Ben Johnson

If he gets back to his best he will easily break back into the team. Great to see him being so disciplined!

"I've wasted my last two years," he told collingwoodfc.com.au.
"[I've] just been undisciplined off the ground and I’m going to dedicate my next four years to footy.
"I've definitely let myself down. [I've] probably let my family, the footy club and my teammates [down as well]. But I've recognised that and I've just got to change it."
Johnson said an end-of-season chat with senior coach Mick Malthouse had played a part in his refreshed outlook.
"It was a very open and honest conversation," Johnson said.
"I've been with him for nine years and I think he said it as a mate as well … [he basically said], 'What are you going to do? Just do something about it.' It was along those lines.
"He's the best like that. He's always been straight up with me, no bull**** and you can't ask for anything else."
While the stinging rebuke he copped from the president about his weight earlier in the year – in front of his teammates – must have also hurt, Johnson knew deep down it was time to act.
And act he has. The rewards of his new attitude to the game have been obvious to those at the Lexus Centre, with the prolific left-footer enjoying his best summer to date.
"My body's never been like this," he said, when the last to leave Gosch's Paddock after this week's main training session.
"I've been off the p***, I’ve given alcohol the boot this year.
"Last footy season I just drank way too much and probably ate the wrong food a lot as well.
"I'm 27 years old now so it's sort of time to grow up," he said.
"You know I used to get away with it when I was 21 to 25 because I was still pretty young.
"But as you get older, you can't really live that lifestyle because it just catches up with you.
"I just wasn't fit and about round 16 when I did my ankle and did my shoulder, I missed probably three weeks and then I just really wasn’t fit enough to get back into the side."

good news but is he good enough to be in our best 22 for round 1?

Some serious breast-beating there. How could a player past the first flush of youth make such basic errors?

He'd need to work like a Spartan all year to regain his credibility and his automatic inclusion in the team. Let's hope he does.

It's a pretty frank interview and assessment by Ben, refreshing to hear. When Johnson first entered the team I thought his disposal was woeful and didn't rate him, but you have to admit 06 was a great year for Johnson - a year he was also working with Dane to really get it together.

I hope he can refind that form because he hasn't featured in anyones first 22 on this site and barely made it into the emergencies.

i hope he can regain his best form, if so he has definitly grab his spot in the side. you can't buy experience and prior to his last 2 years he was a great servant to the club.

Ben has a problem and I don't mean past problems.
It is that, the youth we have at the club now want his spot and they will do what ever it takes to get it and keep him out.
As Ben said he wasted 2 years and those kids went past him and showed what they are/were prepared to do to stay in the seniors.

Best of luck Ben, but I think the kids have got you marked.

Can't see it Benny boy.
Hang on what cant you see

He admitted he wasted two years, admitted he drank too much and ate shit and has now given booze and junk food the arse and is working harder

Whats to miss?

Thats quite a frank interview, i hope he gets pushed out by years end but a fit and firing johnno the one of 06 is still a weapon

Ben has a problem and I don't mean past problems.
It is that, the youth we have at the club now want his spot and they will do what ever it takes to get it and keep him out.
As Ben said he wasted 2 years and those kids went past him and showed what they are/were prepared to do to stay in the seniors.

Best of luck Ben, but I think the kids have got you marked.

Ditto. Good news to hear him pulling a finger out but after the season had ended if he was traded away I would have thought it best for both parties just like in Rhyce's case. If he finds form we are a better side because he can run all day (except for the last 2 years of course). We do still need a proven in and under player that Ben can be .... just palm off to players with better kicks that's all and not get blind sided Ben!. Good luck.

I can't see him coming back into the side and performing how he used to. I'm assuming that is his goal, yes?

Good on him for getting himself back to fitness, or giving it his best at least. He should provide us with adequate back up now.

He can get as fit and buff as he wants, but I'll never be confident when he kicks the ball. He is the most one sided player in the AFL. To be useful he shouldn't be allowed on the right side of the field. If I had a dollar for everytime he got caught when trying to turn onto his left foot on the right wing.....

We have more promising, and skillful youth. Hopefully they learn from Johnno's mistakes and don't take their position for granted like he did. Hopefully he drills this message in to them.

I hope Benny can get it together, and totaly agree with Old Spice. We need Benny back at his best, he's been with the club a long time now and we need his experance. At 27 he still has a few good years left, and if he can keep going he would give the young guys like shaz, rusty, ricky, beams and the like time to settle. I hope he can stay off the p*ss, stay out of the clubs and keep focused on the rest of his career. Good luck in 09' Benny!!!

His kicking could be ordinary, but mind you, he had great lateral movement I always thought, very crab-esque - handy for breaking through the centre from back half of the ground.

I have a lot of time for Johnno, so the sight of a skinny fit BJj at training had me thinking he was back on his game. I'm backing him in

Good mate of mine is good mates with BJ

He was telling him that they have been punished on the training track big time and its the fittest and best preseason he has ever had also been of the piss 6weeks

Good signs but will he be good enough

Ben's best is good enough in my opinion. Yes he's one sided and not very damaging by foot, but he has a great 'step' and provides tremendous run. He is a far better player than Ryan Cook if that is who is after a back flank/pocket.

I remember when we smashed Geelong by 102 points a couple of seasons ago that Johnson and Heath Shaw provided the most attack.
Even in other games when we were hot that year, it was Johnno that provided the attack.
We quickly forget how attacking Johnno can be.
You need a player to break the lines and he does that.
Yes, his kicking can be crap - but he has improved and kicks a lot of goals on the run from 50 m. mark. Similar to what Lonie used to do.
He can be credited for turning Dane Swan into the player he is now by taking him under his wings and making him train hard.
I think that most Collingwood supporters here would dream of playing for Collingwood. Having that opportunity would be awesome.
Well, Johnno was a Collingwood supporter as a kid and I am certain that he will not let his dream die without a fight.
I reckon he will fire, as will Didak and Heath Shaw.
They know they owe the club and supporters big time. :thumbsu:

I am in the boat who hopes and expects him to struggle to cement himself in the side.

That said Ben Johnson at his best, with our lack of experince would probably have a role over the course of the year. I expect him to be in and out of the side.

Some serious breast-beating there. How could a player past the first flush of youth make such basic errors?

He'd need to work like a Spartan all year to regain his credibility and his automatic inclusion in the team. Let's hope he does.

fear the wounded warrior.... has a great deal to prove to himself and the rest of us collingwood people...
have no doubt benny will be like a new recruit for us this year... rhyce was given the boot and im sure benny understands well and truly he is next in line if he doesnt recapture his line breaking skills of a few years back..

Yep the Johnno sidestep and 80 metre carry and kick is a fair weapon on its day

Remember he destroyed North at the dome a couple of years ago

I have a lot of time for Johnno, so the sight of a skinny fit BJj at training had me thinking he was back on his game. I'm backing him in

+1

Would love to see him in the best 22 in 09

Why would we want our best defender released for an average one?
I didn't say to the midfield.. Shaw got shut down several times last year because he was the only line breaker back there.. it almost became a case of shut down Shaw and strangle Collingwood's supply.. Johnno at his best a few years back led the league in distance gained with the ball.. it's a lot harder to shut down 2 of them.

I misinterpreted what you meant, sorry.

Your point has merit then, agreed.