Big Improver/s in 2006.

Coin_Toss

Apr 2, 2005
Who are going to be the big improver/s next year?

My Tip: Julian Rowe: I believe he has the ability to become a very good player for this football club. The only negative I can think of is his attitude to football, but that will come around with experience.

Coin_Toss said:
Who are going to be the big improver/s next year?

My Tip: Julian Rowe: I believe he has the ability to become a very good player for this football club. The only negative I can think of is his attitude to football, but that will come around with experience.

i think rowe has plateau'd and you wont see anymore improvement out of him! unless he bulks up and gets some balls!

josh fraser will have a big year if uninjured! same goes for tarrant and didak!

maxwell to have a bigger impact in the back half

magpies42 said:
i think rowe has plateau'd and you wont see anymore improvement out of him! unless he bulks up and gets some balls!

josh fraser will have a big year if uninjured! same goes for tarrant and didak!

maxwell to have a bigger impact in the back half

All positives, all positives.....................

Jason Cloke will have a super year for Williamstown. :D

I agree with Julian Rowe.

I was actually watching him pretty closely this season, I love the way he plays when he's on, and before the Melbourne game I said to my brother that he was going to have a big one.

When he kicked that sensational goal at the start of the game, I thought I was going to be right. Unfortunately, after that, we pretty much got thumped everywhere on the field.

If he can get his kicking back to where it was last year, and back to where it was when he was drafted and reknowned as an amazing kick, he'll be great value for us.

He has a gift for finding space and running the wing, and he is an absolutely sensational mark. I could see him and Egan owning a wing each in the future.

Lets hope these players can all improve because it can land us a premiership if they do.. the likes of Swan, C Cloke, Maxwell, Rowe and Davis. Its not far off if these guys take the next step and assist the likes of B Holland, Licuria, Bucks and Clement on a more consistent occasion, its going to be disappointing to see less of Scott Burns, its over for this tough nut, all the years of battling hard out have caught up to him, he will have lesser stints as a bash n crash player to extend his career, he was the 'Rowdy' of the last decade i believe, tough as nails

Our midfielders are gettin on eg licca and burnsy but I am telling you all now. Brodie Holland is at the peak of his career and he will have an awesome year next year. He will lead from the front and push for AA and I reckon he just might get there. If Bucks gives up as skipper Brodie is just the man for it :p

IMO Buckley will go AA, but on the HFF.
I'll admit Collingwood aren't my most favourite club, but I do love Bucks and the way he goes about his footy.
If Collingwood's midfield can improve, it will be pushing for top 8 with the potency of the forwardline and a defense that was very good considering what it was up against this year.

I think we need improvement from Cameron Cloke or 2006 could be his last. Along with that Dane Swan needs to be consistent and not come good at the end of the season like the past couple...

Josh Fraser really has to pull his finger out even though he suffered with injuries. Also expect improvement from Lockyer, he has now fully recovered from his ACL so he should be doing more even though hes lost a couple of yards of pace...

Agree totally about Julian Rowe. Don't worry, he has discipline on the training track, he just has had a couple of late nights (he's young remember.)

Would love to see a another midfielder step up.

I rekon Swan, Rusling and Trav Cloke will continue to improve next year. I also rekon that Didak will pick up where he left off before he got injured this season. We need him to dominate because he is one of the few players we have that has the ability to rip open a game.

I think its fair to say we should expect a fair bit more from the 1st years players from this year, Ruzza, Trav, Egan, Yakka, Davies, Fanning and Obrien. But who i think needs to step up and will is Maxwell, I have seen a steady improvment from him over the last 2 seasons and i think he really excells when Waklin is next to him helping him out and giving him direction.
We really need Ben Johnson to step up again and provide some mid field run. Johnson, Holland, Lica, Bucks, Burns, Shaw, Davies all need to be our all winners as if we can get the mid field rolling i think the back line and forward line will work itself out with the quality that we have in both areas.

Looking forward to a big year from Nick Maxwell, he really showed a lot last year. Hope he bulks up over the off season, and he can play either end of the ground

collingwoods biggest improvement will come from

n.buckley
a.rocca
j.fraser
g.richards
c.tarrant
a.didak

then im hoping that the following can increase their output
j.rowe
t.cloke
c.egan

unfortunately think that
s.burns
j.clement
s.waklein

will either hold ground or go backwards a bit

but the improvement from the first six players should be enough to move us up the ladder, how far depends on the other players following their lead

Travis Cloke is going to become an absolute superstar!

He will hold down CHF which will allow Rocca to go to FF, Tarrant & Bucks on HFF. With this setup opposition teams may be tempted to play best backman on Bucks (doesn't he always get the best opposition player) and Trav will become unstoppable.

lutts said:
Travis Cloke is going to become an absolute superstar!

He will hold down CHF which will allow Rocca to go to FF, Tarrant & Bucks on HFF. With this setup opposition teams may be tempted to play best backman on Bucks (doesn't he always get the best opposition player) and Trav will become unstoppable.
also if we have a resting or floating forward in j.fraser from time to time this will mean that trav will get either the fourth or fifth best backmen from the opposition

ie a.rocca = no1 key position
n.buckley = jimmy clement equivalent
c.tarrant = the fastest tall back
j.fraser = the next best tall back
t.cloke = who?? will rip them to shreds

doppleganger said:
also if we have a resting or floating forward in j.fraser from time to time this will mean that trav will get either the fourth or fifth best backmen from the opposition

ie a.rocca = no1 key position
n.buckley = jimmy clement equivalent
c.tarrant = the fastest tall back
j.fraser = the next best tall back
t.cloke = who?? will rip them to shreds

The problem with that forwardline would be that it would be very top heavy.
Say if you played the Bulldogs, and the kicks into the forwardline weren't at least very good, you would get smashed on the rebound.
Really dangerous setup though.

I'm expecting big things from

C Cloke - time to stamp his authority (and avoid shoudler injuries)
J Cloke - time to reclaim his spot in defence
H Shaw - has the build and pedigree to be a very good player
Egan - gun who needs to keep his ego in check
Richards - could be the best ruckman in the game if he stays fit
Fraser - at the crossroads of his career. Needs a big season.

hotpie said:
I'm expecting big things from

C Cloke - time to stamp his authority (and avoid shoudler injuries)
J Cloke - time to reclaim his spot in defence
H Shaw - has the build and pedigree to be a very good player
Egan - gun who needs to keep his ego in check
Richards - could be the best ruckman in the game if he stays fit
Fraser - at the crossroads of his career. Needs a big season.

I reckon Shane O'Bree will have a great 2006. Just needs to work hard on kicking the ball further than 20m and popping them up like sand wedges and your midfield problems could be eliminated.

All positive FIGJAM, all positives....... :thumbsu:

Flowerpower said:
I reckon Shane O'Bree will have a great 2006.:

Had an excellent 2005 so its a possibility. He's a good player but not the future of the club. Thanks for your input though.

Big Improver/s in 2006.