Best from 2002 Draft?

• Thread starter Thread starter The Zebra

Wells is our best player. Considering the role he plays, the side he plays in and the damage he does with the footy, he is the best of this lot. And I care little for Zebra's 'rules', as he is an arse clown.

I reckon you consider yourself too cool to vote in polls anyway NortBhoy, so 'The Zebra Rules' do not apply to you...this time.

Now stop trying to enhance your rep by acting tough and taking down the big dog. This ain't a prison yard and these Polls Board geeks love me.

Big Hamish with no votes - I reckon if this poll is done in a year we would laugh at that.

Perhaps we will, but at this stage he is lucky to be an option. And its inconceivable that people could vote for him judging by what he's produced so far.

Will likely end up more valuable than the majority of midfielders in this group - but is obviously taking longer to make an impact. He is a cert to be better than Minson.

Why?? So far Minson has done more, what is it about Hamish that makes it a certainty he will be better?? 2 North fans in this thread have talked up McIntosh big time, and than totally dismissed Minson depsite Willy being the better performed player so far over their careers. Both are raw, but to be honest neither are likley to become stars

Looking back it was a very ordinary draft. Nobody has really become a star.
The Doggies did terribly, with the Tim Walsh debacle at number 4. Cam Faulkner we got at 17, and Im not convinced he'll have a job in 12 months time. Brad Murphy is gone, Scott Bassett is long gone, Big Willy's going OK, but he has to manage his aggresion better, and Cam Wight started to look promising last season

Absolutely. Amazed how anyone could compare a midfield tagger like Selwood, to a player of the quality of Wells. There is an extra-ordinary talent taper after Judd in the Weagles midfield. Really not sure if this Weagles Judd-one-man-game-plan is sustainable. Only takes one injury, and the house of cards tumbles. :)
Your level of stupidity is beyond me. Try and watch some Eagles games before commenting on any Eagles player.
1. Selwood is not just a midfield tagger. Read some blokes thread before this, as i simply can not be bothered arguing with you on something really basic. Just to summarise, were not comparing the talent levels. Thats undisputable. What we are comparing is past performance and how weather of not each player justified each others draft picks. North fans are happy with Wells(i would be as well) but so are Eagles fans about how Selwood turned out.

2. The eagles one man game plan is not bound to one man. the Eagles midfield is that good because of its depth, not because of the sheer brillience at the top. Sure it helps having the likes of Kerr, Judd and Cousins in there at once, but what happens when we play, say the Bulldogs. You would find what steignlein does on cooney is just as important as what Judd does in the game.

3. Oh and Judd did get injured this year (if you knew that) and we did ok. Look far from a deck of cards falling down to me.

Again - this is bullshiit.

Wells might be inconsistent with - the roaring goals out of mid air or 8 high speed runs through the centre for goals/set-ups or at the siren goals from 55 on angle to win the game - i.e. the stuff Selwood has not and will not ever do - but in the games when he does not display these heroics he is still at a very good level.

As I mentioned before - he has finished top 10 in three B&F's in his first four years of footy. Of those, he has two top 5 finishes. He finished 4th in 2004 when he was 19. In the same year Selwood only managed 3 games - and in all Wells' years but 2007 north have won more than 10 games, and finished 5th after h&A in 2005 - so these are not like Carlton B&F placings.

Plus Wells has been doing this with a heavy tag.

He is already better than Selwood over a whole season - but if he does reach that level where he produces the ball burster (rather than good) game every week - he blows him that far out of the water it isn't funny.

Does he do enough to suggest hes worth the number 2 pick? Thats the argument. IMO he will have a breakout year. A year like Pete Matera of 97. He reminds me alot of him.

But Selwood was suppose to be a nobody (well those in the know rated him as he was injured for most of 2002). Sure he might be the flashiest of players but hes one of our most flexible players and damm consistent.

1. Wells (easily)
2. Selwood
3. Watson

The only thing appealing about Goddard is the torpedo punt goals that he scores.

I can tell you right now Melbourne wouldn't trade Rivers for any of those players, but I'm positive we could GET Selwood and Watson for him, and 90% certain we could get Wells for him.

That says more about rarity than quality though.

I can tell you right now Melbourne wouldn't trade Rivers for any of those players, but I'm positive we could GET Selwood and Watson for him, and 90% certain we could get Wells for him.

Dream On, Melbourne would do Rivers 4 Wells in a heart beat. Shame North wouldnt even think about it.

Finally some sense to this thread. The first 4 pages of Selwood this, Selwood that over Wells had me scratching my head thinking WTF. Has everyone gone nuts. Finally some true footy followers have their say and its Wells over Selwood anyday of the week. And stop it with that Wells plays 1 good game outa 10. Rephrase that to Wells plays 1 mind blowing match winning game outa 10 and the other 9 games are still better than Selwoods best :rolleyes:

Dream On, Melbourne would do Rivers 4 Wells in a heart beat. Shame North wouldnt even think about it.

Sorry mate but there's no way we'd give up a 21 year old CHB (who's probably in the top 3 CHB's in the comp) for an inconsistent, yet highly dangerous and very skilled, winger/outside midfielder who has shown no ability to deal with a good tag.

And if you would, you're an idiot.

Sorry mate but there's no way we'd give up a 21 year old CHB (who's probably in the top 3 CHB's in the comp) for an inconsistent, yet highly dangerous and very skilled, winger/outside midfielder who has shown no ability to deal with a good tag.

Im afraid u severely overrate Rivers.

He severely over-rates all that is Melbourne. He thinks Brock McLean is in the top 10 players in the league.:eek:

You wanna pick some players to get excited about Rick...

Hodge
Franklin
Renouf
Birchall
Muston
Ellis
Dowler
Bailey
Thorpe
Roughead
Lewis

need any more???

The Hawks will win a flag within 3 years. That will then be 45 years since Melbournes last flag, and another three years of your bull********e about how amazing McLean is.

He severely over-rates all that is Melbourne. He thinks Brock McLean is in the top 10 players in the league.:eek:

Hodge
Franklin
Renouf
Birchall
Muston
Ellis
Dowler
Bailey
Thorpe
Roughead
Lewis

need any more???

The Hawks will win a flag within 3 years. That will then be 45 years since Melbournes last flag, and another three years of your bull********e about how amazing McLean is.

Half of those players have not played a game yet or not played more then a couple of games. :confused:

Rivers is a 191cm defender who had a very good first year, but has since been exposed because of his unaccountability i.e. tendency to leave his team-mates to man up his opponents while chasing a stat. He's a decent player, but will never be much more. This was clearly shown over the past 2 years. Not even close to being a top-3 CHB unfortunately. Rivers hardly strikes fear into any opposition CHF. Hope he plays on 198cm 100kg CHF Josh Kennedy this year - it could get nasty. He'll probably leave the marking contests to his team-mates though, and play wide, as per usual. :)

1 - Goddard
2 - Wells
3 - Selwood
4 - Rivers
5 - Salopek
6 - Simpson
7 - Watson

Goddard is a fair way ahead of the rest IMO. He is easily the best kick in the Saints side and possibly in the competition. He regularly sets up goals with pin-point 55m passes to forwards. He doesn't actually need the forward to start leading, he just kicks it to the perfect spot for the forward to get to every time. Plus, he out-bodies and out-marks other midfielders/flankers and reads the play exceptionally well. I expect him to make the move into the centre square this year in a Buckley/Kouta type role. He has improved his fitness dramatically so he now has the tank to become a regular midfielder rather than flanker.

Wells is inconsistent, but he does play quite a few good games and will only have 3-4 real shockers each year. I'd take 15 possessions consisting of 25m runs from half back and a good kick to a leading forward over 25 short, scrappy disposals from a most other mids from that draft.

Selwood is a very good player. He definately has it a bit easier than most would because he has such great support, but his ability to shut down an opponent while gathering plenty of the ball can't be questioned, and that is a very good quality to have. He'll never be a star and would struggle if he ever lost a bit of pace or fitness but IMO he wil be a solid 200-game player.

Rivers is good. He certainly isn't a star yet, but he is doing all that you could ask from a 21-year old CHB. Once he bulks up a bit and gains a bit more experience he will be a quality CHB. Like Selwood, not a star, but a very good player who will have many top 5 B&F finishes.

Salopek is just a very handy player. He is classy, smart and fit. Will be a good, reliable midfielder for many years to come (as long as his body holds up). Long-term I see him as a slightly lesser version of Simon Black.

Simpson probably does look a bit better in a poor team, but he's doing a very good job for such a young player with so much responsibility. If he continues to improve I can see him overtaking Selwood, Salopek and Rivers to third place, but I don't know if he can get much better.

Watson always had talent, but I never had any idea that he was going to make it as a midfielder. He needs to learn to kick the bloody hing for a change, but in his 2006 role he was still a very effective inside midfielder. If he does get his kick/handball ratio to about 50/50 he will be a bit of a James McDonald in that he just keeps on plugging away as a very good player and occasionally earns a All-Australian spot or wins a club B&F without really being rated by the footy public.

I think that those 7 are a long way ahead of the rest ATM, but we could eventually see guys like McIntosh/Laycock rise up into that list. By the end of their careers I think the list will look like this:

1 - Goddard
2 - Wells
3 - Salopek
4 - Rivers
5 - Simpson
6 - Selwood
7 - Watson

Hmmm... Havnt you been saying this for like 15 yrs now????

Sure the Hawks have the best batch of kids in the comp, but so did the Saints in 02.

Perhaps we will, but at this stage he is lucky to be an option. And its inconceivable that people could vote for him judging by what he's produced so far.

I agree. No-one is going to vote for a ruckman in a poll like this - especially over players like Wells, Goddard and Rivers.

Just putting it out there that he is a very talented big man who will start turning some heads over the next couple of years so I can come back here in 2010 and say I told you so.;)

Why?? So far Minson has done more, what is it about Hamish that makes it a certainty he will be better?? 2 North fans in this thread have talked up McIntosh big time, and than totally dismissed Minson depsite Willy being the better performed player so far over their careers. Both are raw, but to be honest neither are likley to become stars

McIntosh is bigger, heavier but he is also better below his knees and a much better kick. That is why I think he will be a lot better.

I don't mind Minson, but I think his main atribute is his aggression at the contest and adequate skills. I think that will make him a good ruckman but probably doesn't possess the same scope to improve as much as Hamish. I think McIntosh has more tools to become a star.

But you are right - in terms of on field performance so far not much seperates them.

Does he do enough to suggest hes worth the number 2 pick? Thats the argument. IMO he will have a breakout year. A year like Pete Matera of 97. He reminds me alot of him.

Absolutely. He does (and has done) enough to suggest he is worth the number 1 pick in this draft.

Selwood was vaulable, but the argument is who would you select first out of Selwood and Wells - it is an extremely easy choice IMO.

But Selwood was suppose to be a nobody (well those in the know rated him as he was injured for most of 2002). Sure he might be the flashiest of players but hes one of our most flexible players and damm consistent.

I rate him. He is a good player - but seriously, it is a different league when comparing him to Wells. No club would take Selwood before Wells.

...No club would take Selwood before Wells.

Correct. Would anyone recruit a tagger like Selwood over a potential match winner like Wells? Even JW would choose Wells if he had the choice. For the type of player Selwood is, he does his defensive duties well, but he's not in the same talent league as Wells. :)

Absolutely. He does (and has done) enough to suggest he is worth the number 1 pick in this draft.

Selwood was vaulable, but the argument is who would you select first out of Selwood and Wells - it is an extremely easy choice IMO.

I rate him. He is a good player - but seriously, it is a different league when comparing him to Wells. No club would take Selwood before Wells.

On reputation, potential and Hype, yes

But on performance to date

Wells has not quite lived up to the expectations

Whilst

Selwood has performed well above expectations

Correct. Would anyone recruit a tagger like Selwood over a potential match winner like Wells? Even JW would choose Wells if he had the choice. For the type of player Selwood is, he does his defensive duties well, but he's not in the same talent league as Wells. :)

Except that Wells hasn't actually proven to us how good he can be. Absolutely no consistency whatsoever. Would you really take someone who could be good over someone who has consistently proven themselves? Re: Damien Cupido. All the talent in the world but no consistency to speak of whatsoever. Could Wells head down the same path?

U watching a different Wells to the one im watching :eek: To even mention him in the same sentence as that squib Cupido is just plain funny.

Wells has it all over Selwood in spades.

Speed
Natural Talent
Scope for Improvement
Kicking Skills
Match Winning Ability

Laidley been nursing Wells with limited midfield time thus far in his career, Watch out when he gets unleashed into the Midfield this year and beyond.

If you wanted a player to play for you tomorrow Selwood would be selected wayyy ahead of Wells.

If you wanted a player to play for you in 5 or so years you would select Wells cos he has greater potential to improve.

Think that solves the problem...

If you wanted a player to play for you tomorrow Selwood would be selected wayyy ahead of Wells.

If you wanted a player to play for you in 5 or so years you would select Wells cos he has greater potential to improve.

Think that solves the problem...

Not really :p

If i wanted a player to play for me tommorow then i would take Wells.
If i wanted a player to play for me in 5 years then i would take Wells.

That should clear it up :D