SMFC. PMFC,OAFC
Nick Malceski we all know
Shannon Grant 58 games 45 goals went home to mum
Wayne the moose Henwood 78 games 45 goals Loved this bloke
David Ackerley 138 games 2 time B and F great back pocket
Bob Giles 78 games wingman from south districts
Len Thomas 178 games 56 goals 2 time B and F. Team of the Century member.Len was killed as a commando in New Guinea in 1943.Lens father Bill was also a Premiership player with South, they are our only father-son Premiership players.

My pick is Thomas, not that i saw him but every thing you hear about him he would have been a star in any era.

My pick for worst is Robbie AhMat

Always liked David Ackerley as a player. Ultra reliable and ultra consistent down back for both the Swans and North. A prime example of a maximum results from minimum of fuss type.

I may sound like a no-nothing supporter after I say this, but I think it is Malceski. If he gets his knee right he will be a great player in the future.

David Ackerley, he was always busy running the ball out of defence with reliable and dependable skills, and believe me, he got plenty of it playing down back for South..
History suggests Thomas..

True, but yeah, if he gets his knee right he will be the best, right?

he will be very good mate, but its only possible to judge the best on results, the others have the runs on the board, but I like your enthusiastic support for our current squad...:thumbsu:

For those who can't access the list

9 Nick Malceski 2006 Current
9 Ben Fixter 2002 2005
9 Robert AhMat 1998 2001
9 Shannon Grant 1995 1997
9 Michael Werner 1993 1994
9 Wayne Henwood 1987 1991
9 David Ackerly 1980 1985
9 Daryl Cumming 1979 1979
9 Ian Thomson 1976 1976
9 Robert Stibbard 1974 1974
9 James Wilkinson 1970 1973
9 Jim Wilkinson 1970 1972
9 Doug Priest 1966 1969
9 Fred Rees 1963 1963
9 Gerald Crough 1956 1962
9 Bob Giles 1950 1955
9 Jack Mullane 1947 1948
9 Jack Lugg 1946 1946
9 Keith Smith 1943 1945
9 Arthur Turner 1942 1942
9 Eric Huxtable 1942 1942
9 Howard Jasper 1940 1941
9 Russell McInnes 1937 1937
9 Sandy Patterson 1937 1940
9 Len Thomas 1936 1938
9 Hec McKay 1932 1935
9 Jack Richardson 1931 1931
9 John Austin 1930 1930
9 Joe Scanlan 1929 1929
9 Charles Stanbridge 1925 1928
9 Arthur Hando 1923 1924
9 Don Templeton 1922 1922
9 Stan Hiskins 1920 1921
9 Bill Daly 1918 1919
9 Arthur Rademacher 1917 1917
9 Jack Freeman 1913 1914
9 Bert Franks 1912 1912
------------------------------------------

I liked Henwood good ordinary player, and only vaguely remember Ackerly

But even though only played a few games I would go #9 Shannon Grant

A fav player of mine. For a young bloke I thought he contributed a lot towards SWANS getting in the GF in 96. I didn't hold grudge that he left he was up front from the start and had a red hot go whilst he was there unlike Rocca

Hopefully Malceski will become the best of the lot:thumbsu:

Some Trivia /story: Doug Priest

Priest played well into his 40's in country football. Dunno what position he played for Swans I was too young to see or remember him. He was one hell of an old rough nut played either CHB or Ruck in country football

My first year elevated from the under 16's in a preseason trial match for the firsts we played his team. They were cross town rivals but they played in a different league at the time . Priest was no longer their captain coach, but still playing as big rough nut protector!!!

I called one of our best older players centreman through to take the loose ball and yelled I would shepherd. I will never forget to grin on Doug Priests face as he put up an elbow and was gunna wipe out the cheeky little kid (me) out .

I ran as fast as I could and jumped into him high bump Buchanan style. How I missed the elbow I still don't know, he was flat on his back and I landed on him!.. his swearing was unreal.

Teammates came from everywhere to slap me on the back... the bloke I shepherded for became my first boss. He confessed over a few beers many years later even he (a league B&F and ex SANFL champ) was scared of the old tough nut Priest.

He thought I was committing suicide! It was just pure naivity and beginners luck! I did nothing else in the the game but the shepherd earned me one more seniors game then was dropped back to the seconds for the whole year

:)

Some Trivia /story: Doug Priest

Priest played well into his 40's in country football. Dunno what position he played for Swans I was too young to see or remember him. He was one hell of an old rough nut played either CHB or Ruck in country football

My first year elevated from the under 16's in a preseason trial match for the firsts we played his team. They were cross town rivals but they played in a different league at the time . Priest was no longer their captain coach, but still playing as big rough nut protector!!!

I called one of our best older players centreman through to take the loose ball and yelled I would shepherd. I will never forget to grin on Doug Priests face as he put up an elbow and was gunna wipe out the cheeky little kid (me) out .

I ran as fast as I could and jumped into him high bump Buchanan style. How I missed the elbow I still don't know, he was flat on his back and I landed on him!.. his swearing was unreal.

Teammates came from everywhere to slap me on the back... the bloke I shepherded for became my first boss. He confessed over a few beers many years later even he (a league B&F and ex SANFL champ) was scared of the old tough nut Priest.

He thought I was committing suicide! It was just pure naivity and beginners luck! I did nothing else in the the game but the shepherd earned me one more seniors game then was dropped back to the seconds for the whole year

:)

you shoulda got weeks you dirty sniper...:)

Haha :D I know you are only joking.

But gee footy has changed! Even both the Buchanan incidents I just couldn't believe find it difficultto accept they suspended him for 5/4 weeks for something that even 20 years ago happened several times every game worse at VFL level!

The relevance to thread is that it very difficult to compare players of different eras!!!

Haha :D I know you are only joking.

But gee footy has changed! Even both the Buchanan incidents I just couldn't believe find it difficultto accept they suspended him for 5/4 weeks for something that even 20 years ago happened several times every game worse at VFL level!

The relevance to thread is that it very difficult to compare players of different eras!!!

I was a little bloke at 16 also playing ones, sometimes I would be pulled from the ground at 3/4 time during the u17's to be told to rest up, Im playing ones again straight after, I gave a few frees away for the same thing, my point is, when your a kid, or a little bloke, instinct tells you to jump at a bloke twice your size, nowadays if your feet leave the ground, you get rubbed out!
Also Corpy, I was always told go hard at the ball, the bigger and older blokes will be doing the 1%ers, i.e shepherds, your centreman should have been dragged for letting you go the shepherd as a kid!..:thumbsu:

Yeah... he always argued he was trying to get the words out to stop me but if he didn't dash through and take the ball Priest would have hit him harder!

It was the part of the game I loved. I was small rover, but the bumps were the fun!!!

I dunno what number Jim Prentice was for Swans but he came back from VFL during injury to play with Ariah Park ( Ricky Quades team). I tried the same thing on him but he split my head open and I was out cold stretchered off. He then went back to Victoria the next year ... I was very relieved he did!:o

I forgot about Fixter. I really had high hopes for him even after he left for Brisbane. He looked so comfortable at senior level right from the get go. I wonder what went wrong.

For those who can't access the list
9 Nick Malceski 2006 Current
9 Ben Fixter 2002 2005
9 Robert AhMat 1998 2001
9 Shannon Grant 1995 1997
9 Michael Werner 1993 1994
9 Wayne Henwood 1987 1991
9 David Ackerly 1980 1985
9 Daryl Cumming 1979 1979
9 Ian Thomson 1976 1976
9 Robert Stibbard 1974 1974
9 James Wilkinson 1970 1973
9 Jim Wilkinson 1970 1972

9 Doug Priest 1966 1969
9 Fred Rees 1963 1963
9 Gerald Crough 1956 1962
9 Bob Giles 1950 1955
9 Jack Mullane 1947 1948
9 Jack Lugg 1946 1946
9 Keith Smith 1943 1945
9 Arthur Turner 1942 1942
9 Eric Huxtable 1942 1942
9 Howard Jasper 1940 1941
9 Russell McInnes 1937 1937
9 Sandy Patterson 1937 1940
9 Len Thomas 1936 1938
9 Hec McKay 1932 1935
9 Jack Richardson 1931 1931
9 John Austin 1930 1930
9 Joe Scanlan 1929 1929
9 Charles Stanbridge 1925 1928
9 Arthur Hando 1923 1924
9 Don Templeton 1922 1922
9 Stan Hiskins 1920 1921
9 Bill Daly 1918 1919
9 Arthur Rademacher 1917 1917
9 Jack Freeman 1913 1914
9 Bert Franks 1912 1912
------------------------------------------

I grew up in Tassie and the name Jim Wilkinson twigged with me. I didn`t actually know he had played with South Melbourne.

He was a very talented sportsman, in addition to being a top-notch footballer he played a handful of first-class cricket matches for Tassie (pre-Sheffield Shield, when Tassie only played one or two matches a season).

He is also a lawyer and a Tasmanian politician.

Wiki page
Cricinfo profile

Yeah... he always argued he was trying to get the words out to stop me but if he didn't dash through and take the ball Priest would have hit him harder!

It was the part of the game I loved. I was small rover, but the bumps were the fun!!!

I dunno what number Jim Prentice was for Swans but he came back from VFL during injury to play with Ariah Park ( Ricky Quades team). I tried the same thing on him but he split my head open and I was out cold stretchered off. He then went back to Victoria the next year ... I was very relieved he did!:o

Jim Prentice wore #17. That would have been about 1972-73 when he played that stint up there?

Albert Franks, the first fellow to wear number 9 for you fellas, was one of your early stars (1909 premiership player I think), and one of the toughest hombres of the era. Had a fair temper on him apparently.