Preview Best 22, Round 1 2018

So assuming Clarry gets up...

C: Brayshaw Oliver Harmes
R: Gawn Jones Oliver

Yeah no Viney but is there really an isssue here???
Don't think so, But we can't afford to lose two starting mids. So Clarry needs to play.

Don't know why people are freaking out so much, even though we had Viney last year we totally dominated the Cats. The only reason we lost that game is because we didn't convert. If we can reproduce that effort but hit the goals we should be able to pull of the win. Even with no Viney as long as the mids play their roles right

I don't think danger will play, but if he does the long kick is the thing that we won't see because that is the one that puts the stress on his back. It will be a different Danger for at least the first half of the year I reckon, it will be more in the guts then handball and then more forward. His most damaging weapon of meters gained is the aspect of his game that he will be very wary of!

I am expecting big things from you guys this year and see breakout possibilities everywhere with the likes of Trac, ANB, Harmes and Hogan.

The ones I'm unsure of and was hoping you could give me some info about are Brayshaw and Salem. I know the JLT is not the real deal and lacks defensive pressure, grunt and polish but these two just didn't look like they were 'in touch' or 'up to the class' or 'had the vision' to be the possible breakouts they are being talked up to be. You guys (and gals) would no doubt watch way more demons footy than me so maybe you could tell me what I'm missing?

Thanks in advance and all the best for a big year!

You will get differing opinions on Salem and Brayshaw depending on who you talk to. Both highly talented juniors, both missed a significant amount of footy with injuries and both now have question marks on their ability to reach their absolute peaks.

Brayshaw is a better all around footballer but is potentially too slow to take advantage of his best assets which are his ability to kick on both feet and also look beyond the traffic and set up a goal 55m away.

I honestly would love to see the coaching staff use him as a tagger, not only does he bloody love a tackle but he could hurt people the other way.

Salem is very capable of producing 'sexy' football but I also think he tries to do it too often and sometimes lacks fundamentals.

Both haven't been able to stay involved all the way through games at this stage and both have been forced to play in what I would consider unnatural positions for them. Salem especially is better utilized in attack but is asked to play in defence where I don't rate him. Either way both have plenty of time

I don't think danger will play, but if he does the long kick is the thing that we won't see because that is the one that puts the stress on his back. It will be a different Danger for at least the first half of the year I reckon, it will be more in the guts then handball and then more forward. His most damaging weapon of meters gained is the aspect of his game that he will be very wary of!

I am expecting big things from you guys this year and see breakout possibilities everywhere with the likes of Trac, ANB, Harmes and Hogan.

The ones I'm unsure of and was hoping you could give me some info about are Brayshaw and Salem. I know the JLT is not the real deal and lacks defensive pressure, grunt and polish but these two just didn't look like they were 'in touch' or 'up to the class' or 'had the vision' to be the possible breakouts they are being talked up to be. You guys (and gals) would no doubt watch way more demons footy than me so maybe you could tell me what I'm missing?

I think all Bray and Salem need is confidence, and they need it by playing games.

You will get differing opinions on Salem and Brayshaw depending on who you talk to. Both highly talented juniors, both missed a significant amount of footy with injuries and both now have question marks on their ability to reach their absolute peaks.

Brayshaw is a better all around footballer but is potentially too slow to take advantage of his best assets which are his ability to kick on both feet and also look beyond the traffic and set up a goal 55m away.

I honestly would love to see the coaching staff use him as a tagger, not only does he bloody love a tackle but he could hurt people the other way.

Salem is very capable of producing 'sexy' football but I also think he tries to do it too often and sometimes lacks fundamentals.

Both haven't been able to stay involved all the way through games at this stage and both have been forced to play in what I would consider unnatural positions for them. Salem especially is better utilized in attack but is asked to play in defence where I don't rate him. Either way both have plenty of time

thanks for taking the time :)
I hear that Salem trained exclusively with the mids this pre-season so he should at least get a chance to play more attacking footy.
I read somewhere that brayshaw may not be one of the best trainers, have you also heard this?

thanks for taking the time :)
I hear that Salem trained exclusively with the mids this pre-season so he should at least get a chance to play more attacking footy.
I read somewhere that brayshaw may not be one of the best trainers, have you also heard this?

I'd be shocked if that was true about Bray, him and his brothers do a 100 100ms on Christmas day every year.

Salem was very good in JLT 1 with his kicks through the midfield didn't really see him much in JLT 2. May have been on reduced loads. Gus found it a bit more in JLT 2 he'll be right but is wasted in the backline

I fear we will get belted out of the clearances if Salem plays in there a lot this year. neat ball user but lacks that relentless attack on the ball and is a weak tackler and just seems to jog around the ground with no intensity. he needs to lift in that department.
Brayshaw looks fitter than I've ever seen him. I don't think he was that good a trainer in his first few years at the club but that might have changed this year by the looks of him. he will be a good player when he gets a good run at again, hes got the hunger to hunt the ball and the man and has good skills. he is actually a quicker runner than he looks on tv when you watch him live, just has a loping long striding running style.

The ones I'm unsure of and was hoping you could give me some info about are Brayshaw and Salem... maybe you could tell me what I'm missing?
Not much really.

Salem's one of our better ball users but he's lacking a little mongrel. Was a strange pick at the time, god knows what the recruiters were thinking.

Brayshaw's silky and brave as they come. He's also good for at least one "what in the actual **** was that!?!?" moment per game. Bit hard to judge him with his injury history, he's played 36 games but with a decent run at it I'm sure his class will shine through.

Many of us over on the Geelong board are convinced Danger won't play. I don't think they'll risk him, either. I don't want them to take any risk, it's only round one!

With Viney out for you guys, Danger missing should somewhat even things up. If Oliver misses, too, that'd be a big blow for you guys. Your two best extractors...

I've tipped my boys just because I'm biased. Honestly I have no clue how this game will go. It could easily go either way as your boys might be primed for a big year.

Many of us over on the Geelong board are convinced Danger won't play. I don't think they'll risk him, either. I don't want them to take any risk, it's only round one!

With Viney out for you guys, Danger missing should somewhat even things up. If Oliver misses, too, that'd be a big blow for you guys. Your two best extractors...

I've tipped my boys just because I'm biased. Honestly I have no clue how this game will go. It could easily go either way as your boys might be primed for a big year.

Agree on danger, I’d be stunned if you risked him. If Oliver plays don’t think we win, if he plays I think dees by 20.

Not much really.

Salem's one of our better ball users but he's lacking a little mongrel. Was a strange pick at the time, god knows what the recruiters were thinking.

Brayshaw's silky and brave as they come. He's also good for at least one "what in the actual **** was that!?!?" moment per game. Bit hard to judge him with his injury history, he's played 36 games but with a decent run at it I'm sure his class will shine through.

Salem has talent, and we need ball users, but some of the players that went below him make me sad

Agree on danger, I’d be stunned if you risked him. If Oliver plays don’t think we win, if he plays I think dees by 20.
On paper you guys look pretty good, especially if you look beyond round one - your midfield has a lot of depth and talent.

What's the feeling like for this year? I feel like your mob is ready to surge, but every time I put faith in the Dees, they prove me wrong!

I don't want to put the mozz on you guys, so I'll just sit back with interest to see if you guys can become the next Bulldogs or Tigers.

I'm jumping out of the skin for round one to start. The wait's been too long. Sunday arvo can't come quick enough! :thumbsu:

Salem has talent, and we need ball users, but some of the players that went below him make me sad

Thing is. With hindsight it was a pretty poor trade BUT I completely agree with the risk because at the time we badly needed anyone who could play at any level. We didn't get that right but then sliding our picks to get Oliver and Weid could end up one of the all time great trade moves even if Weid doesn't do much. **** if we had just taken Curnow...

On paper you guys look pretty good, especially if you look beyond round one - your midfield has a lot of depth and talent.

What's the feeling like for this year? I feel like your mob is ready to surge, but every time I put faith in the Dees, they prove me wrong!

I don't want to put the mozz on you guys, so I'll just sit back with interest to see if you guys can become the next Bulldogs or Tigers.

I'm jumping out of the skin for round one to start. The wait's been too long. Sunday arvo can't come quick enough! :thumbsu:

None of the fans have really recovered from Rd23.

If anything we are nervous and steeling ourselves for it all to go ****-up again.

IMO Salem's our best ball user; but given I've never actually watched us sober my opinion is unreliable at best.

Thing is. With hindsight it was a pretty poor trade BUT I completely agree with the risk because at the time we badly needed anyone who could play at any level. We didn't get that right but then sliding our picks to get Oliver and Weid could end up one of the all time great trade moves even if Weid doesn't do much. **** if we had just taken Curnow...
I have no problems with the trade; we were losing members, money, morale and needed players who could slide into our best 22 so getting two players instead of one was definitely a smart choice.

As for who we drafted: Salem's a good player but he's missing X-factor, brute strength or a healthy dose of arrogance (vital characteristics for a Top 10 pick). Thankfully Oliver has all of the above :D

None of the fans have really recovered from Rd23.

If anything we are nervous and steeling ourselves for it all to go ****-up again.
I feel for you, I used to be that way back in 2011 and 2012 with the kennet curse that saw geelong constantly beat us when it mattered.
In some ways that round 23 loss last year was the loss you needed to fire the belly and make the hunger.
You're depth this year is the strongest in the league which creates a great training standard and its the last six players picked in the GF that is the difference between the winners and losers. You'll be up there fighting this year, enjoy the crazy emotional ride :)

I feel for you, I used to be that way back in 2011 and 2012 with the kennet curse that saw geelong constantly beat us when it mattered.
In some ways that round 23 loss last year was the loss you needed to fire the belly and make the hunger.
You're depth this year is the strongest in the league which creates a great training standard and its the last six players picked in the GF that is the difference between the winners and losers. You'll be up there fighting this year, enjoy the crazy emotional ride :)
The difference is you had 2008 and had been there. The last time we played finals Cyril Rioli wasn't playing for Hawthorn yet.

Mate you have no idea, we were in the box seat to make finals and we blew against our oldest rival. Not only that but west coast finished on 1964 points for and 1858 against. The years of our last premiership and foundation as you would know being a cats fan.

It's not just last year either.

In 2010 or 11 we belted the swans by 100 odd points, it was the most dominant I might have ever seen us. Then we roll down to the cattery against a side coming to the end while we were on the way up and lose by 186. By 2012 we were the worst team in the AFL and by 13' nearly in history.

In 2006 we would have finished top 4 but managed to lose to Carlton twice and only scrape an elimination final. This was the same Carlton who were in their wooden spoon run.

In 2005 we were 2nd in round 13
By round 22 we had won 3 more games and were eliminated first final against the cats.

2004 we were top of the ladder after Round 18 which was the year Troy Broadbridge died. We lost the last 4 and were beaten by the bombers in the first final knocking us out again.

2000 we played our first GF in 12 years and came up against the best single season team of all time ( Geelong 07 nearest)

98 we finished 4th, beat 5th placed Adelaide then ended up as a reward playing the saints in the Semi and then North in the prelim whilst the team we beat went on to the flag....

94 we made a prelim and our reward was playing WC at subi. Not too mention the OX falling apart during this decade after being a potential GOAT.

87 with Jimmy Stynes running through the mark letting Buckenara goal..

That's just the playing stuff. Don't worry about the rest of the pain we have had off field with Stynes Bailey Wight Flower etc and the Schwab Connolly pairing nearly putting us out of business.

**** why am I Melbourne supporter

The difference is you had 2008 and had been there. The last time we played finals Cyril Rioli wasn't playing for Hawthorn yet.
Yes my apologies I didn't mean to make light of the length of your drought.
2008 was the favourite of them all for me. Hodgey in the backline holding his arms up asking the Geelong players to punch him in his broken ribs.

Yes my apologies I didn't mean to make light of the length of your drought.
2008 was the favourite of them all for me. Hodgey in the backline holding his arms up asking the Geelong players to punch him in his broken ribs.

My favourite opposition player since Paul Kelly. What a champion player he is/was. I've said a few times if I could take any player in their prime from the last 18 years into our side for finals it would be him.

In 2010 or 11 we belted the swans by 100 odd points, it was the most dominant I might have ever seen us. Then we roll down to the cattery against a side coming to the end while we were on the way up and lose by 186. By 2012 we were the worst team in the AFL and by 13' nearly in history.
But Geelong won the flag that year?