Big win hides some problems

Mad Dog said:
There was a girl in the front row of Bay 131 who stood each time we scored a goal in the first qtr to get the Ad-el-aide chant going. All most of the bay did was smirk at her rather than back her up. I found myself feeling very sorry and embarrassed for her as she was trying to rev everyone up.
Affectionately known to me and my family as "skunk lady" due to the streak in her hair. Full marks to her, and :thumbsd: to the denizens of Bay 131 who smirk.

(One comment was to the point - she only does it when we're ahead, and not to rev up the crowd when we're behind, but she's still doing more than most.)

I have to admit I wasn't exactly fired up on Saturday, it was just - I dunno, not an exciting game, just enjoyable to watch us get it together. But I don't feel any better aout my performance on Saturday than half the Carlton side must feel. ;) I promise to do better on Friday night.

Readers of this thread might like to check out this item:

http://www.asthecrowsfly.com/modules.php?name=News&file=article&sid=158

drakeyv2 said:
Exactly.

Tapping the ball around half back is soccer not football. We were served up :D:D:D:D on toast on Saturday & we are expected to pretend it is caviar.
With respect, that is not the point.

I don't think people were yelling "KICK IT!" because they thought the football was boring, I think they were yelling that because they don't understand the tactic being employed - like when they yell "MAN UP!!" when the opposition is kicking the ball around in their defensive 50 because we've set up a good zone.

Whether you like it or not, kicking long to a contest comes second to switching play and looking for a player in space.

arrowman said:
Whether you like it or not, kicking long to a contest comes second to switching play and looking for a player in space.

Yes unfortunately you're right. Most of the things that made our game so great now come 2nd.

arrowman said:
I don't think people were yelling "KICK IT!" because they thought the football was boring, I think they were yelling that because they don't understand the tactic being employed

Are you saying that if you don't like what is being served up, it's because you don't understand the tactics? Please don't tell me that the game has got to the stage that we have to go to the game to admire the :D:D:D:Ding tactics.

1st they take out the characters, then the biffo, then the bump, then positional play, then the contested mark. What are we left with? We get to admire the tactics.

drakeyv2 said:
Yes unfortunately you're right. Most of the things that made our game so great now come 2nd.

I take your point regarding aesthetics, but I reckon you and others with a similar gripe about 'the way modern footy is heading' are indulging in some revisionism here.

When I can I try to watch Classic Quarters and Footy Flashbacks on FFC to refresh the memory as to how footy used to be in the 80s and 90s, and a lot of it was terrible - poor skills, little run, bombing long, stacks on the mill, players getting caught cold holding the ball but the umpire just comes in and bounces it, stoppages left and right.

This perception that 40 contested marks and 80 screamers were taken per quarter, boneshattering bumps were laid every minute and that general gameplay was nothing but Jogo Bonito is so wide of the mark it's not funny.

drakeyv2 said:
Whether that's true or not, my point remains - the crowd is not jeering because they want "better quality football", they are jeering because they think the players aren't making the right winning moves. Every time there's a series of handballs to clear the ball from congestion, and get a player into position for a more controlled kick, (some of) the crowd starts screaming "KICK IT!" at about the second handball.

drakeyv2 said:
Are you saying that if you don't like what is being served up, it's because you don't understand the tactics? Please don't tell me that the game has got to the stage that we have to go to the game to admire the :D:D:D:Ding tactics.

1st they take out the characters, then the biffo, then the bump, then positional play, then the contested mark. What are we left with? We get to admire the tactics.
What DT said. And there's nothing wrong with "admiring the tactics". I'd rather watch our players move the ball with skill and smarts, than bomb long with a kick-and-hope just because that's the way it used to be and maybe (wrongly, as DT points out) people might think it's more spectacular.

arrowman said:
What DT said. And there's nothing wrong with "admiring the tactics". I'd rather watch our players move the ball with skill and smarts, than bomb long with a kick-and-hope just because that's the way it used to be and maybe (wrongly, as DT points out) people might think it's more spectacular.

Fair enough, but it wasn't the 100 odd uncontested marks that got the crowd off their hands & on their feet, it was the 2 speckies by Burton & Goodwin.

Ask yourself honestly, what were the highlights of the game?

For me it was those 2 marks & the contest between Fevola & Rutten.

drakeyv2 said:
Fair enough, but it wasn't the 100 odd uncontested marks that got the crowd off their hands & on their feet, it was the 2 speckies by Burton & Goodwin.

Agree, plus McLeod's running through the lines. Also watching the forward line set up in 2-2-2 formation and how that worked (me being a big one for tactics, and all ;) ) But things like Fevola v Rutten and McLeod's performance endure for the game, two speccies are momentary pleasures. That's where I come from anyway.

But you divert :) - the original point was about the reason for "KICK IT!!" from the crowd.

Gets! said:
Drakeyv2, if you don't wanna renew your membership there is 4,000 or so waiting for it :D

Yep I know. My own oldest kid is one of them.

I'm not happy feeling this way about the game at the moment. I grew up with it. When I was a kid all I wanted was to be a league footballer. Who wanted to be in the olympics or play some other ****ter sport when we had footy.

I love the club, I bleed when they lose.

But I'm sorry, most of the stuff we are served up these days isn't footy. It is some sort of soccer, hockey, basketball amalgum & it is inferior to what went before.

Capitalist said:
I think your problem is that the official AFC fan club is small and quiet

all the other supporters are spread out over the ground, Maybe someone should contact the club and ask to setup a "true supporters" bay in both the outer and the members (the members would be great) people in these bays can be then band together to make a shag load of noise. AFC are trying new things maybe they will listen this time

but heck these threads pop up every few month and get put in the too had basket ;)

Thats the biggest pile of rubbish Ive ever read:thumbsd:

'True Supporters Area' WTF we have fakes???? Every supporter that buys a friggin membership is a true supporter.

About time people who go to the game find some friggin balls and support your damn club:mad:

drakeyv2 said:

Ken "I wanna be like Daniel Wells" McGregor's first goal
Doughty's attack on the footy
McLeod's rebound and delivery
Fevola's great goals from outside 50
Andrew Walker's clean one handed pick ups
Johncock's ability to get out of situations where he is surrounded by 4 or 5 opponents
Roo's goal from 60 out

There were plenty of highlights IMHO.

drakeyv2 said:
But I'm sorry, most of the stuff we are served up these days isn't footy. It is some sort of soccer, hockey, basketball amalgum & it is inferior to what went before.
Again, I would just say - what DT said. I have watched some old games on ABC2, and calling that product "superior" to today's is just rose-coloured glasses.

Take a mark (or free kick) - trot backwards, kick forward as far as you can, another pack, maybe a mark or the ball comes to ground ... and so on. Just as repetitious as anything you'd complain about today, very basic tactics, and s-l-o-w.

We could argue this point forever and I don't disagree that there are aspects of the modern game that are not good to watch. But balancing the good and the bad - I like watching the game as much as ever.

Stiffy_18 said:
Johncock's ability to get out of situations where he is surrounded by 4 or 5 opponents
Roo's goal from 60 out

Heaps of them Stiffy, as you've outlined above.

If you couldn't get switched on by Macca's and Stiffy's dash from defence, plus the hangers by Burton and Goody - you never will.

Stiffy_18 said:
Roo's goal from 60 out

Exactly there were plenty of highlights, people who go with 'I dont like the way the game is being played' is a damn cop out, and those people are as soft as butter:mad:

macca23 said:
Heaps of them Stiffy, as you've outlined above.

If you couldn't get switched on by Macca's and Stiffy's dash from defence, plus the hangers by Burton and Goody - you never will.

Once again spot on, all these soft AFC supporters it's time the fu*k off:mad:

dyertribe said:
I take your point regarding aesthetics, but I reckon you and others with a similar gripe about 'the way modern footy is heading' are indulging in some revisionism here.

When I can I try to watch Classic Quarters and Footy Flashbacks on FFC to refresh the memory as to how footy used to be in the 80s and 90s, and a lot of it was terrible - poor skills, little run, bombing long, stacks on the mill, players getting caught cold holding the ball but the umpire just comes in and bounces it, stoppages left and right.

This perception that 40 contested marks and 80 screamers were taken per quarter, boneshattering bumps were laid every minute and that general gameplay was nothing but Jogo Bonito is so wide of the mark it's not funny.

Sure, there was plenty of bad games in years gone by, but it was bad FOOTY, not bad socc/hock/baskerball.

drakeyv2 said:

Ask yourself this -

In 1993, how many of Modra's marks were of the sitting on Glen Archer's head variety, and how many were pedestrian chest marks on a lead with his opponent chasing metres behind?

maccas_no1 said:

Yeh better not have an opinion. Better love whatever they dish-up. If you don't like it's you stupid. Just sit back & watch another uncontested mark, marvel at another pinpint 20 meter kick for another uncontested mark. Thanks for coming & don't forget to buy your merchandise on the way out.

maccas_no1 said:
Mate, if by 'soft' you're referring to supporters who don't feel the need to shout their lungs out at a football game, there won't be many left. There are "supporters" and there are "fan(atic)s". Adelaide - and every club, for that matter - has a lot of supporters.

drakeyv2 said:

I enjoyed watching the McLeod of old

marvin said:
Ask yourself this -

In 1993, how many of Modra's marks were of the sitting on Glen Archer's head variety, and how many were pedestrian chest marks on a lead with his opponent chasing metres behind?

Actualy quite a few of Modra's marks in 93 were hangers. Why don't you ask how many of Kenny Whelan's, or Barrie Robran's or Phil Carman's wre hangers.

Ask yourself how many goals would Modra have kicked if he was protected the way forwards are today? Actualy probably not many because he would have been standing on his own in the forward 50 with 4 defenders around him.

RogerRabbit69 said:
Mate, if by 'soft' you're referring to supporters who don't feel the need to shout their lungs out at a football game, there won't be many left. There are "supporters" and there are "fan(atic)s". Adelaide - and every club, for that matter - has a lot of supporters.

I didnt say they need to border on being 'di*kheads' support for your club can invole just abit of enthusaism and getting behind the boys when the kick a goal, not contiuned dead silence week after week after week:mad:

So what do you consider to be 'a bit of enthusiasm'?

I go to every home match and am surrounded by a big range of age groups. Most of the people around me clap when the Crows kick a goal, add the odd comment occasionally, and perhaps cry out "ball" when they're really excited.

It's not particularly noisy - but it's not dead silent, either.

I also go to a few Port games each year and the occasional neutral match in Melbourne. The level of support seems fairly similar.