Are we too sensitive?

We have been getting a lot of posts from people about leaving BigFooty because of abuse they have been copping. Are they too sensitive or is the place out of control? I know BigFooty gets a bit tiring at times especially when you're on the receiving end but most people that say they are going come back after a while. More retirements than Michael Jordan!

I think it helps to have a few days off the site now and again to let things simmer down. Just for the record, call me anything you want, I might go away now and again but I won't go away forever.

People are too sensitive. I have to wonder sometimes what they are like in the real world if somebody says something bad about them. If they cant handle it on the net, what would they be like in real life?

Originally posted by meg
People are too sensitive. I have to wonder sometimes what they are like in the real world if somebody says something bad about them. If they cant handle it on the net, what would they be like in real life?

yeah i sometimes think the same. BUT some of the stuff people say on here can get pretty personal, as we have seen in the last 24 hours or so. I have met quite a few people off here, and sometimes the perceptions we get of them on here are different to what we see in real life sometimes good, sometimes bad, other times they r not. so yeah, i think we basically read too much into what some people write, i know i have a couple of times (nothing too personal tho ;) )

some people just need to chill. thats all.

Yes...most people are. Obviously if it gets personal you take action, by reporting it, but the trick is not to get caught up in it...

You must remember that it is only a website...and they are only words typed...

The Hitman

Too sensitive, you're telling me. I can't stand people who sook to tell you the truth, always wanting to get the majority of people on their side. Don't get me wrong, what some people do to others on this site is bull****, but to get all emotional over it....sheesh! :eek:

I know, itsonly a friendly footy forum.

Sticks and stones will break my bones but words will never hurt me!

I am not speaking for anyone else here, but I am definitely too sensitive, well in real life!!!!!!!!! Nah it's just given recent events in my life, I take things very personally (and yes PP I see you smiling and nodding at that one. :D) but as far as this place goes, I know I have a ton of friends, and well those who don't like me can get stuffed or get counselling cause I am the sweetest you will ever find. :D I did think about leaving but even when this place frustrates me, I love it and all the people on here. :D awwwwwww.

Originally posted by lioness22
I am not speaking for anyone else here, but I am definitely too sensitive, well in real life!!!!!!!!! Nah it's just given recent events in my life, I take things very personally (and yes PP I see you smiling and nodding at that one. :D) but as far as this place goes, I know I have a ton of friends, and well those who don't like me can get stuffed or get counselling cause I am the sweetest you will ever find. :D I did think about leaving but even when this place frustrates me, I love it and all the people on here. :D awwwwwww.

I have met Jacs & I can say she definitely is a really nice, sweet, fun person.

Glad you aren't leaving. :cool:

Originally posted by mantis

I have met Jacs & I can say she definitely is a really nice, sweet, fun person.

Glad you aren't leaving. :cool:

Awwwwwwwww well thanks Sandie. :D THERE, AND I DIDN'T PAY HER TO SAY THAT EITHER!!!!!!!!!! :D

Can I say here too that I reckon Sandie is just the greatest, I had SO much fun with her. I think we're very alike. :eek: lol

Are we too sensitive...

To things posted or said on the internet, some people can be. But when it moves into real life (in person, you know what I mean) then it can be taken too far. People should leave their real-life problems, incidents, whatever behind when they log in, because we don't need to hear all about it from two different sides and all their witnesses and blah blah blah.

Originally posted by lioness22

Awwwwwwwww well thanks Sandie. :D THERE, AND I DIDN'T PAY HER TO SAY THAT EITHER!!!!!!!!!! :D

Can I say here too that I reckon Sandie is just the greatest, I had SO much fun with her. I think we're very alike. :eek: lol

Scary thought... :eek: ;) :D

The Hitman

I think sometimes the nature of some posts are so personal against someone else, that it can definitely be hard not to be sensitive. When it's a person attack, it's human nature to get upset. Even if it's coming from someone you don't know, and is essentially just words typed on a computer screen.

Having said that, I think it does need to be kept in perspective. This is a bulletin board, with a whole heap of different personalities wanting to have their say. People will clash and that can't be helped.

Maybe the best thing to do is try and extinguish volatile situations before they blow up into these wars we're seeing now.

I can't really judge though, nobody has given me a hard time yet. Although yesterday someone did call me an idiot, I responded, they apologised, end of story.

I am generally very sensitive to criticism--it's a real weakness at work etc, I take things too personally and care too much what other people think about me.

On the boards I haven't copped any abuse, so it's hard to say how I'd react. But I wouldn't be leaving.

Originally posted by Chris_23
Far too sensitive. I'm not a fan of the 'I'm leaving' posts, it looks like a cry for attention.

I have to agree on that one.

To start a thread saying "I'm leaving" and then get a pile of responses saying "aww don't go go" and then doing a backflip, seems like an attention seek. Joffa has done it twice now.

I fully understand if a forum/chatroom gives u the s**ts, then go and not make a huge song and dance about it. I've been there with IRC channels. Certain people are only there to try to make your life miserable and if you let them, it's time to move on. It's really not worth it if you're not having a good time.

Yeah those "I'm leaving" posts are just a bit of a cry for attention.

Every single person who has posted one has been back on the boards within a few days, anyway.

As for putting up with criticism...well, I think I have been de-sensitized to it, because I get so much of it. It has died down a bit over the last few months, perhaps due to a more accomodating style by yours truly.

The best way to respond to criticism is to filter through the garbage until you find something worth responding to. I am not the tye to get offended, and generally I couldn't care less what people say about. I'm not gonna change who I am.