monty1104
We just seem to always be rushed when we have the ball. And when we are we try to handball our way out of it. PUT BOOT TO BALL. The worst that can happen is that we give it away, but atleast it is 40m down the track.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Mark the ball,kick goals..thats his job. Just do it CJ![]()
We just seem to always be rushed when we have the ball. And when we are we try to handball our way out of it. PUT BOOT TO BALL. The worst that can happen is that we give it away, but atleast it is 40m down the track.
According to the posters on the main forum his finished.Don't disagree with too much of what you say there Foj, except I wouldn't call Lloyd ordinary below his knees. I reckon he's one of the better players in the league below his knees at his height.
It's definately worth sticking too IMO. Apart from Lloyd, Lucas, Hird and Monfries he's our best chance at kicking 25 goals, especially since Lovett will spend time further up the ground and Hirdy won't be back next year, Davey has been exciting but I expect him to be a bit up and down this year.
Ross Lyon believes you need 5 players kicking 20+ goals and I agree with him, especially since Lloydy'd days of 90-100 goals are probably over.
Hirdy won't be in the F50 every second of every game and I don't think Johns is even that bad at chasing and tackling once the ball is on the ground, I know Lloydy isn't. IMO we should keep at it and keep going for the tough match ups on talls while rotating Davey, Monfries, Lovett ect through the F50 as well, one poor game in the NAB with a poor game from the midfield shouldn't put us off it straight away, there is a lot of potential.
Johns is on the brink of finally going forward in his career,instead of backwards. But,he's probably realised by now that every game he plays is either a tick or a cross on his name. I can't see Sheedy putting up with 6 weeks of waiting for him to fire come the H&As,13 games or not,he has to fire now!..thats why I think they should play Gumblton this week and test him out (Johns has a rest,on comes Gumby). Just in case Courtney doesn't work out or he gets injured.
Mark the ball,kick goals..thats his job. Just do it CJ![]()
Nobby you have the Gumbleton blinkers on big time dont you. It is very simplistic to say that CJ only has to mark it and kick goals. If they dont kick to his leads or deliver it in poorly what do you want him to do? Bring out his own ball? In your mind you have already written CJ off. Yes he does have to fire but in all honesty this year is the first real run he has had at a pre season and getting to the fitness level needed.His time does start now but he hasnt only got 13 rounds. He has a couple of years to be ready for the post Lloyd /Lucas era now he has overcome a lot of his injury problems.
Gumbleton has plenty of time. He isnt physically ready for the big time yet. His body has proven this with his knee problems hindeing his pre season. He skipped the contact tackling today because on concerns with his knee. The kid is going to be a star but not in 2007 and probably not in 2008 either. He will play a few practice games and probably some senior footy this year as well but currently he isnt the answer to our senior forward problems. Everyone i have spoken to at training have seen the same thing. They see a skinny kid who has the skill but looks like he needs a couple of seasons to build up. Judging by all the reports from saturdays Bendigo practice match Neagle is the next in line for a forward shot.
According to the posters on the main forum his finished.
Sometimes this forum resembles internet cancer.
Seriously cant even bet carlton...i thought we wooda killed em..but all i got to say is fevola is the biggest sook i know off...hate him
Essendon wanted to win this game.
IMO the only thing preventing him from being a great CHF is that we've had a very good CHF and Lloyd is a superstar FF. Not broken, don't fix it etc.
I think Lloyd, Lucas, Johns can work.
I think Lloyd, Lucas, Hird can work.
I don't think all four works. I think Johns can play behind Lloyd in the Gehrig role. I'd play Mark Johnson or Mark McVeigh across half forward and I think Davey has proven he could be vital.
I think the way the game works these days any team can be made to look slow down forward if the ball is turned over quickly. Our half-back line made Carlton look slow on the rebound.
I think we need to play our half-forward line higher, almost flood the midfield. It worked against West Coast, it worked against the Dogs. We did lose those games, but we also played very good football. We did similar things against Collingwood and we did it for a lot of 2000.
The Lucas, Lloyd, Johns experiment has to be given time to work. I think it can, but getting the mix right across half forward and in the middle is important.
Not permanently but more than he is now, his 05 form up foward was great.Am very happy you have said that....dont think anyone shared my view on MJ moving up forward almost permanently.
Not trolling.....
But.
Essendon are about to bottom out.
They need to accept where they are at and build the foundations for a solid revival. You guys have some great young talent. But also some kids that clearly do not cut it. Relying on Michael and Lloyd to revive the Bombers is a pipedream. Essendon wanted to win this game. They have had a big pre season and seriously where smashed early. Your fitness got you back into the contest.
We have a great bunch of kids that are now 20-22.... Whether it comes togeather this year, next year or 09, consistent footy that gives the kids game time is all I want. We will surprise many this year.
Gumbleton, Davey, Monfies, Lovett etc, they need to be left in and play. So what if you bottom out, it is the quickest way back. It's hard to take but it is reality. Get rid of the likes of Campo, wo are holding the list back. Good Luck guys.