the next 4-5 games to finish top 4.I reckon we can and will.

Nice try...LOL...would'nt have expected any less...see ya on the weekend.

PS Hows Hirdy? (not a dig...legitimate ask)

I think that was actually a legitimate opinion. If he had of said to take G.Ablett, Bartel and Chapman out of geelong then surely you would see them struggle but Scarlett, harley and Enright would have them missing only Scarlett on form who can be replaced by Hunt/Egan no worries.

As for Hird he's done his calf out for another 2-3 weeks ATM.

Back on topic Collingwoods season would be far from rubbish. You have probably had the worst run of injuries along with Adelaide yet are well positioned on the ladder. You've uncovered potential stars in clarke and Reid. Guys like cloke are improving dramatically and you have some high quality names like Clement still to come back.

I think that was actually a legitimate opinion. If he had of said to take G.Ablett, Bartel and Chapman out of geelong then surely you would see them struggle but Scarlett, harley and Enright would have them missing only Scarlett on form who can be replaced by Hunt/Egan no worries.

As for Hird he's done his calf out for another 2-3 weeks ATM.

Back on topic Collingwoods season would be far from rubbish. You have probably had the worst run of injuries along with Adelaide yet are well positioned on the ladder. You've uncovered potential stars in clarke and Reid. Guys like cloke are improving dramatically and you have some high quality names like Clement still to come back.

You are massively under-rating Scarlett's value.

I cant believe this is a thread. Are we rubbish 33 points is our biggest loss to the bulldogs followed by 16 on the weekend.

If a the start of the year I said after we play everyone once we will not have bucks for the year to date no Clement from round 6 till now at least and no presti since round 7 and Harry will miss three games at the same time. Would you take 6th spot on the ladder one game off second? 100 PERCENT you would.

Haven't improved am i on another plant or something. 4 interstate trips 3 wins the loss to the eagles who were up and flying early and some of our losses a result of our poor kicking. Please spare me.

What plant were you on to begin with?