Bigman’s Training Reports

He’s had a couple of nice moments here and there where he’s looked like vintage smith, but for the most part he’s just been going imo. Some fumbles and errors he wouldn’t have made in his best years.

I’m sure motivation hasn’t been easy for him this summer as he doesn’t appear to be in the best 23. Im one of his biggest fans but time indeed comes for everyone.
His kicking went to crap compared to previous years, in the main just more generally bombing it as far as he could, gone was that daisy cutting bullet pass of earlier years.

He used to have that innate ability to hit the kick just right, especially the long ball.

These days he doesn’t have the same feel on his kick. Too many get cut off by the opposition.

There’s a few areas of his game that have sadly dropped off. At his best though? Gun. One of my favourites.

He’s had a couple of nice moments here and there where he’s looked like vintage smith, but for the most part he’s just been going imo. Some fumbles and errors he wouldn’t have made in his best years.

I’m sure motivation hasn’t been easy for him this summer as he doesn’t appear to be in the best 23. Im one of his biggest fans but time indeed comes for everyone.
Why don't we make Smith our sanfl captain?

Should really be a break glass option now.

Could end up playing SANFL somewhere if he goes undrafted
Would want to fall right away from what he's shown as an underager to go undrafted.

He's in the AFL's 2025 National Academy Squad 28 man squad which is fair indicator of how he's rated going into 2025

Cody Curtin (Claremont/Western Australia)
Key Defender | 197cm | 18/05/2007

Curtin had a breakout game in his final outing at this year’s National Championships, posting 17 disposals and four marks as a competitive key defender. Much like big brother Dan, who was drafted by Adelaide last year, Cody is comfortable with ball in hand but also capable of imposing himself aerially. Versatility is another trait the siblings share, as Curtin junior was also swung into attack late in Claremont’s Colts premiership tilt, booting two bags of six goals in his last three outings.

Would want to fall right away from what he's shown as an underager to go undrafted.

He's in the AFL's 2025 National Academy Squad 28 man squad which is fair indicator of how he's rated going into 2025

Cody Curtin (Claremont/Western Australia)
Key Defender | 197cm | 18/05/2007

Curtin had a breakout game in his final outing at this year’s National Championships, posting 17 disposals and four marks as a competitive key defender. Much like big brother Dan, who was drafted by Adelaide last year, Cody is comfortable with ball in hand but also capable of imposing himself aerially. Versatility is another trait the siblings share, as Curtin junior was also swung into attack late in Claremont’s Colts premiership tilt, booting two bags of six goals in his last three outings.
Agreed, I like him as a player.

Just not sure hes what we need.

Thanks as always but no need to apologise.

Smith over Hinge would break this board.

I just don’t get the lack of centre clearance work. Could it be this years coaching ****up?

The coach booting the ball around is not that much different to trying to read a ROB tap anyway.

I don't disagree, but I reckon if he completes the preseason and plays well in the practice matches, he'll be considered strongly.
Line ball decision which could go either way. Nank the most undeserving omission in years if that's the outcome.
I'll be happier if Milera is given a thorough test during the trial matches. 100% full match conditions. None of this ease him in stuff. That's what the SANFL is for.

It's his durability which I doubt, not his footy. (But Nank is a better defender though)

You don't reckon ?? Maybe I've got a lesser opinion of Laird than you might, but i struggle to believe that a coach who played a guy for all but 1 match of the season can have a long standing disdain for that same player.
So drop Laird for publicly bagging a young player and support the kid.

Nicks selection decisions speaks for itself.

It's what I would've done yeah. I've said on this board that I wasn't a huge fan of Josh getting in the face of the PAP fans. Just not what I would have done, but then I wasn't a good enough player to want to carry a target on my back.

I wouldn't have dropped him, maybe said "love the passion, but pick your battles" but left it there.

But again, the thought that there is/was any lingering tension between Nicks and Josh is jumping at shadows.

It's not like he made the decision on his own either.

Teacher wasn't going to drop his pet...

It's what I would've done yeah. I've said on this board that I wasn't a huge fan of Josh getting in the face of the PAP fans. Just not what I would have done, but then I wasn't a good enough player to want to carry a target on my back.

I wouldn't have dropped him, maybe said "love the passion, but pick your battles" but left it there.

But again, the thought that there is/was any lingering tension between Nicks and Josh is jumping at shadows.

It's not like he made the decision on his own either.
The coach sets the agenda and has the final say. If he said pull your head in senior players everyone would follow suit.

Instead he let them speak, then drops Rach bringing national attention to the kid. Then Rach who apparently hasn’t been following team rules finishes top 10 in our B&F.

You can’t make this shit up and it’s another example why Nicks is completely clueless.

The coach sets the agenda and has the final say. If he said pull your head in senior players everyone would follow suit.

Instead he let them speak, then drops Rach bringing national attention to the kid. Then Rach who apparently hasn’t been following team rules finishes top 10 in our B&F.

You can’t make this shit up and it’s another example why Nicks is completely clueless.
Going to the opposition fans and acting like a bit of a flog probably isn't one of the team rules.

Again, don't drop him but lay it down that you don't need to be doing that, particularly after Nicks did defend him when people smashed him for not putting his head over the pill.

I just didn't see the whole issue as being a big deal, and I don't think Josh did either.

Going to the opposition fans and acting like a bit of a flog probably isn't one of the team rules.

Again, don't drop him but lay it down that you don't need to be doing that, particularly after Nicks did defend him when people smashed him for not putting his head over the pill.

I just didn't see the whole issue as being a big deal, and I don't think Josh did either.
Cmon mate, it was a big deal the whole football world was aware of.

I am sure Josh was thrilled to be publicly scolded by his teammates, then dropped by his coach on the national stage for the last game of the year. Would you have been happy?

The coach booting the ball around is not that much different to trying to read a ROB tap anyway.
Reilly's hit outs to advantage and Advantage % don't come close to that assertion, he's certainly not the best but a long long way from the worst.

Capture.PNG

I am sure Josh was thrilled to be publicly scolded by his teammates, then dropped by his coach on the national stage for the last game of the year. Would you have been happy?
If I knew why I was being dropped then sure I'd be disappointed but you move on.

I wouldn't have been all that pleased with my teammates, I'd rather that be kept in house.

It was a big deal here, but footy clubs move on faster than we and the media do

Made our club look unprofessional.

... which is a reflection on our football manager that it even got to this point.

I don't think it was a huge deal outside of Adelaide, certainly not for any great length of time.

Clearly the player and club didn't either. It's been done to death in here
It was a national football story right? Do I need to bring up the national stories?

Whether it went on for a a length of times is irrelevant, it received national exposure.

How can you say clearly the player didn’t? Have you spoken to Josh?

Just staggered you can think being publicly scolded by your senior players and dropped for the last game when you’ve made the top 10 of the B&F is no big deal to the player.

Bigman’s Training Reports