B Section B Section Amateur Football

Don't Ajax have a stringent recruitment policy? i.e you have to be Jewish?

Its the opposite to what I have heard. ITYL has no credibility on this thread, just ignore him. I know for a fact SKOB has had over 60 at training regularly pre season. with some major EDFL and A Grade Ammo recruits at the club.

i would assume that SBMT would be going after Ben and Troy Schwarze, as their younger brother plays there, they went down to a few of the games this year apparantly.

angas trial unlucky Adams
5:04:47 PM Wed 29 November, 2006
Paul Gough
Sportal for afl.com.au

Leigh Adams, arguably the pick of the youngsters overlooked in last Saturday's NAB AFL draft, is training with the Kangaroos in a bid to win a place on the club's list.

Adams, the captain of the Vic Metro team at this year's national under 18 championships, was considered unlucky to not be selected in the draft, and looms as one of the most sought after players in next month's rookie draft - which will be held immediately after the NAB AFL pre-season draft on December 12.

He is one of five players training with the Kangaroos in the hope of being drafted in December, a list which also includes recently delisted Roos' player Joel Perry.

All clubs, except Adelaide, are allowing players from outside the list to train with them over pre-season in the hope of impressing enough to win a place on the list in December.

Amongst the big names on the list are former Geelong forward Kent Kingsley, who is training at Richmond and appears likely to be selected by the Tigers in the pre-season draft after he decided not to nominate for last Saturday's national draft.

Tom Couch, the son of Geelong's 1989 Brownlow Medalist Paul Couch, is training with the Cats in the hope of making the club's rookie list after also being overlooked in last week's draft while ex-Tiger Tom Roach is training with St Kilda and former Crow Hayden Skipworth is training with Port.

Permission to train list
(recent additions underlined)

Adelaide - Nil

Brisbane Lions - Timothy Brown, Geelong Falcons; Leonard Clark, Brisbane Lions Rookie; Anthony Corrie, Brisbane Lions; Will Hamill, Brisbane Lions Rookie

Carlton - Cain Ackland, St Kilda; Michael Jamison, North Ballarat; Orren Stephenson, North Ballarat; Ross Young, Northern Bullants; Ty Zantuck, Zillmere Eagles

Collingwood - Martin Clarke, County Down Ireland; Scott Meyer, Williamstown; Liam Picken, Williamstown; Patrick Rose, Williamstown; David Stretton, Williamstown

Essendon - James Bennett, Belconnen; Matthew Firman, Essendon; Ryan Gale, Claremont; Rennie Gilchrist, Sandringham; Ben Jolley, Essendon; Mitchell Keddell, Shepparton; Justin Maddern, Bendigo Bombers; Tim O’Keefe, Essendon

Fremantle - Benet Copping, Fremantle; Dean Kelly, Oakleigh Chargers; Darren Rumble, Subiaco

Geelong - Tom Couch, Geelong Falcons; Adam Iacobucci, Collingwood; Tom Lonergan, Geelong; Joel Reynolds, Essendon

Hawthorn - Nathan Batsanis, Oakleigh Chargers; Luke Brennan, Hawthorn; Tristan Cartledge, Essendon; Joel Combes, Sandringham Dragons; Marcus Crook, Box Hill Hawks; Matthew Foster, Glenelg; Stefan Garrubba, Sydney Swans rookie; Sam Gibson, Box Hill Hawks; Ben Kane, Hawthorn; David Marcius, Box Hill Hawks; Tom Pollett, Box Hill Hawks; Tim Sheringham, Geelong rookie; Will Slade, Geelong; Josh Thurgood, Hawthorn; Jonathon Wynne, Norwood

Kangaroos - Leigh Adams, Eastern Ranges; Ben Hughes, Gippsland Power; Sam Jacobs, Woodville West Torrens; Joel Perry, Kangaroos; Nick Smith, Oakleigh Chargers

Melbourne - Andrew Ericksen, Sydney

Port Adelaide - Nick Batchelor, Geelong; Adam Cockshell, Norwood; James Ezard, Port Adelaide; Jack Fosdike, Norwood; Brad Geddes, Woodville West Torrens; Matthew Graham, Glenelg; Gavin Hughes, Norwood; Kyle Jenner, Port Magpies; Jack Juniper, Fremantle; Brodie Lomas, Woodville West Torrens; Harry Miller, Hawthorn; Adam Pepe Port Magpies; Tom Rischbieth, Port Adelaide; Hayden Skipworth, Adelaide; Josh Willoughby, Sydney Swans

Richmond - Zac Hier, Woodville West Torrens; Shaun Huy, Coburg; Jake King, Coburg; Kent Kingsley, Geelong; Dean Limbach, Richmond

St Kilda - Jayden Attard, Brisbane Lions; Cathal Corr, St Kilda; Chais Dunne, Casey Scorpions; Ben Fraser, Casey Scorpions; Ed McDonnell, St Kilda; Alister Neville, Coburg; Tom Roach, Richmond; Ben Ross, Gippsland Power; James Tyquin, St Bedes Mentone; Luke Van Rheenan, Scoresby

Sydney - Matthew Davis, Sydney; Earl Shaw, Sydney

West Coast - Ben Sharp, West Perth; Brad Smith, Subiaco; Ashley Thornton, Peel Thunder; Beau Wilkes, Claremont

Western Bulldogs - James Allan, Werribee; Robert Castello, Werribee; Brett Robinson, Werribee; Matthew Seal, East Perth; Wayde Twomey, Werribee; Michael West, Western Bulldogs; Samuel Wormald, Werribee; Jarrod Young, Werribee

Good young player.

With all the other crap threads going around, Annoying Kant suggested that I start a decent thread with nothing but talk about B Section, nice one AK.

So what's happening in B Section.....?

My boys just taking it 1 week at a time, Brighton, Caulfield and OEG travelling OK and loom as the serious challengers to the Lions.

SKOB, like many people who attend Prince on a Saturday night, facing the "Double Drop".

Your thoughts people?

SMG

AJAX???

huge chance at finals footy with a few big pickups in the off season

Good young player.

The past and present VAFA players who seemed to attract a bit of AFL interest this year include:

Brett Collins- rookie list
James Tyquin - pre-season
Ross Young - rookie list.

Its interesting to note that neither Collins nor Tyquin played state footy this year. Was this a mistake by the selectors or was there something else going on I don't know about?

I seem to remember that Ross Young, in his final year at Uni Blues when he carved it up, wasn't picked for the senior state game against SA and was overlooked in favour of James Scambler for U23's when there was a "one player per club" policy. Nick Bourke was the coach that year.

Do these coaches / selectors have something to answer for?

Is it strange therefore that other, more established and experienced state players like Beaumont, Tallent, Lewski, Lacey, Dunne haven't been on the AFL radar?

Thoughts?

The past and present VAFA players who seemed to attract a bit of AFL interest this year include:

Its interesting to note that neither Collins nor Tyquin played state footy this year. Was this a mistake by the selectors or was there something else going on I don't know about?

I seem to remember that Ross Young, in his final year at Uni Blues when he carved it up, wasn't picked for the senior state game against SA and was overlooked in favour of James Scambler for U23's when there was a "one player per club" policy. Nick Bourke was the coach that year.

Is it strange therefore that other, more established and experienced state players like Beaumont, Tallent, Lewski, Lacey, Dunne haven't been on the AFL radar?

Thoughts?
Collins went to Qld with the U19 football as a 17 year old. Played APS football with Haileybury most of the year. Tyquin was in the squad but missed a fair amount of training due to injury and was left out of the final side. Can't comment on Young.

Welcome to the B Grade thread 3 malugas, looking forward to the arrival of RCT and Getsmart for some good banter this year. I wonder if good old Red Roy will wonder in occasionally from the C Section thread to give us some of his usual verbal dribble.

Thoughts?

Collins played in that "best of the rest game" for Victoria against the Allies at the time of the draft camp, i think on your last point, his main upside was his kicking skills, they are absolutely amazing, he has ambidextrous foot skills and they are very sublime, helps that he is fairly tall as well, and only 17 to boot.

I thought this thread needed a bit of spruik so I thought I may report on some VAFA B grade celebrity sightings:

- Trent Skurrie last seen leaving MCC members extremely sunburnt from the grandstand lights

- The Big Pineapple last seen evading overprotective fathers in Perth and the law (2 from 2 and 4 from 7 nights) Fantastic ratios

- Justin Timberlake and his short shorts seen fratenising at the Portsea Polo

- Handsome Bee Wonderful head in hands aftar receiving a pair of socks for Christmas from his better half when he purchased gifts in excess of $400 for her, very very disappointing

- Trent Skurrie just sunburnt during daylight hours

I was down at OEG training last night and the word was that '2006 Back Pocket of the Year' Trent Skurrie will miss the first half of the season with severe sunburn. OEG coach Darren Handley described it as a double blow as Skurrie also doubles as a glowing light tower for training once daylight saving ends.

Just when you thought it couldn’t get any worse for Trent Skurrie, he has been sent to hospital after he lost consciousness last night and hit his head while falling to the ground. Doctor’s have blamed it on the boys size 12 t-shirt he was wearing that blocked the blood flow to the brain causing him to black out.

Rumour has it Big Pineapple that JT has been unable to work his moves lately as he has been nursing a severe blow to the facial area. Can you confirm???

Hhhhmmmmm this rumour seems a bit cheesy! I did bump into JT doing a few laps around Keilor Hill last night, but he was showing no signs of recent beating. I was worried though that his stick-like physique might blow away in the wind!

Another sighting of JT this morning. He was wearing a stripy pink shirt with a purple tie. When queried about his get up, JT simply answered, the tie is magenta. Worrying signs IMO if he his to pull the boots on this year...

At least he had pants on... JT's last sighting had him on York St, South Melbourne with pants around his ankles trying to bring sexy back!

Word is though that he has been a revelation at Keilor Hill.

Also a big rumour that he may bring the big cheese over from old geelong?

At least he had pants on... JT's last sighting had him on York St, South Melbourne with pants around his ankles trying to bring sexy back!

Word is though that he has been a revelation at Keilor Hill.

Also a big rumour that he may bring the big cheese over from old geelong?

Very true, I have tried to lure the Big Cheese of Albury-Wodonga across from Old Geelong.

However, OEG coaching staff have expressed concerned about his IQ being a country lad from Albury-Wodonga and have suggested that St Bernards would be a more appropriate club.

Very true, I have tried to lure the Big Cheese of Albury-Wodonga across from Old Geelong.

However, OEG coaching staff have expressed concerned about his IQ being a country lad from Albury-Wodonga and have suggested that St Bernards would be a more appropriate club.

It sounds like you're also suggesting that he struggles with the ladies???

I can't take all the credit. A good friend of mine SMG has also contributed to the drought stricken state of the Pit.

I think Ryan Legudi was one of the few who saw the light and jumped ship from the Snake Pit, sighting a lack of opportunities with the tarts. Sadly his good mate Dan Sheehan went backwards and decided to play for NOBs, where they have been on Stage 5 women restrictions since 1994. Unlucky.

I also believe the NOBS tart restriction was why Big Jason Cordy left.

Speaking of which, can anyone confirm that the great man was seen walking down St Kilda beach in a tight pair of purple speedos? I assumed he was practicing his strut for this weekends St Kilda festival?!

I also believe the NOBS tart restriction was why Big Jason Cordy left.

Speaking of which, can anyone confirm that the great man was seen walking down St Kilda beach in a tight pair of purple speedos? I assumed he was practicing his strut for this weekends St Kilda festival?!

JT,

That's weird because there have been unconfirmed reports that James Beaumont had a blue pair on walking just outside Williamstown. I think they were meeting on Fitzroy Street.

Bumped into SKOB's gun CHB Tim Duggan on Saturday night. He was telling me that his ostietis goochus had flarred up again and that he was on a restricted pre-season program. He said he will miss most of the pre-season practice matches but should be right by round 1, however might be a little underdone.