Ashes 3rd test @ The WACA

Tick.

As expected.

Next.

Sorry, I can't get too excited about winning at home these days. Nor do I get too depressed about losing away. It seems there is such a pronounced home ground advantage in test cricket, that anything other than away series wins is pretty meaningless. I think it's something to do with the lack of warm-up games that teams play (because of the proliferation of ODIs and T20s).

Away wins are like gold. Away series wins are what counts.

p0iw118mnn401.jpg

Correct.

Was the Tri-series ODI year when Brearley put 8 on the fence to win the game against the West Indies in a D/N at the SCG.
I may be wrong, but I thought everyone was on the boundary, even the keeper (David Bairstow, Johnnys Dad). After that farce, they changed the rules.
In the same series, the late Fred Trueman came up with some classical commentary after an unbelievable catch by Derek Randall. " Ohhhhhhhhhh, Derek Randall. You just can't keep him out of the game." Freddie was a rippa, wish there was a commentator like him now.

Just received a text from a mate, "Are the Poms Rooted, Cooked, or just Malancholy???" :)

Weird, I got this text from my uncle at about 7:30:

"Oh, I see you're having the old mother C over tonight? I'm telling you, that broad is a fraud, and her son Ben Stokes is a likely sort to knock your head off. Stay woke; she may try to convince you to let her do the cooking. This is not normal and unless you can bear stone-cold beetroots keep her away from the kitchen. Cold as stone man, whilst the cauliflower was pretty much ashes. She's got no clue."

I may be wrong, but I thought everyone was on the boundary, even the keeper (David Bairstow, Johnnys Dad). After that farce, they changed the rules.
In the same series, the late Fred Trueman came up with some classical commentary after an unbelievable catch by Derek Randall. " Ohhhhhhhhhh, Derek Randall. You just can't keep him out of the game." Freddie was a rippa, wish there was a commentator like him now.

Yeah,loved Freddie.

Some of the denial here is hilarious. Especially the comments regarding the chanting and singing by army being unnecessary.

You go to another cricketing country (with the exception of NZ and maybe the SAFFA's) you're going to get people chanting, singing and dancing. This creates a real atmosphere and in a game that last for 7 hr (for 5 days) its actually pretty needed IMO and it attracts people to go attend games. as well.

That said it seems like only a few old blokes/ladies seem unhappy with this.

100 runs in front now

To be fair it's the usual garbage from smasha and that other flog roscreas198 who has been crying throughout the series.

I’ve never seen a State (VIC) full of people in this country who are so self obsessed and self conscious, so much so that they are continually battling a mental battle in their head, trying their absolute hardest to gain some sort of acceptance and purpose for the average city they live in by pushing this utopia to the rest of the country that clearly doesn’t exist in the slightest.

Little do they know the more they try to push the Melbourne is the best city ever propaganda onto the rest of the country, the more desperate and floggish they continue to look and the more it exposes Melbourne for being a city that in the verbal sense, gets talked up like it’s the best thing since sliced bread, when in reality all you are getting is a 3 day old stale loaf.

They can keep their floggish population, disgusting traffic and four seasons in one day bullshit weather. The MCG gets talked up like it’s the bloody colleseum in Rome, but if the ground held half its current capacity, it would just be another run of the mill stadium. Adelaide Oval is a better cricket ground overall.

Some of the denial here is hilarious. Especially the comments regarding the chanting and singing by army being unnecessary.

You go to another cricketing country (with the exception of NZ and maybe the SAFFA's) you're going to get people chanting, singing and dancing. This creates a real atmosphere and in a game that last for 7 hr (for 5 days) its actually pretty needed IMO and it attracts people to go attend games. as well.

Cause you know this flog is 100% right, totally changed my mind.

Our crowd might be soft as tissue but at least our cricket team isn't soft as tissue. :$

Not sooking mate - just answer the question - what makes it great as a cricket ground? And a consonant isn't an answer.

I would daresay Adelaide and Sydney would compete for best cricket ground.

Well the oval is oval like in shape for one.

Beyond that, who knows?

Agree with your point re: comments regarding the Barmy army, but the bloke in the video seems like a twat.

Second worst pitch in the country in the most disliked city in the country. Full of absolute flogs.

In a stacked field, you are comprehensively the worst poster in this thread. Congratulations.

T
The only childish ones are you and your Groper mates like The Falcon Strike.
We win the Ashes, and all you blokes do is hang shit on the mighty MCG....

Jealous?

Inferiority Complex much?

Keep battling trying to get that acceptance from the rest of us champ for your bog average city

Do we have anyone in the shield who could bat 3 who is decent against spin or a moving ball

Very few test quality number 3’s in the country. Wouldn’t put it past the selectors to try Renshaw at 3, but he needs runs badly first.

I’ve never seen a State (VIC) full of people in this country who are so self obsessed and self conscious, so much so that they are continually battling a mental battle in their head, trying their absolute hardest to gain some sort of acceptance and purpose for the average city they live in by pushing this utopia to the rest of the country that clearly doesn’t exist in the slightest.

Little do they know the more they try to push the Melbourne is the best city ever propaganda onto the rest of the country, the more desperate and floggish they continue to look and the more it exposes Melbourne for being a city that in the verbal sense, gets talked up like it’s the best thing since sliced bread, when in reality all you are getting is a 3 day old stale loaf.

They can keep their floggish population, disgusting traffic and four seasons in one day bullshit weather. The MCG gets talked up like it’s the bloody colleseum in Rome, but if the ground held half its current capacity, it would just be another run of the mill stadium. Adelaide Oval is a better cricket ground overall.

Debutants, hey.
Pfffffffftttttt.

Very few test quality number 3’s in the country. Wouldn’t put it past the selectors to try Renshaw at 3, but he needs runs badly first.
Could always move Smith 3 and bring someone to bat 4-6. Though it be borderline moronic to move Smith to 3 when he's most comfortable at 4.