Arguably cost them the '09 grand final too. Lost count of how many marking contests he spoiled when a teammate was in a better position that day.
Not that we should be complaining about that.

Arguably cost them the '09 grand final too. Lost count of how many marking contests he spoiled when a teammate was in a better position that day.
allegedly it was due to Hawkins non goal.Arguably cost them the '09 grand final too
Too shaky in defence. Not good at intercept marking and play reading.Reckon Stanley could be turned into a key defender like Liam jones and tom Lonergan
He's agile, good off the ground and would do well IMO
Our backline depth looks a bit thin... We should've kept Ruggles.Here's my attempt:
FB: 24 Jed Bews, 25 Lachie Henderson, 44 Tom Stewart
HB: 2 Zach Tuohy, 7 Harry Taylor, 8 Jake Kolodjashnij
C: 22 Mitch Duncan, 16 Scott Selwood, 46 Mark Blicavs
HF: 4 Gary Ablett Jnr, 36 Stewart Crameri, 5 Nakia Cockatoo
FF: 10 Daniel Menzel, 26 Tom Hawkins, 34 James Parsons
R: 9 Zac Smith, 35 Patrick Dangerfield, 14 Joel Selwood
I/C: 27 Sam Menegola, 29 Cameron Guthrie, 3 Brandan Parfitt, 13 Lachlan Fogarty
Forward depth:
12 Wylie Buzza
6 Lincoln McCarthy
1 Rhys Stanley
28 Cory Gregson
32 Gryan Miers
Midfield depth:
11 Tim Kelly
21 Jordan Murdoch
18 Charlie Constable
33 George Horlin-Smith
37 Sam Simpson
Backline depth:
39 Zach Guthrie
40 Jackson Thurlow
Others:
15 Matthew Hayball
17 Esava Ratugolea
19 Quinton Narkle
20 Ryan Gardner
23 Aaron Black
30 Timm House
31 Jordan Cunico
38 Jack Henry
41 Jamaine Jones
42 Mark O'Connor
45 Ryan Abbott
Here's my attempt:
Forward depth:
12 Wylie Buzza
6 Lincoln McCarthy
1 Rhys Stanley
28 Cory Gregson
32 Gryan Miers
Midfield depth:
11 Tim Kelly
21 Jordan Murdoch
18 Charlie Constable
33 George Horlin-Smith
37 Sam Simpson
Backline depth:
39 Zach Guthrie
40 Jackson Thurlow
Others:
15 Matthew Hayball
17 Esava Ratugolea
19 Quinton Narkle
20 Ryan Gardner
23 Aaron Black
30 Timm House
31 Jordan Cunico
38 Jack Henry
41 Jamaine Jones
42 Mark O'Connor
45 Ryan Abbott
Our backline depth looks a bit thin... We should've kept Ruggles.
I reckon Kelly will be Best 22.
Keen to see how GAJ plays as a Fwd, his best position is in the midfield IMO.
That's a pretty extreme viewpoint given Blicavs' best season at the club was as a ruckman.
Oh mate. You don't know how many lunatic opinions have been shared on the carji.Hang on mate. Just cos he won a Carji as a ruckman, doesn't mean he knows how to play the position. Now you heard seeds. Stop
Posting. Clearly none of us know what we're talking about. Including the people who awarded that Carji.
Oh mate. You don't know how many lunatic opinions have been shared on the carji.
One known Guthrie "critic" bumped his thread when he had a bad B&F result this year... Yet discredits the clubs view that he's been better than Caddy based on the same award. Go figure.
Blicavs' B&F is given little credence because we missed finals. Someone better go tell that to Chappy and Scarlo as well. Probably Bobby Davis as well, he won his in a spoon year!
i dont get why people get so worked up about the opinion of othersOh mate. You don't know how many lunatic opinions have been shared on the carji.
One known Guthrie "critic" bumped his thread when he had a bad B&F result this year... Yet discredits the clubs view that he's been better than Caddy based on the same award. Go figure.
Blicavs' B&F is given little credence because we missed finals. Someone better go tell that to Chappy and Scarlo as well. Probably Bobby Davis as well, he won his in a spoon year!
Mate. For years now we've watched some of the einsteins in these forums crap on and on about how Blicavs isn't in our best 22. And waiting gleefully for him to be dropped or traded. **** me they must be shattered EVERY THURSDAY NIGHT. They actually remind me of tbe halfwits who have said Geelong are too
Old and aredinjahed since 2010.
Blicavs would be one of tbe first picked every week. And will continue to be.
The club will continue to fail then.
Blicavs hasnt done anything besides being a one trick pony as a 3rd man up ruck.
His role as a 2nd ruck/mid is worthless as he rarely has a good game as a mid (tagging a tall slow player sometimes works)
He'll be 27 next year and i'd expect that by the time he is 28 his AFL career will be over.
i dont get why people get so worked up about the opinion of others
the vitriol and fanboys around this forum is funny
the club rookies an afl player and there is a thread going into over drive
Mate. For years now we've watched some of the einsteins in these forums crap on and on about how Blicavs isn't in our best 22. And waiting gleefully for him to be dropped or traded. **** me they must be shattered EVERY THURSDAY NIGHT. They actually remind me of tbe halfwits who have said Geelong are too
Old and aredinjahed since 2010.
Blicavs would be one of tbe first picked every week. And will continue to be.

Only reason I am replying is because of the bolded word, thanks for the laugh.. wtf does that mean.?
Best side..? A little early for me, want to see the preseason b4 I commit to a best side but very positive so far.
I really like Kelly also. I wouldn't be surprised to see him play 15 games.Our backline depth looks a bit thin... We should've kept Ruggles.
Yeah I'm not sold either. I really like what I'm seeing from Wylie - I wouldn't be opposed to seeing him lining up in Round 1 instead.Like it, im not sure on Crameri though. I think the jury is still out till i see a bit of JLT. Wouldnt mind seeing Gregson join the mix for forward pressure - under appreciated here.
Happy to have an account bet with you that he plays senior footy beyond 28. Let's see you put up or shut up.
With GAJ in the mf i reckon they might start Danger at ffOur backline depth looks a bit thin... We should've kept Ruggles.
If you predict that a player will fail, you will be eventually right. Its a standard for these sorts of posters - player will fail, we won't win the grandfinal, we can't play on the MCG. I have said it before, and I will say it again - this is not analysis, it offers nothing that a thousand monkeys with a thousand typewriters and somewhat less than the age of the universe could provide.Happy to have an account bet with you that he plays senior footy beyond 28. Let's see you put up or shut up.
Bit slow for mine. Especially the forward line. 0 defensive pressure outside of Cockatoo and unproven Crameri. Parsons easiest omission here.Here's my attempt:
Forward depth:
12 Wylie Buzza
6 Lincoln McCarthy
1 Rhys Stanley
28 Cory Gregson
32 Gryan Miers
Midfield depth:
11 Tim Kelly
21 Jordan Murdoch
18 Charlie Constable
33 George Horlin-Smith
37 Sam Simpson
Backline depth:
39 Zach Guthrie
40 Jackson Thurlow
Others:
15 Matthew Hayball
17 Esava Ratugolea
19 Quinton Narkle
20 Ryan Gardner
23 Aaron Black
30 Timm House
31 Jordan Cunico
38 Jack Henry
41 Jamaine Jones
42 Mark O'Connor
45 Ryan Abbott
If you predict that a player will fail, you will be eventually right. Its a standard for these sorts of posters - player will fail, we won't win the grandfinal, we can't play on the MCG. I have said it before, and I will say it again - this is not analysis, it offers nothing that a thousand monkeys with a thousand typewriters and somewhat less than the age of the universe could provide.
I mean what is cynical basing this prediction on? The limited preseason training footage we have seen, or his own internal prejudices? Given that it is the off season, there can only be one answer.
Im with you, Blicz will be still playing in 5 years time for the Cats. I expect him to transition to third man up defender - it was essentially his role as third man up ruck, and seems the natural evolution given we will lose Taylor in a year or two.
Fair enough.lol seriously
I've given analysis on Blicavs many times as have other people.
Reasons he shouldnt be in the team
1. He cant ruck very well.
2. He cant play ruck/forward because he has no impact as a forward and cant take contested marks.
3. As a midfielder all he can do is tag big slow players.
4. He has poor awareness and poor disposal under pressure.
5. Having a player with poor agility and average disposal as a midfield link up player is a waste (when you can have actual players with skill).
6. He cant play as a defender because he doesnt read the play well enough and as a tall he cant take contested marks.
7. He has an extremely poor finals record over many years.
Why I think he'll be done at 28 is because most players who dont have good skills are done at that age. This is because their athletic abilities are no longer elite so they suddenly become very average.
You think he'll be a 3rd man up defender even though he cant read the play or mark very well. He has played a couple of games as a defender and he is 27 next year. Why not just play a kid instead.
The only reason he'd still be in the team in a couple of years is if we have no other 2nd ruck option.