Are you going on Sunday night?

Are you going to Carlton v Essendon on Sunday night?

Gotta support the team.
I am going, despite this ridiculous time slot. 8am start on monday at uni doesn't help, though

I think it is the only thing that we can agree on with Essendon supporters, that the time slot is shocking.
The AFL have done something impossible: Unite Essendon and Carlton supporters.

In my opinion, the people that have said no due to the timeslot that have nothing better to do take a good hard look at yourselves. The timeslot is that, deal with it, the AFL won't change it and there is no use going on a strike or whatever and staying home. For years now, i can barely remember Carlton ever having an amazing turn out where we completely take the opposition fans to town, even in home games! Get along, support the boys no use staying at home watching it from there, everyone knows it better to go, especially when we will win.

Sorry if any of you take offence. Go Blues.

In my opinion, the people that have said no due to the timeslot that have nothing better to do take a good hard look at yourselves. The timeslot is that, deal with it, the AFL won't change it and there is no use going on a strike or whatever and staying home. For years now, i can barely remember Carlton ever having an amazing turn out where we completely take the opposition fans to town, even in home games! Get along, support the boys no use staying at home watching it from there, everyone knows it better to go, especially when we will win.

Cool username mate

It's not about "going on strike". Not everyone is the diehard, 22 game a year fan. And that's fine. Most of the absolute diehards (of which I count myself as one) will go. But as this poll, the one on our board, and the thread on the main board proves, this is turning away a lot of people who would have attended otherwise. Is that not an issue?

I hear what you're saying, but for many people, it's not that they just don't fancy the timing and now they're having a sook, it is simply not workable for them.
Going to the footy should be a pleasure, not a chore or a duty. If the AFL schedule games at times where it is not pleasurable for people to attend, or it messes with their working and/or family life then it follows that fewer people will go to the games. It's not a matter of going on "strike".

If I was young and single and not particularly committed to my work then I wouldn't give a toss when they schedule games. But not everyone is like that.
I'm not: I'm only going because my wife and kids are out of town, so I'm at a loose end.

4am start Monday morning says no for me, IF it was a twilight then maybe, but even that's pushing it as I live in country Vic.

What's the feeling over on the Essendon board?
Most supporters going?
Results above. IMO that's the difference for it being our home game versus yours. Obviously fans are more likely to go when it's their home game. If it was yours I'd expect the results to be more or less reverse.

OK ta.
Hard to get a gauge on how many are going to be there on Sunday night.
Thinking somewhere between 60k - 70k.

OK ta.
Hard to get a gauge on how many are going to be there on Sunday night.
Thinking somewhere between 60k - 70k.
MCG site, which is usually pretty bang on, is predicting 65k. Which is stuff all.

On the plus side, that's quite a comfortable crowd for the MCG.
But yeah, quite a disappointing crowd. You could easily add 20k to that if they scheduled it on a Friday or Saturday night.

For direct comparison:

2013 our first match was in Round 11 and attracted a crowd of 82,639 (Friday night)
2012 our first match was in Round 4 and the crowd was 73,172 (Saturday arvo)
2011 it was Round 4, crowd of 78,605 (Saturday arvo)
And 2010 Round 3, 71,006 on a Saturday night

So 65,000 would be bloody ordinary.

On the plus side, that's quite a comfortable crowd for the MCG.
But yeah, quite a disappointing crowd. You could easily add 20k to that if they scheduled it on a Friday or Saturday night.

Easily.

Feel for the true believers of either side that make the drive/train/bus from outside the Burbs.

Seems the AFL have thumbed their noses at them.

Easily.

Feel for the true believers of either side that make the drive/train/bus from outside the Burbs.

Seems the AFL have thumbed their noses at them.

To add to that is the young families who won't be able to go.
The first two games of the year I don't reckon i've seen anyone at all under the age of about 13.
Why this game was scheduled for a Sunday night is just idiotic.