Bendigo FL discussion 2022

• Thread starter Thread starter Del28562

Big win for the Gisborne boys today, I’m thinking the Kyneton lads would have hoped to go better than they did at the graveyard.
Big win for the Gisborne boys today, I’m thinking the Kyneton lads would have hoped to go better than they did at the
Big win for the Gisborne boys today, I’m thinking the Kyneton lads would have hoped to go better than they did at the graveyard.
A mate of mine was there today he’s neutral lives in Sunbury and went up for a look and reckons first quarter aside Kyneton were the much better team and they played a fair bit of the game with 1-2 players sent off for things that wouldn’t have even been worthy of a send off in a netball game. Said Gisborne looked like a pretty cocky bunch after a strong first quarter and the end result flattered them.

Strange, seems Gisborne won every qtr, were 36 up at qtr time and won by 60. Not sure what ya Sunbury mate was looking at! Oh well winners are grinners I guess.

I’m just going off what he told me and he’s generally a pretty good judge. I just had a look at the scores myself and was 11 goals to 8 after quarter time so reasonably even especially if Kyneton were playing short due to send offs. Looks like all the damage was done early and Gisborne deserved there win maybe last weeks loss sparked them up a bit early in the game.

Whilst we had half a side out today, and still got the job done and cemented ourselves as flag favourites. If I was a Kyneton player, offical or supporter I would be beyond filthy. That umpiring today was boarder line cheating.

Those yellow card offences including two seperate ones for Manual were laughable. And certainly ensured the game was resulted by quarter time with Kyneton playing the first quarter with 16 and the last 2 and a half quarters with 17.

We have been on the bad end of some umpiring decisions this year, but was certainly made up for today.

I’m sure the officiating umpires won’t be rushing in to watch the replay anytime soon, as they should never umpire senior footy again.

Agree with the above that Kyneton looked the better side after quarter time, but also need to consider we had more than half a side out.

Did feel a few of our boys got a bit ahead of themselves with their arrogance, which was a bad look, especially as they will be in the 12 o clock game as soon as a few come back.

Anyways let’s hope we get to see Kyneton and the Dogs square off again in September with a couple more compantant umpires that won’t ruin a game of footy by quarter time.

Whilst we had half a side out today, and still got the job done and cemented ourselves as flag favourites. If I was a Kyneton player, offical or supporter I would be beyond filthy. That umpiring today was boarder line cheating.

Those yellow card offences including two seperate ones for Manual were laughable. And certainly ensured the game was resulted by quarter time with Kyneton playing the first quarter with 16 and the last 2 and a half quarters with 17.

We have been on the bad end of some umpiring decisions this year, but was certainly made up for today.

I’m sure the officiating umpires won’t be rushing in to watch the replay anytime soon, as they should never umpire senior footy again.

Agree with the above that Kyneton looked the better side after quarter time, but also need to consider we had more than half a side out.

Did feel a few of our boys got a bit ahead of themselves with their arrogance, which was a bad look, especially as they will be in the 12 o clock game as soon as a few come back.

Anyways let’s hope we get to see Kyneton and the Dogs square off again in September with a couple more compantant umpires that won’t ruin a game of footy by quarter time.
I don’t think Kyneton were expecting gisborne to come out and be as physical as they were in that first quarter , but they adapted well after quarter time and was a much even game after that , umpiring was a disgrace , Kyneton still a fair way off the top side considering gisborne had so many out

It's a worrying trend the oversanitisation of our game, cards should only come out for behind the ball hits or king hits, anyone would think Tom Stewart thumped Prestia with a fist, that action was part of our game, it was a hospital pass to Prestia, not sure we want guys sent off for actions like Stewart's

So happy for guys to be knocked out well after they have released the ball? Pretty sure Stewart himself has admitted he made an error. I'll disagree, that isn't a part of the game anymore.

Split second after he released the ball, I heard Ross Lyon speak about it, especially in country footy you want guys to have real physical presence and guys play on the edge, Lyon said he'd expect it in a grand final, I'd expect that action in a finals type game in country footy no doubt

Big day/night for Castlemaine yesterday, first win at home for a long time and first time senior and reserves won on same day for many, many years.

Feel for Maryborough who are doing it tough, meanwhile AFLCV is asleep at the wheel while clubs die.

I don’t think Kyneton were expecting gisborne to come out and be as physical as they were in that first quarter , but they adapted well after quarter time and was a much even game after that , umpiring was a disgrace , Kyneton still a fair way off the top side considering gisborne had so many out

Sounds the same as what they did to Square a few weeks back in the first quarter, just went the man. As soon as they started attacking the ball they looked a completely different side.

What do you want to see from AFLCV?

Some leadership would be a good start. At the moment the game in the country is meandering towards ruin and AFL Victoria and it's various branches are taking no meaningful action whatsoever.

Why do we never hear from the commission? They should be out proactively talking with clubs and proposing solutions to problems for discussion and action.

At the moment we have some half-arsed under 18s review and nothing else. Meanwhile clubs are dying, the junior competition is a mess, the women's competition is going backwards and the premier competition in the region becomes less credible every season.

And to show how simple it is here are 10 ideas I think the commission should have been discussing yesterday:

1. Disband all existing leagues and form a three division Central Victorian Football League with a method of promotion and relegation for clubs.

2. Combine reserves and under 18 football into an under 23 competition with a set limit number of over 23 players in each team.

3. Adjust the points system so low performing teams have much bigger point allocations and heavier deterrents for moving to like clubs within the same region. Ie move teams within division one, extra point and no discounts over time.

4. Mandatory for all junior football teams to be aligned with senior club.

5. As much junior football as possible moves to Saturday prior to senior games, under 12, 14, 16 as a minimum. Get rid of junior grading and play other clubs in same division.

6. Add junior netball competition of under 11s, 13s, 15, to play prior to existing games on Saturday.

7. Reduce senior teams to 20 players.

8. Reduce reserves/under 18 combined comp to 16 players on field, up to 6 on bench.

9. Double umpire pay and hold clubs accountable for poor on field and off field behaviour with penalties including financial and premiership points.

10. Play junior girls/senior womens football around seniors on Saturday if time permits and lights are available, if not play on Sundays. Remove all fees for female junior players for next 5 years.

It doesn't really matter if you agree with any or none of that, the point is this is what the people in charge of the game should be doing. Coming up with ideas and solutions to address issues within the game, instead of taking a massive fee hit to put out some fixtures and puff pieces on the website each week.

And to show how simple it is here are 10 ideas I think the commission should have been discussing yesterday:

1. Disband all existing leagues and form a three division Central Victorian Football League with a method of promotion and relegation for clubs.

2. Combine reserves and under 18 football into an under 23 competition with a set limit number of over 23 players in each team.

3. Adjust the points system so low performing teams have much bigger point allocations and heavier deterrents for moving to like clubs within the same region. Ie move teams within division one, extra point and no discounts over time.

5. As much junior football as possible moves to Saturday prior to senior games, under 12, 14, 16 as a minimum. Get rid of junior grading and play other clubs in same division.

6. Add junior netball competition of under 11s, 13s, 15, to play prior to existing games on Saturday.

8. Reduce reserves/under 18 combined comp to 16 players on field, up to 6 on bench.

9. Double umpire pay and hold clubs accountable for poor on field and off field behaviour with penalties including financial and premiership points.

10. Play junior girls/senior womens football around seniors on Saturday if time permits and lights are available, if not play on Sundays. Remove all fees for female junior players for next 5 years.

It doesn't really matter if you agree with any or none of that, the point is this is what the people in charge of the game should be doing. Coming up with ideas and solutions to address issues within the game, instead of taking a massive fee hit to put out some fixtures and puff pieces on the website each week.
I don't think I agree with any of your points other than footy needs a shakeup otherwise it will die.

Relagation and promotion doesn't work for starters. I'll use this year's Goulburn valley league, the two weakest clubs in the comp this year Benella and Shepp United were pushing for finals, so they'd both be in the top division still.

You look at Bendigo league and there's 7 good teams only, flat Maryborough and Maine aren't good enough, if they played Locky, mount pleasant, colbo or one of the top ncfl teams they'd lose. Those towns don't want compete against square and co. and it wrecks their juniors.

They are better off trying to get Echuca, Rochy, Echuca United and moama into the league and letting Castlemaine and Maryborough go into the central highlands, they haven't got the funds or junior programs to compete.flat go to Heathcote league and maiden gully go into the bfl

The tac cup needs to go. All the travel our best youngsters in the region do each weekend, miss school for training, mates parties to have 1 or 2 guys drafted isn't sustainable. The best kids get scholarships now anyway, dow x2, Daniels, Caldwell, brander, O'Brien hardly played as they were at Geelong grammar, just have the aps schools comp and let the talented kids play seniors at their home club.

Have mous in place between all major and minor league clubs, where if you're 18-24 from the minor league you can go to your affiliated club as a 1 pointer. Get rid of reserves and they 23-28 players for a major league club play as MoU 1 point players for their minor team, they get called up for good form and dropped players go to the minor league club. It would keep clubs like mitiamo, calivil, serp and Inglewood running for a fist while as they would all struggle with juniors and will either merge or fold.

Under 18s play at 12, women play at 1045.

Change the points system to not max points for clubs but a minimum amount of 1 point players, Strath, square, Gisborne must have 15, 1 pointers and then can get whoever to fill the last 7 spots for the team.

All country major leagues should have the same salary and points structures with metro clubs needing more 1 point players.

And each major league club can nominate 1 player to be not included in the cap for the season at the start of the year, so you can attract an ex AFL guys to play on the league.

Some really good points here - I agree do something more than meeting the power bendigo clubs down the street for a coffee and deciding the fate of all the country clubs over a cappuccino!

Why when talk is started about fixing footy does it directly go to. Oh. Bring in Rochy Echuca Moama- kick out poor performing clubs

We want to changes leagues around to fix things but never seem to want to fix clubs [emoji2369].

Just a view from the back of the grandstand

Edit… and it’s not just directed to the Bendigo League either

Why when talk is started about fixing footy does it directly go to. Oh. Bring in Rochy Echuca Moama- kick out poor performing clubs

We want to changes leagues around to fix things but never seem to want to fix clubs [emoji2369].

Some clubs cannot be fixed for many reasons and decisions need to be made by those clubs to look at alternatives

I don't think I agree with any of your points other than footy needs a shakeup otherwise it will die.

Relagation and promotion doesn't work for starters. I'll use this year's Goulburn valley league, the two weakest clubs in the comp this year Benella and Shepp United were pushing for finals, so they'd both be in the top division still.

You look at Bendigo league and there's 7 good teams only, flat Maryborough and Maine aren't good enough, if they played Locky, mount pleasant, colbo or one of the top ncfl teams they'd lose. Those towns don't want compete against square and co. and it wrecks their juniors.

They are better off trying to get Echuca, Rochy, Echuca United and moama into the league and letting Castlemaine and Maryborough go into the central highlands, they haven't got the funds or junior programs to compete.flat go to Heathcote league and maiden gully go into the bfl

The tac cup needs to go. All the travel our best youngsters in the region do each weekend, miss school for training, mates parties to have 1 or 2 guys drafted isn't sustainable. The best kids get scholarships now anyway, dow x2, Daniels, Caldwell, brander, O'Brien hardly played as they were at Geelong grammar, just have the aps schools comp and let the talented kids play seniors at their home club.

Have mous in place between all major and minor league clubs, where if you're 18-24 from the minor league you can go to your affiliated club as a 1 pointer. Get rid of reserves and they 23-28 players for a major league club play as MoU 1 point players for their minor team, they get called up for good form and dropped players go to the minor league club. It would keep clubs like mitiamo, calivil, serp and Inglewood running for a fist while as they would all struggle with juniors and will either merge or fold.

Under 18s play at 12, women play at 1045.

Change the points system to not max points for clubs but a minimum amount of 1 point players, Strath, square, Gisborne must have 15, 1 pointers and then can get whoever to fill the last 7 spots for the team.

All country major leagues should have the same salary and points structures with metro clubs needing more 1 point players.

And each major league club can nominate 1 player to be not included in the cap for the season at the start of the year, so you can attract an ex AFL guys to play on the league.

I think the key takeaway here is regardless of what you think of our suggestions, we have just produced 17 or 18 ideas to help country footy which is about 15 more than the policy makers have in the past 10 years.

This is a really good point. It's easy to dismiss clubs like Castlemaine, Maryborough and even Kyneton over the past decade, but the facts are there are huge handicaps these clubs have in front of them before they start.

Castlemaine has been for the most part, a well run, financially sound club but in terms of demographics and available players, available financial support and the size of the rate base and local council capacity to support facilities, they are hugely behind the 8 ball. As is Kyneton and Maryborough.

With the demise of country footy as an AFL pathway and the Bendigo centric elite junior pathways the problem becomes even greater.

It would be nice to see AFL Victoria attempt to equalise some of these issues with some targeted support in the same way the AFL equalise clubs facing lopsided competitive advantages.

It’s a tough one and I’m not sure what the answers are, but I don’t think dropping clubs into different leagues is always the answer.

I’m from around Geelong so I’ll use Portarlington as a local example to me. They’ve been constantly on the bottom of the bellarine league ladder since about 1995. Forfeited a couple of 2’s games so far this year and been belted every week in the 1’s and 2’s. The town itself is right down the bottom of the peninsula, about a 45 minute drive to Geelong and really struggles to attract players as most people in Geelong hate the drive down there plus they’d also be driving straight past heaps of more successful clubs. There’s talk of them moving to the Geelong district league but in my opinion it wouldn’t change a thing. They’d have even more travel than they do in the bellarine league and they’d still struggle to recruit players.

Travel etc might not be an issue for Castlemaine or Maryborough going to the central highlands? I’m not really sure of the area. Just thought I’d share my 2 cents

It’s a tough one and I’m not sure what the answers are, but I don’t think dropping clubs into different leagues is always the answer.

I’m from around Geelong so I’ll use Portarlington as a local example to me. They’ve been constantly on the bottom of the bellarine league ladder since about 1995. Forfeited a couple of 2’s games so far this year and been belted every week in the 1’s and 2’s. The town itself is right down the bottom of the peninsula, about a 45 minute drive to Geelong and really struggles to attract players as most people in Geelong hate the drive down there plus they’d also be driving straight past heaps of more successful clubs. There’s talk of them moving to the Geelong district league but in my opinion it wouldn’t change a thing. They’d have even more travel than they do in the bellarine league and they’d still struggle to recruit players.

Travel etc might not be an issue for Castlemaine or Maryborough going to the central highlands? I’m not really sure of the area. Just thought I’d share my 2 cents
I've just moved to Geelong and I can't understand why Portarlington are so bad, it's getting plenty of young families moving there and surrounds. So there is Auskick should be going well. They also have Paul little spending up big with the pub, which will be the best pub in Victoria when it's finished and the ferrie service, I'm sure little would have plenty of Essendon contacts to get players

I think the key takeaway here is regardless of what you think of our suggestions, we have just produced 17 or 18 ideas to help country footy which is about 15 more than the policy makers have in the past 10 years.

This is a really good point. It's easy to dismiss clubs like Castlemaine, Maryborough and even Kyneton over the past decade, but the facts are there are huge handicaps these clubs have in front of them before they start.

Castlemaine has been for the most part, a well run, financially sound club but in terms of demographics and available players, available financial support and the size of the rate base and local council capacity to support facilities, they are hugely behind the 8 ball. As is Kyneton and Maryborough.

With the demise of country footy as an AFL pathway and the Bendigo centric elite junior pathways the problem becomes even greater.

It would be nice to see AFL Victoria attempt to equalise some of these issues with some targeted support in the same way the AFL equalise clubs facing lopsided competitive advantages.
Yep Castlemaine are coming from a long way back, their side in 2021 was the worst side in a major league I've ever seen. You get rid of pioneers suddenly Henderson and ginnivan possibly choose to play at Castlemaine instead of Strath.

Maryborough have a massive amount of clubs around them with a stagnent population, gone are the days of people moving to Maryborough to live. Both sides had some incredible players in the 90s.

If kyenton continue to have a big following they should be ok.

Kangaroo flat is the other worry, I can't remember the last time they played finals

I've just moved to Geelong and I can't understand why Portarlington are so bad, it's getting plenty of young families moving there and surrounds. So there is Auskick should be going well. They also have Paul little spending up big with the pub, which will be the best pub in Victoria when it's finished and the ferrie service, I'm sure little would have plenty of Essendon contacts to get players
Port the town is definitely growing but it’s still tiny compared to places like Torquay, Ocean Grove. I just think they’re unfortunate in where the place is situated and they’ve been unsuccessful for so long. Geelong based players just have so many better options across the 3 leagues to play at

Does anybody no if those Kyneton blokes got suspended or not from the game against Gisborne I haven’t seen any news on here on any article on the addy website..