max powers.
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Geelong
- Other Teams
- Leeds Utd
And left anyway? So what.

You obviously deleted the comment about the 5 senior players.Not sure you can just blame them
Can we have a indication for those out of the loop?
You sound like someone formally connected to the club and in the know?One of them wrote a letter to the executive. Some had dads involved some didn’t. All bitching about not getting a game. Guess what? They weren’t good enough.
Now we have a club with no leadership at the top and players running amok. Very sad
Max was a very good playerYou sound like someone formally connected to the club and in the know?
Sounds like there’s more than just smoke then, it’s on fire!
How about an off season temperature check on each club’s list this far?
South would be the big movers so far, Castlemaine next with a few additions and no departures of note.
Gisborne seems pretty stable, Sandhurst maybe a few out, Storm up a bit.
Not much from Eaglehawk or Square and the lack of announcements from Flat is perhaps a sign things will be tough there.
So far you would have to say the teams outside the 5 have made some big inroads so we might actually get a season where we don’t know the results before we start.
Correct me if I am wrong but from a distance I cannot see how this alleged recent incident can relate in any way to the club's decision 12 months ago to appoint a new coach for the 2024 season.I’ve since heard the allegation involves the distribution of an intimate image without consent.
If that’s the case there’s serious consequences for the individual and possibly damages to relationships in the club but I’m not sure there’s a whole lot of connection to the club as a whole in terms of culpability.
You can’t control the actions of every player.
I think the assumption is under carter this would have never happened. My understanding is the coach had no idea what had happened either and had rung the player to have a catch up, before being told where to go.Correct me if I am wrong but from a distance I cannot see how this alleged recent incident can relate in any way to the club's decision 12 months ago to appoint a new coach for the 2024 season.
Bingo, Shawn McCormick etc.I think the assumption is under carter this would have never happened. My understanding is the coach had no idea what had happened either and had rung the player to have a catch up, before being told where to go.
Trent that is one hell of an assumption. Does anyone think that a player so allegedly irresponsible in committing an act that could well end up in the courts would not have done so under the previous coach. What did Carter go home with him every night and monitor his social media?I think the assumption is under carter this would have never happened. My understanding is the coach had no idea what had happened either and had rung the player to have a catch up, before being told where to go.
Trent that is one hell of an assumption. Does anyone think that a player so allegedly irresponsible in committing an act that could well end up in the courts would not have done so under the previous coach. What did Carter go home with him every night and monitor his social media?
However your last sentence is what particularly interests me. That is, '... told where to go'. Are we led to believe this player revealed his actions to the coach then abused him?
Correct me if I am reading too much into this.
I’m not even just talking about that incident, it’s one of many.Trent that is one hell of an assumption. Does anyone think that a player so allegedly irresponsible in committing an act that could well end up in the courts would not have done so under the previous coach. What did Carter go home with him every night and monitor his social media?
However your last sentence is what particularly interests me. That is, '... told where to go'. Are we led to believe this player revealed his actions to the coach then abused him?
Correct me if I am reading too much into this
Bingo, Shawn McCormick etc.
Been things happening all year that have either been let go or hit with a lettuce leaf punishment. Culminates with this sort of thing.
Shit stop going around in riddles just tell us what actually happened
Golden square had a culture built up from the mid 2000s that was the envy of clubs in the district and was passed on through. Starting with carter, Rosa, holds tock, Lloyd, Anderson, Geary, etc with McCormick and pinner as well. I think there's the feel it's eroded nowI’m not even just talking about that incident, it’s one of many.
A culture takes years to build and stuff all to destroy. The young guys need leadership not another mate.
They will need to sort off field out first. Got to get the right people running the place as well as the football dept.What do you think should happen at the club Maxy?
Bingo, Shawn McCormick etc.
Been things happening all year that have either been let go or hit with a lettuce leaf punishment. Culminates with this sort of thing.
They will need to sort off field out first. Got to get the right people running the place as well as the football dept.
I don’t want to keep harping on about this but You can’t sack a favourite son and there not be flow on effects. Financially and far more importantly to the fabric of the club.
On field we might just have to suck eggs for a few years which won’t hurt, we are lucky we have good kids coming through.
Be good to see a united club again at some stage though because as much as the powers that be spin it, it most certainly isn’t from a past players perspective.
Do you think some of those kids are at risk of not finding their way through to senior level at Square though based on some of their surnames and the damage that’s been done the last 18 months?They will need to sort off field out first. Got to get the right people running the place as well as the football dept.
I don’t want to keep harping on about this but You can’t sack a favourite son and there not be flow on effects. Financially and far more importantly to the fabric of the club.
On field we might just have to suck eggs for a few years which won’t hurt, we are lucky we have good kids coming through.
Be good to see a united club again at some stage though because as much as the powers that be spin it, it most certainly isn’t from a past players perspective.
Certainly hope not as there is some ripper kids coming through and I’d hate to see good square families leave.Do you think some of those kids are at risk of not finding their way through to senior level at Square though based on some of their surnames and the damage that’s been done the last 18 months?
Always thought the Backhaus oval and surrounds was a better long term option in regard to size, space etc.Interesting to read that Square may need to move some games to the QEO next year due to upgrades to Wade Street.
It’s a bloody tight spot for a footy club the Wade street sight