kira

given the emphasis placed on youth, i pose the question: which of our two steady youngsters is better?

*personally i'll stick with bird even though he hasn't got a rising star nod, as he appears to be more consistent and overall a better player (although i reckon veszpremi can overtake his standing with a few more games)

They are different players. Makes them hard to compare.

Bird is not quick, but his footy smarts make up for it. He has the ability to create space and put others in space. This will continue to improve.
Compare to? Kirk / Sam Mitchell.

Jack is a quick, outside midfielder. Uses his pace to run and break the lines.
Compare to? Maxfield

Will be sometime before we know which one is a 'better' footballer. But you cannot directly compare them.

Hmmm yes I agree with Mase. Both have heaps of room for improvement, both are totally different players. Bird has some real raw talent, very excited to see him play more in the future.

I can't really split the two.. Jack comes up as being more polished, but he's had more time to work on his game in the two's, but like HM said, Bird has raw talent and great awareness of the game. We've seen what they can do, and next year they should really show their improvement and the effect game time has on them from the get go.

Maturity & sustained game time would turn the inexperienced, rawly talented quad of Pat, Bird, Kizza & Jarred into the midfield of our future :)

Jack reminds me of a less advanced Joel Selwood with the ability to do run-with roles, he's already as efficent a tagger as Benny Mathews was in his whole career, he's taught the kid well.

Bird is a 21-year-old Sam Mitchell's exact double.

At this stage I'd say Jack's ahead, Birdy hasn't quite got me sold yet.

I see more potential in Jack than Bird.Bird is a far better player than he was this time last year whilst playing in the ressies.He really needs to get into the gym and build himself up.
Jack looks a natural midfielder.He is not afraid to get in and under and that knock he took from big Sandilands on Sat showed real guts.He is quick and will only get better with his disposals and decision making.
Both boys have great potential.I hope they have long distinguished careers in Sydney.

They are different players. Makes them hard to compare.

Bird is not quick, but his footy smarts make up for it. He has the ability to create space and put others in space. This will continue to improve.
Compare to? Kirk / Sam Mitchell.

Jack is a quick, outside midfielder. Uses his pace to run and break the lines.
Compare to? Maxfield

Will be sometime before we know which one is a 'better' footballer. But you cannot directly compare them.

Good assessment - different types of players, like comparing an apple with an orange

Everyone seems to agree that they are hard to compare. Personally I think it would make more sense to compare each of them with the players whos places they have taken or play a similar game style.

Say Bird V Ablett & Jack V Mathews

Jack has a good bloodline, his old man was a great league player. I reckon theres heaps of potential for him to improve in the future, same with bird.

Im just happy we have 2 great young midfielders on board really.